Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-06-2022, 11:40   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Norway
Boat: Saxe Ocean
Posts: 54
RMB - Switched location of origin/destination waypoint?

Had all sorts of weird issues when trying to autotrack a route after upgrade to 5.6 and 5.6.2. Autotracking worked fine in 5.2.4.
Raymarine "Route Completes" before advancing to next waypoint, except if activating >1 waypoint ahead etc.

Creating a Vdr-log and comparing on a shared setup.
This is a small route, manually activated next waypoint twice, then back to first waypoint.

First 5.2.4, then below 5.6.2

# Activate route
$ECRMB,A,0.000,R,,001,5906.557,N,00938.412,E,0.001,348.396,-0.015,A,A*61 (5.2.4)
$ECRMB,A,0.000,R,001,,5906.557,N,00938.412,E,0.000,132.417,-0.014,A,A*6 (5.6.2)

# Activate waypoint 002 in route
$ECRMB,A,0.000,R,001,002,5906.435,N,00938.006,E,0.242,239.801,-0.007,V,A*44 (5.2.4)
$ECRMB,A,0.000,L,002,001,5906.435,N,00938.006,E,0.242,239.615,-0.007,V,A*51 (5.6.2)


# Activate waypoint 003 in route
$ECRMB,A,0.038,L,002,003,5906.364,N,00937.652,E,0.435,243.750,0.007,V,A*75 (5.2.4)
$ECRMB,A,0.038,,L003,002,5906.364,N,00937.652,E,0.435,243.673,-0.005,V,A*5A (5.6.2)

# Activate waypoint 002 in route
$ECRMB,A,0.001,R,001,002,5906.435,N,00938.006,E,0.241,239.832,0.009,V,A*65 (5.2.4)
$ECRMB,A,0.000,L,002,001,5906.435,N,00938.006,E,0.242,239.627,-0.008,V,A*5F (5.6.2)
SamH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2022, 22:10   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Norway
Boat: Saxe Ocean
Posts: 54
Re: RMB - Switched location of origin/destination waypoint?

A temp fix is to swap the two fields with the NmeaConverter-plugin, and block ECRMB from output.

Conversion:
$IIRMB,$ECRMB1,$ECRMB2,$ECRMB3,$ECRMB5,$ECRMB4,$EC RMB6,$ECRMB7,$ECRMB8,$ECRMB9,$ECRM?10,$ECRM?11,$EC RM?12,$ECRM?13,$ECRM?14
SamH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2022, 08:54   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 3,556
Re: RMB - Switched location of origin/destination waypoint?

SamH..
You're correct and it will be fixed in next O release.
Glad you meanwhile can survive with the temp fix.
Thanks for the report.
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2022, 00:28   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Norway
Boat: Saxe Ocean
Posts: 54
Re: RMB - Switched location of origin/destination waypoint?

Thanks!
SamH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2022, 07:20   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 33
Re: RMB - Switched location of origin/destination waypoint?

I can confirm that the workaround works. Also can confirm that this bug causes OpenCPN not to be able to control a Raymarine autopilot without the NMEAConverter workaround. With this bug, attempting to Activate a route and enable Track mode on a Raymarine Autopilot results in "No Navigation data" on the pilot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2022-06-19 101910.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	228.2 KB
ID:	259680  
pa391as is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2022, 05:13   #6
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 16,496
Images: 2
Re: RMB - Switched location of origin/destination waypoint?

@SamH

You wrote:
A temp fix is to swap the two fields with the NmeaConverter-plugin, and block ECRMB from output.

Conversion:

$IIRMB,$ECRMB1,$ECRMB2,$ECRMB3,$ECRMB5,$ECRMB4,$EC RMB6,$ECRMB7,$ECRMB8,$ECRMB9,$ECRM?10,$ECRM?11,$EC RM?12,$ECRM?13,$ECRM?14

Is this the exact conversion to use in nmea converter? I would like to add it to the manual as an example.

Can you attach some meaningful screenshots to be included?

Thanks.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2022, 06:17   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Norway
Boat: Saxe Ocean
Posts: 54
Re: RMB - Switched location of origin/destination waypoint?

OpenCPN 5.6.2 generates a buggy RMB, sent out as ECRMB, this workaround creates a new RMB, sent out as IIRMB and drops the buggy ECRMB.

Open nmeaConverter_pi->Preferences via the pluginmanager(Install if you dont have it), and Click button "New"




Copy, or retype exactly, the following conversion and paste it in the dialogwindow.

$IIRMB,$ECRMB1,$ECRMB2,$ECRMB3,$ECRMB5,$ECRMB4,$EC RMB6,$ECRMB7,$ECRMB8,$ECRMB9,$ECRM?10,$ECRM?11,$EC RM?12,$ECRM?13,$ECRM?14

Make sure the option "Send after update all variables" is checked.


This will create an new RMB-sentence with the origin/destination waypoints in the correct sequence.
OpenCPN uses EC as its default talkerID, if you for some reason have changed this talkerID update the conversion accordingly. The new sentence has talkerID II.

Now, if you dont drop the buggy RMB from output, openCPN will send them both and your autopilot will get really confused with origin/dest waypoints jumping all over the place.
To drop it, open the connection that sends info to your autopilot, and from the Output filtering section, Select "Drop sentences", click the ... button and select ECRMB from the list.




Now, OK and close the options window. Activate a route, or rightclick and "Navigate to here", while the route is still active you can find the IIRMB in the NMEA debugwindow, make absolutely sure there is no ECRMB beeing sent.

This is only a functional workaround as long as the bug exists in OpenCPN, v5.6.2 as we speak. When a new release with a fix is out, the conversion and filtering must be reversed, or this fix will cause the same issues as the bug does now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	open_nmeaConverter.png
Views:	90
Size:	49.1 KB
ID:	260365   Click image for larger version

Name:	connection_drop_sentence.png
Views:	82
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	260366  

Click image for larger version

Name:	paste_convert.png
Views:	84
Size:	47.9 KB
ID:	260367  
SamH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2022, 06:33   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 267
Re: RMB - Switched location of origin/destination waypoint?

I haven’t yet needed it because I don’t generally use RMB, bit I wanted to thank SamH for the clear, concise, well documented directions (complete with pictures ) for the workaround. Kudos. The
HeywoodJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
destination

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adjust frequency of RMB string broadcast Kukel OpenCPN 0 19-05-2022 05:01
Location of log, waypoint, route, track files Dockhead OpenCPN 2 18-05-2022 09:23
RMB Selection for Tides Team Terminal OpenCPN 0 14-07-2012 18:24
rmb, rmc with Geonav 4c and Furuno George64 Navigation 0 15-05-2011 23:14

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.