Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-06-2022, 11:05   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 21
Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

I have successfully run OpenCPN in different versions for several years to send the active route to my Raymarine ST6001 autopilot to run it in track mode. When I some time ago upgraded OpenCPN to version 5.6.2, the autopilot started to ask for confirmation for a new route leg very often (like every 2-5th second) even when sailing on a straight leg.
I have installed 5.6.2 as an upgrade to the previous version (5.2) so the settings shall be the same as when it worked. The behaviour is the same for both old and new routes.
The following NMEA sentences is defined as transmit sentences in options for the connections: RMB,RMC,WPL,RTE,GLL,VTG,GSV,GGA,GPwpl,APB,XTE,ECRM B,ECRMC,ECAPB

Is there anyone that have an idea of whats wrong?
Attached Files
File Type: pdf NMEA log.pdf (55.8 KB, 9 views)
keoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2022, 14:46   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: QC, Canada
Boat: Kelt 8.50
Posts: 148
Re: Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by keoe View Post
I have successfully run OpenCPN in different versions for several years to send the active route to my Raymarine ST6001 autopilot to run it in track mode. When I some time ago upgraded OpenCPN to version 5.6.2, the autopilot started to ask for confirmation for a new route leg very often (like every 2-5th second) even when sailing on a straight leg.
I have installed 5.6.2 as an upgrade to the previous version (5.2) so the settings shall be the same as when it worked. The behaviour is the same for both old and new routes.
The following NMEA sentences is defined as transmit sentences in options for the connections: RMB,RMC,WPL,RTE,GLL,VTG,GSV,GGA,GPwpl,APB,XTE,ECRM B,ECRMC,ECAPB

Is there anyone that have an idea of whats wrong?
I had the same problem with a Raymarine ST2000.

I worked around the problem by sending only RMB and RMC.
I think it has something with FS#2881


JM
houlejm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2022, 18:20   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 34
Re: Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

there is a bug in 5.6.2 which transposes WPTs
there is a word around in another thread
pa391as is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2022, 18:46   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 34
Re: Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

you don’t send APB?
pa391as is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2022, 19:00   #5
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 16,496
Images: 2
Re: Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

What is the version of the autopilot_pi and the name of the plugin?
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2022, 20:36   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: QC, Canada
Boat: Kelt 8.50
Posts: 148
Re: Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by pa391as View Post
you donít send APB?
For my Pilot at least, All the required information is available in RMB.
The system started to work well when I removed APB. I think that because of the bug in RMB, APB and RMC send conflicting information to the AutoPilot which interprets this as a change of destination waypoint.

JM
houlejm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2022, 20:37   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: QC, Canada
Boat: Kelt 8.50
Posts: 148
Re: Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
What is the version of the autopilot_pi and the name of the plugin?
No plugin used for that.

JM
houlejm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2022, 23:10   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Norway
Boat: Saxe Ocean
Posts: 54
Re: Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

Bug description and workaround here:
https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...nt-265606.html
SamH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2022, 01:33   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 21
Re: Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

Thank you all for your replies!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamH View Post
Bug description and workaround here:
https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...nt-265606.html
I'm not familiar with the NMEAConverter plugin so maybe someone can assist me. I have add a new conversion with this string "$IIRMB,$ECRMB1,$ECRMB2,$ECRMB3,$ECRMB5,$ECRMB4,$E C RMB6,$ECRMB7,$ECRMB8,$ECRMB9,$ECRM?10,$ECRM?11,$EC RM?12,$ECRM?13,$ECRM?14" (see attachment), as I understood the description in the other thread. This causes my autopilot to steer really wiered in zig-zag pattern in a totally different direction compared to my route. What did I do wrong? I have also tried to only transmit the RMB and RMC messages in addition to this NMEA conversion but this doesn't work either.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
What is the version of the autopilot_pi and the name of the plugin?
I not use the autopilot_pi for the moment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NMEAConverter.PNG
Views:	8
Size:	12.1 KB
ID:	260300  
keoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2022, 01:44   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Norway
Boat: Saxe Ocean
Posts: 54
Re: Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by keoe View Post
I'm not familiar with the NMEAConverter plugin so maybe someone can assist me. I have add a new conversion with this string "$IIRMB,$ECRMB1,$ECRMB2,$ECRMB3,$ECRMB5,$ECRMB4,$E C RMB6,$ECRMB7,$ECRMB8,$ECRMB9,$ECRM?10,$ECRM?11,$EC RM?12,$ECRM?13,$ECRM?14" (see attachment), as I understood the description in the other thread. This causes my autopilot to steer really wiered in zig-zag pattern in a totally different direction compared to my route. What did I do wrong? I have also tried to only transmit the RMB and RMC messages in addition to this NMEA conversion but this doesn't work either.
Did you exclude EERMB from output?
The conversion is creating a new sentence (IIRMB) from the buggy one(EERMB), and if you dont block the original EERMB from output your AP will probably behave like you describe, as it receives both simultaneously.

