Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2019, 14:50   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

Upgraded to version 5 on my windows tablet instaled using imported settngs.( had to reinstall version 4.4.0) the problem is version 5 will not reconise my AIS transponder which also give GPS signal as well.
works fine on 4.4.0
The AIS is an AMEC ais class b CAMINO-108, when instaled on 4.4.0 Baude had to be set to 115200.I have tried all buade settings.
This setup runs fine on both Amec ais viewer and open CPN version 4.4.0 run one at a time.

Asked this question on (version 5 released thread) to no avail.
__________________

marex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 15:16   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 251
Re: Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

Quote:
Originally Posted by marex View Post
Upgraded to version 5 on my windows tablet instaled using imported settngs.( had to reinstall version 4.4.0) the problem is version 5 will not reconise my AIS transponder which also give GPS signal as well.
works fine on 4.4.0
The AIS is an AMEC ais class b CAMINO-108, when instaled on 4.4.0 Baude had to be set to 115200.I have tried all buade settings.
This setup runs fine on both Amec ais viewer and open CPN version 4.4.0 run one at a time.

Asked this question on (version 5 released thread) to no avail.
What happens when you set the Baudrate to 115200 in OpenCPN 5.0.0?

I can set the Baudrate to 115200 in my Windows 10 computer running OpenCPN 5.0.0 as shown in this screenshot made just before I pressed the "Apply" button in the bottom-right corner of the "Connections" dialog. By the way, I have found it necessary to press "Apply" before pressing "OK".

Click image for larger version

Name:	Baud.png
Views:	99
Size:	37.1 KB
ID:	197195

Paul
__________________

.Paul. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 15:31   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Re: Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

Hi Pual
that is the setting version 5 imports from version 4.4.0
marex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 15:59   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 251
Re: Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

Quote:
that is the setting version 5 imports from version 4.4.0
If 115200 baud works with OpenCPN 4.4.0 and the AIS has not been changed to use a different baudrate, 115200 baud must also be used with OpenCPN 5.0.0.

You also need the checkmark before "Enable" in the box for the COM3 serial port. The checkmark should have been imported from 4.4.0.

By the way, the most common problem with serial ports seems to be some program other than OpenCPN has connected to the serial port before OpenCPN is started. Windows allows a serial port to be connected to only one program at a time. So, make sure that a setup program for the Camino is not running in Windows.

Paul
.Paul. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 19:34   #5
Registered User
 
Franziska's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panschwitz, Germany
Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Posts: 1,549
Re: Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

Just so that you do not miss this. I replied in the other thread as follows.

"... Not sure why it's not working, but for info, we have a similar setup, same Amec Camino AIS and OpenCPN 5. It's working fine.
GPS comes from AIS, but via a Shipmodul Miniplex.

Be careful if you connect the Camino directly to the USB while the PC is attached to the same ships battery (with a 12v to 18v car style converter).
I accidentally killed/roasted one Camino AIS this way. The Camino is not optoelectronically decoupled.
A Miniplex or similar in between prevents that. When configuring the Camino I use the laptops own battery now when it's connected to the USB. I never run Camino and PC directly from the same ships battery when it's connected to the USB.
In operation I connect the Camino to the Miniplex which also delivers the other Navdata to the PC but has an optoelectronic decoupler built in.

Check if the AIS still transmits by looking at the diodes on the unit.

Good luck... "
Franziska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 00:05   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Re: Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

Hi /franziska
I was not a where of unplug issue thanks for the heads up on that, I do not understand why it will not work on version 5 as soon as you downgrade it works straight away I may try a clean install and enter all setting again, out of interest do you know the baude rate you use, I had issues on first use of Camino and there tec help said to use the rate I set.
marex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 12:35   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Re: Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

Hi All thanks for the input, managed to get version 5 to recognise my Camino-108, I had to reinstall version 4.4.0 on a different drive importing settings and log and behold v5 works fine.
marex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 16:42   #8
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5,955
Re: Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

marex...


For reference, will you post a screen shot of the connections panel that finally enabled this device?


