Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-11-2022, 13:40   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 3
Opencpn 5.6 screen bug ?

Hi,
Had Opencpn 5.6 installed on my laptop (Linux Mint 21 Cinnamon) for a month, and working good actually.
Since yesterday (for some reason?), screen presentation has turned to the attached picture: chart now appearing in the lower left corner, and dowloaded O-charts unavailable despite still being on my disc.
Had Opencpn uninstalled and reinstalled, with no changes.
Has anyone an idea?

Cheers.
@ Opencpn developpers: many thanks guys for the huge work achieved yet. The whole application is absolutely remarkable
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Espace de travail 1_001.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	161.8 KB
ID:	267791  
Barrosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2022, 15:31   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 5,624
Re: Opencpn 5.6 screen bug ?

Try to start OpenCPN from the terminal using the following command

Code:
GDK_SCALE=1 opencpn
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2022, 01:40   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 3
Re: Opencpn 5.6 screen bug ?

Hi, thanks for reply.
Open cpn opens in large scale with the command, but O-charts still not available.
By the way, had the attached error message (.pdf) Any clue?

Lastly, when restarting Open cpn, without GDK_SCALE=1 command, situation returns back to previous one.
Anyhow, thanks for your answer.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Open CPN 01.pdf (25.7 KB, 9 views)
Barrosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2022, 02:33   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 5,624
Re: Opencpn 5.6 screen bug ?

I don't understand what "opening in large scale" mean. What you posted in the PDF is irrelevant and safe to ignore.
Please post the OpenCPN logfile, so that we can have a look at your o-charts issue.
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2022, 14:57   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 3
Re: Opencpn 5.6 screen bug ?

Hi,
Ocpn.log in attachment,
Regarding my previous post, sorry for misunderstanding when speaking about "large scale", I meant the map covered the whole screen rather than the lower left corner.
Many thanks for help.
PS: tried again to reinstall Ocpn, with no success regarding presentation. Is there any possibility to (cleanely) erase the previous Ocpn settings from computer?
Attached Files
File Type: pdf opencpn log.pdf (293.6 KB, 3 views)
Barrosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2022, 07:01   #6
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,850
Re: Opencpn 5.6 screen bug ?

Barossa...


Simple delete ~/.opencpn/opencpn.conf


Good Luck
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn, screen

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plotter works with old LCD screen but not new LED screen. Why? Simi 60 Marine Electronics 0 10-06-2019 21:06
To screen or not to screen? nknowland Construction, Maintenance & Refit 16 26-06-2015 19:39
OpenCPN 2.6.1215 bug HotRod OpenCPN 3 16-12-2011 06:16
OpenCPN Bug Report / Feature Request Tracker bdbcat OpenCPN 37 09-10-2011 02:15
bug screen cockpit enclosure? c.spots Multihull Sailboats 3 28-11-2007 14:03

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:44.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.