Post a VDRlog if this is not the case.
SamH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2022, 01:19   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 21
Re: Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamH View Post
Did you exclude EERMB from output?
The conversion is creating a new sentence (IIRMB) from the buggy one(EERMB), and if you dont block the original EERMB from output your AP will probably behave like you describe, as it receives both simultaneously.

Post a VDRlog if this is not the case.
Thank you Sam! I had missed to add IIRMB to the transmitted sentences.
keoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2022, 16:59   #12
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 16,496
Images: 2
Re: Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

SamH excellent! Thank you. I will add this example to the manual.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2022, 21:17   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 653
Re: Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

Hi all, I upgraded to 5.6.2 and can confirm that I had exactly the same problem with my own Raymarine ST4000 autopilot's track mode. (I wish I had looked here first.) I'll try the workarounds as a temporary fix, though it will be a week before I get back to my boat.

Has anyone tested version 5.6.2's MOB functionality with this? Does this bug prevent successful autopilot navigation back toward an emergency MOB waypoint?
__________________
Please support OpenCPN by donating through Paypal!
RhythmDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2022, 00:33   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Norway
Boat: Saxe Ocean
Posts: 54
Re: Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by RhythmDoctor View Post
Has anyone tested version 5.6.2's MOB functionality with this? Does this bug prevent successful autopilot navigation back toward an emergency MOB waypoint?
Yes, v5.6.2 will swap the orig/dest waypointIDs when setting a MOB-Wp. The workaround will also work in that setting.

Code:
$ECRMB,A,35.281,L,MAN OV,1.0 NM,5237.156,N,00307.879,E,37.755,80.000,-6.000,V,A*1
$IIRMB,A,35.281,L,1.0 NM,MAN OV,5237.156,N,00307.879,E,37.755,80.000,-6.000,V,A*15
SamH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2022, 20:24   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 653
Re: Problem with Raymarine autopilot since upgrading to 5.6.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamH View Post
Yes, v5.6.2 will swap the orig/dest waypointIDs when setting a MOB-Wp. The workaround will also work in that setting.

Code:
$ECRMB,A,35.281,L,MAN OV,1.0 NM,5237.156,N,00307.879,E,37.755,80.000,-6.000,V,A*1
$IIRMB,A,35.281,L,1.0 NM,MAN OV,5237.156,N,00307.879,E,37.755,80.000,-6.000,V,A*15
I hope that team realizes that the failure of MOB autopilot navigation is a serious bug that warrants a high priority for pushing out a bug fix.

I started to make the needed changes for this workaround, but I remembered that NmeaConverter_pi has, in my past experience, been glitchy with occasionally unpredictable results, and also that my NMEA sentence filters and TalkerID codes have been tweaked over many years to get them just right. I'm concerned that making changes to all these things will lead to many hours of tweaking to get it to work, instead of sailing. That's a Pandora's box that I don't want to open.

I hope a permanent fix to this issue is available soon.
__________________
Please support OpenCPN by donating through Paypal!
RhythmDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Raymarine autopilot Tillsbury Marine Electronics 5 30-09-2020 14:03
Been since 2014 since last login.......Morgan 45-4 advise tacm Monohull Sailboats 2 12-02-2019 05:01
Upgrading a Wagner Autopilot Aussie_Sequoia Construction, Maintenance & Refit 2 20-09-2011 20:54
Problem Since 2.2.918 - Garmin Won't Work MarkJ OpenCPN 28 29-06-2011 17:40
upgrading autopilot, mix & match? Grazie Dio Marine Electronics 1 18-06-2006 21:23

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:13.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.