Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-05-2024, 07:23   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 3
OpenCPN shows garbage on starting

Hi all,
I have tested OpenCPN a few years ago, but have not used it since. Now, I want to use it actually, and I installed version 5.8.4 on a ACER N20C2 (Nitro5) on Windows 11.
Since I want to use it only for inland waterways, I have downloaded the map files from the French and Belgian administrations. At install time, I selected the directory where these maps reside.
On starting the application, I only see garbage with a hit at the actual waterways, as you can see in the attachment below. Did I do something wrong?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OpenCPNstart.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	228.2 KB
ID:	290452  
Phono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2024, 07:48   #2
Registered User
 
Kettlewell's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Boat: Finnsailer 38
Posts: 5,702
Re: OpenCPN shows garbage on starting

Have you tried updating the chart database?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot from 2024-05-30 10-47-04.png
Views:	13
Size:	9.2 KB
ID:	290453  
__________________
JJKettlewell
"Go small, Go simple, Go now"
Kettlewell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2024, 08:00   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 3
Re: OpenCPN shows garbage on starting

Yes, the display remains as shown.
Phono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2024, 08:40   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2024
Posts: 3
Re: OpenCPN shows garbage on starting

I got the stripes out by selecting Open GL : off. But I still get the frames of the places, not the details: see attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OpenCPN2.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	51.8 KB
ID:	290454  
Phono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2024, 10:22   #5
Registered User
 
Franziska's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panschwitz, Germany
Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Posts: 4,345
Re: OpenCPN shows garbage on starting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phono View Post
I got the stripes out by selecting Open GL : off. But I still get the frames of the places, not the details: see attachment.
Try zooming deeply in on one of the green areas...
__________________
www.ladyrover.com
Franziska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2024, 11:37   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: San Francisco
Boat: Morgan 382
Posts: 3,126
Re: OpenCPN shows garbage on starting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phono View Post
I got the stripes out by selecting Open GL : off. But I still get the frames of the places, not the details: see attachment.
Try updating your OpenGL and Graphics drivers on your PC. These would come from Acer.
__________________
-Warren
wholybee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Urgent Help needed: upddated opencpn shows no charts Stria OpenCPN 2 08-07-2022 03:06
Site shows login butsite shows login button gene when you’re logged in sea2ocean Forum Tech Support & Site Help 2 08-03-2021 22:39
OpenCPN on Android - Latitude shows "0" StuM OpenCPN 5 11-12-2017 01:31
OpenCPN 3.0 on Mac shows OverZoom Er1cCS OpenCPN 5 15-07-2012 03:11

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.