Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-12-2010, 21:09   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
OpenCPN on the Beagleboard

I am currently building an onboard computer based around the Beagleboard.
I've had a go at making OpenCPN work on it. So far pretty good, here's a bit of feedback:
  • The system: Beagleboard xM rev A + Ubuntu 10.10 omap
    Getting the source: as easy as typing 'git clone'. (with a properly setup network)
  • Compiling: I got hit by the 'missing gdk-pixbuf' bug (FS#161 : gdk-pixbuf/gdk-pixbuf.h: No such file or directory), but other than this it went fine. I just added the proper path in the CMakeCache.txt as advised.
  • GPS: I am using a standard USB gps receiver. I used the gpslib method as suggested in the help. I worked fine despite a 'different gps lib version' warning. Not sure where it came from, perhaps I upgraded gpsd after compiling? Also, seeing that gpsd itself takes 1-2% of the CPU, I am wondering whether or not to run directly into NMEA mode to save some cylces.
  • Charts: Got Marco's v30 of the NZ charts, perfect!
  • Running: getting OpenCPN started was just fine. The whole browsing and zooming around works pretty well, although it feels overall kind of sluggish and non-intuitive at times. I get the same behaviour on my 'high-end' laptop, though, so it feels more like the software is not making much use of graphics acceleration rather than a limitation of the computer. The Beagleboard has an SGX graphics accelerator with OpenGL ES 2 support, so I may have a look at how to take advantage of that (or is there already something for that in the code?).
  • Another issue that is slightly more problematic is memory usage. The BeagleBoard has 512MB of RAM, which is way enough to get the GDM and OpenCPN running correctly. However, every time OpenCPN loads a new chart for display, it takes a little chunk of memory which it never frees. After a while, the RAM gets completely full and the system just freezes. I am not quite sure how the system handles full-memory problems (there is no swap partition and I don't know about virtual memory). It might be handy to have an option to limit the chart cache size or the number of charts kept in memory.

That's it for now. I actually haven't taken it out for a ride yet as I still have to finish setting up the computer (and other pressing matters), but it definitely feels promising.
antoche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2010, 09:26   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Helsingborg
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,891
The memory behavior is typical for Linux, but for sure, OpenCPN uses memory quite aggressively to gain speed.
Why not experiment with a swapfile? Maybe even a swapfile on an usb stick?
Check this ubuntu.com/community/SwapFaq

Thomas
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN - How to Translate? Algarve OpenCPN 4 09-03-2010 07:20
PDA with OpenCPN bg9208 OpenCPN 0 02-03-2010 14:46
OpenCPN Newbie mistral III OpenCPN 5 26-02-2010 23:42
OpenCPN bdbcat OpenCPN 1343 19-09-2009 15:59

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:33.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.