Thanks
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 11:14   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Re: Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

I have the same problem, Window 10 and Camino ais. I had a Vista laptop with Opencpn ver 4.8.4 and an Amec Camino 108W ais connected. I use oeSENC charts and all was ok. I got problem with the laptop monitor so I bought a new HP laptop with Window 10. I install Opencpn ver 5.0 and the oeSenc charts without problem, but the connection with the Camino ais failed. I set the comport and the baudrate in the connection window, but the NMEA debug window is blank. I have tried different com ports and different baudrate. Window system manager detect the com port and the Camino configuration program detect both ais target and gps satellite. I have start Opencpn without any other program in action. I also have chart navigator and charts from NV Verlag. The chart navigator work with the gps position from the Camono ais. If I run the Opencpn and start the chart navigator then I got a message in chart navigator that the comport is busy by another application. Opencpn in my old laptop is still working with the Camino ais, but it is hard to see on the monitor.
B.Lnder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 04:21   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Re: Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

Hi Bdbcat,
The settings are standard baude rates,
It still gives a problem you have to run Open CPN version 4.4.0 then close it and open version 5 and then runs fine.
marex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2019, 00:32   #11
Registered User
 
Barbaria's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: On the boat
Boat: Bavaria 40 Ocean
Posts: 58
Re: Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

Quote:
Originally Posted by marex View Post
Upgraded to version 5 on my windows tablet instaled using imported settngs.( had to reinstall version 4.4.0) the problem is version 5 will not reconise my AIS transponder which also give GPS signal as well.
works fine on 4.4.0
The AIS is an AMEC ais class b CAMINO-108, when instaled on 4.4.0 Baude had to be set to 115200.I have tried all buade settings.
This setup runs fine on both Amec ais viewer and open CPN version 4.4.0 run one at a time.

Asked this question on (version 5 released thread) to no avail.
I have exactly the same problem. The Camino program is working and showing AIS targets, but no connection in open CPN 5.
Barbaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2019, 10:01   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Irish Sea
Posts: 1,235
Images: 6
Re: Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barbaria View Post
I have exactly the same problem. The Camino program is working and showing AIS targets, but no connection in open CPN 5.
Have you found a solution? I am considering buying the 108w, but it must work with my android tablet with opencpn too.
__________________
Useful as a fireproof bottom paint...
GTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2019, 22:50   #13
Registered User
 
Barbaria's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: On the boat
Boat: Bavaria 40 Ocean
Posts: 58
Re: Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

I have found a workaround.
I did a complete clean re-install to windows 7 64bit hoping that the problem resides inside Windows. It didn’t, problem still occuring in OpenCPN 5 so it is a OpenCPN 5.0 problem.
The solution for me was to have two separate installations of OpenCPN. One with the 4.8 version (that works) and one with ver. 5.0. I will first have to start the 4.8 version and see the AIS icons showing up, then close this and start version 5, then all works as normal.
If I re-start the PC or pull out the USB cable while running version 5 you must repeat the process. I have no idea what the cause of problem is, but it started with OpenCPN Version 5.0.
Barbaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 14:07   #14
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5,955
Re: Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

BarBaria...


Can you please post a screenshot of the OpenCPN connections parameters for the AIS receiver port?


Thanks
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 22:45   #15
Registered User
 
Barbaria's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: On the boat
Boat: Bavaria 40 Ocean
Posts: 58
Re: Open CPN version 5 and CAMINO-108

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
BarBaria...


Can you please post a screenshot of the OpenCPN connections parameters for the AIS receiver port?


Thanks
Dave
Her it is. Two from Ver. 5.0 and two of the Ver 4.8.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	169.5 KB
ID:	200879   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	126.3 KB
ID:	200880  

Click image for larger version

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	121.6 KB
ID:	200881   Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	112.5 KB
ID:	200882  

__________________

Barbaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
open cpn

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS, Camino 108W MacBookPro (MBP) klaus53123 OpenCPN 5 13-09-2015 13:34
OpenCPN, Camino 108 and NMEA 0183/2000 lasse.wiborg OpenCPN 13 14-07-2015 06:58
Comments on Open CPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Build 2014-06-24 WallyD OpenCPN 6 13-08-2014 14:33
New AIS today, Camino 108 Neptune's Gear Vendor Spotlight - Great Deals for CF Members! 0 02-12-2013 13:53

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:57.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.