Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > OpenCPN
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-01-2019, 21:27   #1

Boat: Westsail 43 - Cavalo
Please help recover routes and waypoints

I have been using OpenCPN for the last 5 years and 30,000 miles of cruising and have somehow made a booboo. I am using MacOS high sierra and OpenCPN version 4.6.1. When I open the program now I can see the outlines of previously loaded KAP files and the boat on a blank blue screen with ??? icons along the lat. lines. The tool bar is still there but all icons are black squares. I can enter the sub menus by clicking on the black boxes but all widgets, route/waypoint/track info are gone. The charts folders are still there though none of them appear on the main screen. I am wondering if i have fudged up good or can I possibly recover all route and waypoint info before uninstalling and rebooting? Please Help.
Cavalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 21:59   #2

Boat: Phantom 19
Re: Please help recover routes and waypoints

OpenCPN keeps backup of the 5 latest versions of your routes, tracks and waypoints. The files holding them are named ~/Library/Preferences/opencpn/navobj.xml.X, where X is 1-5 and the file called navobj.xml is the current version.
You should be able to see and copy them away in Finder by navigating to "Macintosh HD" - Users - <your username> - Library - Preferences - opencpn.
After that I would probably rename ~/Library/Preferences/opencpn to ~/Library/Preferences/opencpn.bak, upgaded to OpenCPN 4.8.8, did my configuration and imported back the backup of the navobj.xml file with the most information (likely = lowest number, biggest size)