Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-09-2019, 01:19   #226
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,369
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

tyguvbye...
The attached file is something more than just a renamed log file. It looks like some binary file I can't read.

I'm sorry to be of less help with the Garmin specifics. Let's hope for someone having used it to show up. hasse_A has worked with first the xHD plugin and also to add in the radar_pi. The very first is of course the PC has a proper IP connection to the radar. For Windows a Navico use to show up as "Unknown network" "No Internet"

If the xHD use the same hardware connection method as the HD I don't know but have you read this: https://opencpn.org/OpenCPN/doc/GRadarDoc.pdf
Håkan
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2019, 02:44   #227
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hannover - Germany
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 2,547
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakan View Post
tyguvbye...
The attached file is something more than just a renamed log file. It looks like some binary file I can't read.
This file is formated text and saved with Word or something like that with the extension *.docx. Because Microsoft does not tell their users what is the difference between Word and Notepad the poor Windows users are often blocked.
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2019, 02:58   #228
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,369
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

CarCode..
Yes, clever. Word Pad was able to read it.
tyguvbye...
Next time you upload a text file like xxx.log, just use a file explorer or similar to rename the file by adding the extension .pdf. Please do not open it in another program and "save as..."

Håkan
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2019, 03:18   #229
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Norway
Boat: Saxe Ocean
Posts: 62
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

tyguvbye
Looks like your network-address is wrong.

2:11:11 PM: radar_pi: multicast reception for 239.254.2.0 port 50100 on interface 10.0.1.12

You'll have to use the 172.16/12 net with the xHD/HD radars.
(172.16.0.0 with netmask 255.240.0.0)
SamH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2019, 03:41   #230
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,369
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

tyguvbye...
I'm sorry but I think I was wrong about code changes for Garmin code before. Reading more carefully you should actually use the latest version 5.0.4 betax: For Windows you'll find it here: https://github.com/opencpn-radar-pi/...g/v5.0.4-beta2
So if possible stay on Windows until you've succeed.
When a proper IP address is found, see advices posted here, remember to:
In radar_pi properties; "Select radar type" and check only "Garmin xHD" no more.
When OCPN is running right click the chart area and select "Show radar" in the menu if radar info window is not shown.
If the radar info Window shows a connection right click and "Control Garmin xHD" if radar control is not shown.
Håkan
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2019, 05:23   #231
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,369
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

tyguvbye..
So, I've tried to check the code for the xHD. From that SamH's post is correct.

Code:
bool GarminxHDReceive::IsValidGarminAddress(struct ifaddrs * nif) {
  f (VALID_IPV4_ADDRESS(nif)) {

in_addr_t addr = ntohl(((struct sockaddr_in *) nif->ifa_addr)->sin_addr.s_addr);
  in_addr_t mask = ntohl(((struct sockaddr_in *) nif->ifa_netmask)->sin_addr.s_addr);
  static in_addr_t radar = IPV4_ADDR(172, 16, 2, 0);
 static in_addr_t radarmask = IPV4_ADDR(172, 16, 0, 0);
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2019, 17:26   #232
Registered User
 
wefleenor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pittsburg, CA
Boat: 49ft custom power catamaran
Posts: 126
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

Perhaps someone with great patience can help me. I originally read that Gradar would work with any Garmin that had a IP connection. Using version 4.8.4 I ran head long into setting up my system and thought I had it accomplished except the radar turns for no more than a minute and get no display. I also tried using version 5.0 with similar results. See screen pictures. I'm guessing my radar is a Garmin 18 but not 18 HD. Am I correct in that this will not work? Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190914_140948.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	355.7 KB
ID:	199851   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190914_144316.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	411.6 KB
ID:	199852  

wefleenor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2019, 01:32   #233
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,369
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

wefleenor..
  • Garmin "18" seems to refer to the housing diameter only. Not what's inside. If you have a HD or xHD radar_pi will work, probably not for the rest like Fantom or HD+. If you for any reason can't figure what radar type it is inside try both HD and xHD radar types, one at a time, in radar_pi.
  • Read this thread back for how to connect your radar scanner to the PC. The IP address in your screen shot is not correct for a Garmin radar scanner.
  • Also in this thread some posts back is a link to resent radar_pi update. Please try.
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2019, 15:26   #234
Registered User
 
tyguybye's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 35
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakan View Post
tyguvbye..
So, I've tried to check the code for the xHD. From that SamH's post is correct.

Code:
bool GarminxHDReceive::IsValidGarminAddress(struct ifaddrs * nif) {
  f (VALID_IPV4_ADDRESS(nif)) {

in_addr_t addr = ntohl(((struct sockaddr_in *) nif->ifa_addr)->sin_addr.s_addr);
  in_addr_t mask = ntohl(((struct sockaddr_in *) nif->ifa_netmask)->sin_addr.s_addr);
  static in_addr_t radar = IPV4_ADDR(172, 16, 2, 0);
 static in_addr_t radarmask = IPV4_ADDR(172, 16, 0, 0);
Sorry for the bad upload of the previous log and hopefully this new one is done correctly, I have also attached a number of screenshots and an image of the radome scanner itself showing a "status light".

I am sticking to Windows as you suggested to make progress before moving back to the RPI, I have altered ever address combination I can come up with and have read through the Gradar PDF and any other helpful forum ideas but with no luck. Currently I set my Win IP to static 172.16.0/1/2 or some variation but this makes no effect on my LAN connection showing nothing. Since I upgraded to the Radar 5.0.4 I now have a different screen in O5 that shows the Radar scanner not being found on "172.16/12".

