Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-03-2017, 01:17   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Plugin Developpement : Display depth next to Boat

Hello, I'm a French student, I'm working on a project for my school.
My goal is to develop a plugin for opencpn.
This plugin must display the depth with a NMEA sensor.
I already know how to get the sensor value (with method "SetNMEASentence") and i'm also know how to display in a little window but I have trouble displaying the said value next the floating boat on the map.
I'm alo able to get the gps sensor value.

Could you help me figure out how to interact with the map ?

Thanks, and sorry for bad English
Adwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2017, 02:24   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 372
Re: Plugin Developpement : Display depth next to Boat

Hi,

Read Sean's watchdog plugin

https://github.com/seandepagnier/watchdog_pi
did-g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 00:14   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Re: Plugin Developpement : Display depth next to Boat

Hi, thanks for your help ! I'm working yet on the plugin, but seriously, why developper doesn't comment code ? It's very long/difficult to understand this plugin...
Adwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 00:48   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Re: Plugin Developpement : Display depth next to Boat

Hello, I have finally success ! For other people who want to know how I do this, You must override methods : Setpositionfixex (for pointer of boat position) and add event "WANTNMEA event. Also, you need to catch a pointer of graphic context of openCPN and also viewport pointer with the method renderoverlay. Finally, I have a strange problem, when my plugin is launch, there is my text next to the bot and is Ok, but when i go on Option of opencpn in "plugin", i don't see my plugin, and when i click on "Apply" my text disapear so it's bug... Did I forget something ? In DeInit method maybe ? Have a nice day !
Adwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 09:50   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 863
Re: Plugin Developpement : Display depth next to Boat

Adwa,

Have you considered publishing the code? Easier to offer advice on solutions to problems.

It also allows review and comment and suggestions for further development. At some point you may like to submit the plugin as a Beta version for publication at opencpn.org.

Mike
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boat, depth, men, plug

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GE plugin display problems CareKnot OpenCPN 3 02-10-2016 15:13
AIS RADAR and findit plugin icon can not display in OpenCPN Version 3.1.814 xiurong OpenCPN 1 16-08-2012 11:05
True Depth or Depth Under the Hull ? LifeJacket General Sailing Forum 48 10-05-2011 13:10
ST60 Depth vs. ST60+ Depth Ex-Calif Marine Electronics 13 28-11-2009 23:26

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:41.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.