Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-01-2021, 12:06   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 26
Start OpenCPN not MAXIMIZED

Running OpenCPN 5.2.4 on RPi4, Openplotter. Every time I close OpenCPN, it restarts maximized.

~/.opencpn/opencpn.conf shows Fullscreen=0;

Openplotter > Settings > OpenCPN installer > autostart on, full screen off

What else can I do? I'm tired of resizing my OpenCPN window.
SaltyPaws1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2021, 02:29   #2
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 930
Images: 2
Re: Start OpenCPN not MAXIMIZED

Are you on a windows OS?
OpenCPN opens in the same size, position as when it is closed.

If you close it when it is maximized it will open maximized.
Tupaia is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2021, 05:22   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 26
Re: Start OpenCPN not MAXIMIZED

No, I'm using Raspberry Pi. And yes, the behavior of opening in the same state as closing is desired, but not what is happening for me.
SaltyPaws1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2021, 07:32   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kalamata, Greece
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 2,241
Re: Start OpenCPN not MAXIMIZED

I'm afraid that is not coded in the sources of OpenCPN.
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2021, 08:24   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Halmatic 30
Posts: 780
Re: Start OpenCPN not MAXIMIZED

Quote:
Originally Posted by SaltyPaws1 View Post
No, I'm using Raspberry Pi. And yes, the behavior of opening in the same state as closing is desired, but not what is happening for me.

It is a feature for the Raspberry Pi. If you are starting the system it comes up in a less detailed chart.

However you can fix the scale by clicking on the scale value (just right of the + and -)
indicate what value you prefer and then the system starts at that resolution.


Bram
verkerkbr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2021, 08:31   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 26
Re: Start OpenCPN not MAXIMIZED

Bram,
No not the chart scale issue, but the maximized window. I have to manually move the window borders to un-cover portions of the desktop (browser window.)
SaltyPaws1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2021, 08:41   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Halmatic 30
Posts: 780
Re: Start OpenCPN not MAXIMIZED

If you you use the OpenPlotter add-ons there is a setting maximise OpenPlotter Apps at starting.


Then the applications start with maximised window with OpenCPN.


Bram
verkerkbr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2021, 09:11   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 26
Re: Start OpenCPN not MAXIMIZED

Bram, that might be the ticket. Where is that "maximize openplotter apps" setting?
SaltyPaws1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2021, 09:22   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Halmatic 30
Posts: 780
Re: Start OpenCPN not MAXIMIZED

Quote:
Originally Posted by SaltyPaws1 View Post
Bram, that might be the ticket. Where is that "maximize openplotter apps" setting?
Go to OpenPlotter settings.

I have here the Dutch language. But it is the button right of OpenPlotter apps.

There you see: language > translate and > Maximise OpenPlotter Apps. That is all.

Regards,


Bram
verkerkbr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2021, 09:32   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 26
Re: Start OpenCPN not MAXIMIZED

Bram, thx. Didn't see that setting, but it was currently disabled. Good try. I find that even without rebooting, if I have the OpenCPN screen not maximized, then close OpenCPN, then re-open OpenCPN, it always starts maximized.
SaltyPaws1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2021, 09:25   #11
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 463
Re: Start OpenCPN not MAXIMIZED

On my linux system I see the same problem, but only if I have set a manual display width under "Options->Display->Advanced" . Having an automatic set here does open O at the size it was closed.
A double check using windows doesn't seem to have the same problem

Consider it a bug.
__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2021, 15:47   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 26
Re: Start OpenCPN not MAXIMIZED

Solved:
Thanks everyone for the input. I reverted to a backup SD card, problem solved. Now I'll never know why....
SaltyPaws1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, maxi, opencpn

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN will not start on MAC Jpernick OpenCPN 3 18-05-2013 03:51
OpenCPN will not start on MAC Jpernick OpenCPN 5 15-05-2013 14:40
OpenCPN will not start on MAC Jpernick OpenCPN 19 14-05-2013 14:05
OpenCPN does not start on WIN 2000 sp4 ste.conca OpenCPN 1 16-05-2012 14:52
Start Small or Start Big ? Zonker Multihull Sailboats 18 16-01-2012 12:13

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.