I have also tried plugin in through a router which does let me set a static IP, the problem to me still looks like the Radar has no power and that is why the LAN does not see the connection? You can see what looks like a "status" light on the side of the Garmin xHD and this has never lit up, I have talked with Garmin and they said this is normal and unless it detects a "Garmin" plotter it will not, obviously the Radar plugin would do the same in my mind. Any thoughts On what I might be doing wrong here?

Cheers,
Ty
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190915_135612989.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	399.9 KB
ID:	199896   Click image for larger version

Name:	TCPchange.PNG
Views:	86
Size:	8.2 KB
ID:	199897  

Attached Images
  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf opencpn.log.pdf (272.3 KB, 39 views)
tyguybye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2019, 07:41   #235
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,369
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

tyguvbye..
Now the log file upload is fine, thanks.

Let's first be sure your network card is set up correct.
Either, and preferably, exactly as SamH's post 172.16.0.0 with netmask 255.240.0.0, covering a wide range of segments.
(Another way to express that is as the radar_pi info 172.16/12 >> The range from 172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255 if the mask is 255.240.0.0)

Or if you want to be specific 172.16.2.10 (10 as a example. But not 172.16.2.0 that would be the radar) subnet mask 255.255.255.0
The latter case if you know the radar has IP 172.16.2.0
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2019, 07:42   #236
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Norway
Boat: Saxe Ocean
Posts: 62
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

I think Ive found a fix for the garminHD change range problem reported earlier. Noticing that the rangevalues in the RadarControl box was not consistent with (1852/x) and that the old plugin (gradar_pi.cpp line 2115 ) subtracts 1 from the selected range. Testing the same in the new plugin caused that I could reduce the range, but not increase it. From that I figured that changing the rangevalues could be a fix.

Changing the RANGE_MIXED_RT_GARMIN_HD/RANGE_NAUTIC_RT_GARMIN_HD in garminhdtype.h to
Code:
{                                                                                                                       
    (232)-1, (1852 / 4)-1, (1852 / 2)-1, (1852 * 3 / 4)-1, (1852 * 1)-1, (1852 * 3 / 2)-1, (1852 * 2)-1, (1852 * 3)-1, (1852 * 4)-1, (1852 * 6)-1, (1852 * 8)-1, (1852 * 12)-1, (1852 * 16)-1, (1852 * 24)-1, (1852 * 36)-1, (1852 * 48)-1                                                         
}
fixed the problem and building with that allows changing range up and down. The 1/8 setting caused some problems, probably double/int related? Anyways, just hardcoding it as 232 solved it. Probably not the most educated way of fixing stuff, but Im a mere sysadmin, not a developer..

Still the garminHD does not respect the nautical setting, ranges are displayed as meters, except for the hardcoded 232m value, which shows as 1/8nm.
SamH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2019, 07:55   #237
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,369
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

SamH..
Range:
I can't add anything here. Let's see if bdbcat or merrimac shows up.


I suppose you've a Garmin. Please check my answer to tyguvbye in the post before yours.
Thanks

Håkan
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2019, 08:02   #238
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Norway
Boat: Saxe Ocean
Posts: 62
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

You are right about the garmin radar IP, it is 172.16.2.0, his netmask is also wrong, it should be 255.240.0.0 not 255.255.240.0.
Also note that Garmin plotters have an IPaddress, my 3010 for instance has 172.16.6.0
172.16.2.10 and 255.240.0.0 should work.
Bear in mind that the /12 mask potentially spans over a million hosts, and not all network switches are happy broadcasting to networks that big. YMMV
SamH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2019, 23:15   #239
Registered User
 
wefleenor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pittsburg, CA
Boat: 49ft custom power catamaran
Posts: 126
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

So, I have determined that, although my Garmin does have an internet connector, it is not an HD version and therefore not supported by OpenCPN. I am convinced I am going to purchase something that will work. Is it worth the money to buy a Garmin Fantom, or will I not see the features that this model offers? Are there other better supported brands? Thanks.
wefleenor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2019, 23:32   #240
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,369
Re: Radar plugin v5.0.0 released

Quote:
Originally Posted by wefleenor View Post
So, I have determined that, although my Garmin does have an internet connector, it is not an HD version and therefore not supported by OpenCPN. I am convinced I am going to purchase something that will work. Is it worth the money to buy a Garmin Fantom, or will I not see the features that this model offers? Are there other better supported brands? Thanks.
These, as of the shot, are the supported radar scanner types. Nothing else are what we know tested positive. For those having a "A"/"B" selection two different range selections are possible simultaneously from the same scanner. The Navico's are also sold/labeled as B&G, Simrad and Lowrance.
(The Emulator is for simulation and test of the plugin functionality.)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	radar_types.png
Views:	82
Size:	6.1 KB
ID:	200116  
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lease, plug, radar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Navico radar plugin v3.0 beta3 (v3.907) released merrimac OpenCPN 16 26-09-2017 11:13
Navico Radar plugin beta 3.816 released merrimac OpenCPN 21 09-09-2017 04:26
Navico radar plugin v2.0 released merrimac OpenCPN 168 04-08-2017 05:03
BR24 radar plugin Beta 2.515 released merrimac OpenCPN 14 08-08-2016 16:43
Garmin Radar PlugIn Version 1.4 Released bdbcat OpenCPN 8 20-06-2014 18:03

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:40.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.