Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-06-2019, 07:02   #1156
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,710
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN General

I asked, why can't you connect your Opencpn to the Vesper? Nothing more, nothing less. don't infer beyond that please.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2019, 11:05   #1157
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Homosassa, FL (boat is for sale in NJ)
Boat: 1998 Bayliner Avanti 3685 - 38' long
Posts: 72
Re: OpenCPN General

Ok, sorry if I inferred something else. How can I connect my Vesper WatchMate XB-8000 to my computer (MS Surface) so that OpenCPN can pick up the GPS data?
Dadrock33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2019, 11:47   #1158
Registered User
 
Dsanduril's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Petersburg, AK
Boat: Outremer 50S
Posts: 4,229
Re: OpenCPN General

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadrock33 View Post
Ok, sorry if I inferred something else. How can I connect my Vesper WatchMate XB-8000 to my computer (MS Surface) so that OpenCPN can pick up the GPS data?
The XB-8000 has WiFi. It can handle up to 5 direct connections (for more you connect a WiFi router and then connect the devices to that). The WiFi connection includes AIS and GPS data.

Connect the Surface to the "vesperXB" WiFi network (password as set on setup or in the manual).

In OpenCPN go to the "Connections" setup and configure a network connection to the Vesper (I think the default IP is 192.168.15.1 but check your network configuration on the Surface). The default port is 39150, but that is also a configuration option on the Vesper.

That's the basics, you may want to fine tune a few things related to the connection depending on your use.
Dsanduril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2019, 19:31   #1159
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,710
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN General

Btw on Vesper website, search for opencpn. They have an entire page of instruction.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2019, 09:35   #1160
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Full time cruisers
Boat: Krogen 42
Posts: 403
Re: OpenCPN General

Iíve been using opencpn for five years on the coast. Iím planning on going up the tenn-Tom but none of the River charts display. Iíve reloaded all the charts from scratch.
__________________
----------------------------------
Terry
meridian28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2019, 10:33   #1161
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,008
OpenCPN General

Quote:
Originally Posted by meridian28 View Post
Iíve been using opencpn for five years on the coast. Iím planning on going up the tenn-Tom but none of the River charts display. Iíve reloaded all the charts from scratch.
Be sure chart outlines are turned on. Due to the scales of the ACE charts you have to zoom in pretty close to see the chart graphics. Play with chart zoom level setting too.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2019, 11:40   #1162
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Full time cruisers
Boat: Krogen 42
Posts: 403
Re: OpenCPN General

That looks like it. Not close enough. Thanks
__________________
----------------------------------
Terry
meridian28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2019, 12:06   #1163
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Germany, Bavaria
Boat: Jeanneau Sun Fizz 40' or is it 39'?? :-)
Posts: 206
Re: OpenCPN General

Dear all, maybe somebody can help me, or direct me to the correct thread. Currently I am experiencing severe problems with OpenCPN 5.0 in Raspberry pi. The problem is, there is no sound. I am not sure, whether this is a Raspbian problem or an OpenCPN problem. However, when I doubleclich on the .wav files, the files are played (using VLC media player) also the sound is fine, if you use youtube or anything else, however, the OpenCPN sounds are not played, except a very distorted 2bells - and this only once.



I have put all the .wav files I want to use into the "sounds" directory (/usr/share/opencpn/sounds) then I want to select an alarm sound for AIS CPA/TCPA warning - no fun... (the file is cvn77whistle.wav). When I want to enable sounds in "watchdog" e.g.HMS Illustrious Action Stations.wav as an anchor alarm (this really got me out of the bed, when it went off...). Now no fun at all.



Everything was running and I was using it with 4.8.8 and the then older plugins, but now - just updating and upgrading the system the "normal" way I got OpenCPN 5.0 installed AND the updaten plugins, which is fine, however, no sounds.



Is there any kind soul that could help me here - sorry, I am no Raspberry expert at all, so it might be just a little problem.



Thank you very much for your help, Uwe
HUR450502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2019, 04:30   #1164
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: at present, south coast UK
Boat: peterson34
Posts: 16
Re: OpenCPN General

hello, I have fitted ssd hard drive to my computer, was using 4.8 version of cpn with no problem before the change. Now i have installed the latest, 5.0 and have no detail on the charts, near the coast, primarily soundings The chart directories are all shown in the program, same as before .I can get text, tides, lights but only a few depths.There is virtually no detail in depths less than probably 50 ft I have tried many things: there are 3 yellow button at the bottom of the page and the chart outlines are shown .I have run out of ideas, please help. Thanks Peter
bootstrapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2019, 04:36   #1165
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 4,795
Re: OpenCPN General

Peter,

how does your charts option menu look like?
The menu down right on the screen...

Hubert
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Captura de pantalla 2019-06-30 a las 13.34.07.png
Views:	90
Size:	218.4 KB
ID:	194991  
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2019, 11:22   #1166
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: at present, south coast UK
Boat: peterson34
Posts: 16
Re: OpenCPN General

Hello, thanks for your reply, I don't have that on my screen. I only have the chart and the toolbar on the left. I have tried lots of different settings to no availI have uninstalled the program, was going to instal the older version but I can't find it. I also deleted all the charts and reinstaled from a backup but still no better
bootstrapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2019, 11:59   #1167
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,008
Re: OpenCPN General

Quote:
Originally Posted by bootstrapper View Post
Hello, thanks for your reply, I don't have that on my screen. I only have the chart and the toolbar on the left. I have tried lots of different settings to no availI have uninstalled the program, was going to instal the older version but I can't find it. I also deleted all the charts and reinstaled from a backup but still no better
You donít have the zoom buttons and the 3 line ďhamburgerĒ? Look again. Click the ďhamburgerĒ to see the chart menu.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2019, 14:06   #1168
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: at present, south coast UK
Boat: peterson34
Posts: 16
Re: OpenCPN General

Problem solved, thanks very much, I was using the gearwheel to open what I thought was the way to set up the chart details, didn't know about the other setup via the 3 lines next to the zoom buttons ,simple when you know Thanks again for your help
bootstrapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2019, 21:25   #1169
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Re: OpenCPN General

Hi, I apologise and advance or asking what probably is a stupid question.
I have been running OpenCPN 5.0.0. on an MacBook Pro (OS 10.14.5) for a month or so with out issue. However recently, I have not been able to expand the primary chart to full screen. ref first screen shot. If I change the canvas layout to 2 chart the second does expand. ref second screen shot.
It is possible I have upgraded to OS recently but I can't recall the exact time.
I have tried removing the plugins and have reinstalled OpenCPN without fixing the problem.
Any thoughts?
Thanks
Bruce
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-07-01 at 2.10.12 pm.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	203.1 KB
ID:	195077   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-07-01 at 2.12.45 pm.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	316.9 KB
ID:	195078  

bborchardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2019, 21:27   #1170
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,234
Re: OpenCPN General

Known problem caused by the latest Mojave update. Will be worked around in the next maintenance release.
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN bdbcat OpenCPN 1343 19-09-2009 15:59
Hi - Just a Few Brief General Questions valley Meets & Greets 5 26-08-2009 12:19
OpenCPN with BSB v4 selkie Navigation 4 03-08-2009 11:32

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:59.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.