Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2022, 16:39   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: hobart, tasmania, australia
Boat: mottle 33
Posts: 9
New Android devices offset location

Hi and thanks for opencpn which has done me well for 12 years now

So I've been running opencpn on Android phone handsets for 5 years now and it's now my preferred method .... so convenient

But the two most recent handsets offset my position southwards by close to a NM? .... I also run NAVIONICS on my devices and NAVIONICS positions me correctly.

Now only my oldest handset has OPENCPN putting me in the right position.

The two newer devices offset the same.

Have I missed something in the install?

Any thoughts?

Many thanks

Bruce of ARIA
bruce_on_ARIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2022, 19:19   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Other people's boats
Posts: 927
Re: New Android devices offset location

Nothing jumps out, but I do have a few questions:

- Does the offset follow you as you navigate, or are you testing this at a fixed location? E.g. if you travel a mile East is the offset still due South or does it not move from the original location?

- Are you using the same charts on all three devices? E.g. all are S-63, or all the same version of something else?
requiem is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2022, 20:09   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: hobart, tasmania, australia
Boat: mottle 33
Posts: 9
Re: New Android devices offset location

Thanks

Yep offset follows me

Attached two images

(1) correct position device left, offset and wrong position device right

(2) same devices showing navionics with correct position

Many thanks

Bruce
__________________
------------------------
bruce.on.aria@gmail.com
bruce_on_ARIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2022, 20:10   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: hobart, tasmania, australia
Boat: mottle 33
Posts: 9
Re: New Android devices offset location

Oops .... I don't know what happened to the attachments
__________________
------------------------
bruce.on.aria@gmail.com
bruce_on_ARIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2022, 20:11   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: hobart, tasmania, australia
Boat: mottle 33
Posts: 9
Re: New Android devices offset location

Using same charts CM93
__________________
------------------------
bruce.on.aria@gmail.com
bruce_on_ARIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2022, 20:28   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: hobart, tasmania, australia
Boat: mottle 33
Posts: 9
Re: New Android devices offset location

The same OPENCPN version on all three devices:
4.1.1028
__________________
------------------------
bruce.on.aria@gmail.com
bruce_on_ARIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2022, 20:39   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Other people's boats
Posts: 927
Re: New Android devices offset location

I think with the attachments you have to explicitly hit "upload" after you've browsed to select them. There might even be a third step of inserting them (little down arrow on the attachment icon), but it might not be needed. Let me test...

Edit: correct, all that's needed is to hit "upload" on the attachment pop-up, nothing further.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	jellies.jpeg
Views:	49
Size:	77.6 KB
ID:	268472  
requiem is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2022, 20:55   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: hobart, tasmania, australia
Boat: mottle 33
Posts: 9
Re: New Android devices offset location

Click image for larger version

Name:	Resized_20221209_130341.jpeg
Views:	87
Size:	220.7 KB
ID:	268473

Click image for larger version

Name:	Resized_20221209_130453.jpeg
Views:	75
Size:	215.7 KB
ID:	268474
__________________
------------------------
bruce.on.aria@gmail.com
bruce_on_ARIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2022, 22:40   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Other people's boats
Posts: 927
Re: New Android devices offset location

Strange.

One other quick test: If you drop a mark on each device, and edit the properties to have the same coordinates on both, do they appear in the same location? It's possible to mess with the CM93 offsets, but this seems very improbable.

I also tried playing with ship dimensions and GPS Offset via Preferences -> Ships -> Own Ship. (If the "Ship Icon Type" value is changed from the default these options appear.) However, at least on my system it doesn't allow setting an offset beyond the ship size, and a mile-long ship would be pretty obvious on the screen.

It's possible the one device is confused, but if so it should resolve itself after a few minutes, and I'd almost expect the Navionics to be similarly affected on it.

Finally, the version number looks low; if you grabbed the free version off the Google store, know that it's outdated and the "current" version is by a Dave Register rather than Maison Automatique. It does have a $10 cost though.

Edit: ↓↓↓ or what he said. Doh!
requiem is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2022, 22:45   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Boat: Island Packet 40
Posts: 6,067
Images: 7
Re: New Android devices offset location

Check the wrong one is using WGS84 spheroid.
__________________
Satiriker ist verboten, la conformité est obligatoire
RaymondR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2022, 23:51   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: hobart, tasmania, australia
Boat: mottle 33
Posts: 9
Re: New Android devices offset location

Many thanks people
(1) I put a drop-mark on a feature in both old (coreect position) and newer (incorrect position) charts and they had the same co-ordinates
(2) I paid (no problem!) and downloaded the newer OPENCPN but it doesn't seem to work with my CM93 chart set
(3) I don't know how to check that WGS84, or understand what that's about, although I looked in the manual opencpn

Oh well .....
__________________
------------------------
bruce.on.aria@gmail.com
bruce_on_ARIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2022, 02:45   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: hobart, tasmania, australia
Boat: mottle 33
Posts: 9
Re: New Android devices offset location

Many thanks people I got the new OPENCPN to work on one of my devices using the CM93 chart set ..... many thanks
Bruce of ARIA
__________________
------------------------
bruce.on.aria@gmail.com
bruce_on_ARIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2022, 07:36   #13
Registered User
 
denverd0n's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,956
Images: 6
Re: New Android devices offset location

Quote:
Originally Posted by bruce_on_ARIA View Post
Many thanks people
(3) I don't know how to check that WGS84, or understand what that's about, although I looked in the manual opencpn
You need to do some research. If you are using GPS for navigation then you really need to understand the different datum versions that are in use, and how to verify which one you are using.
denverd0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2022, 08:45   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: San Francisco
Boat: Morgan 382
Posts: 1,212
Re: New Android devices offset location

Android uses WGS84. I don't believe there is any way to change that, or even see that, in Android.

Note that in the problem phone, the GPS icon is a green circle. This means that location data is available, but the number of satellites used is not available. I suspect that this green circle is related to your issue, but I don't know how exactly.

I am wondering if the phone isn't using the GPS, but wifi, cellular, etc? Settings vary between android devices and versions, but sometimes there are location settings to set the accuracy or enable/disable using wifi for location. I would explore these options.

Also, maybe check the permissions for OpenCPN, and make sure that location permissions are set correctly.
__________________
-Warren
wholybee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2022, 08:49   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: San Francisco
Boat: Morgan 382
Posts: 1,212
Re: New Android devices offset location

I just checked my phone(which might be different from yours) Settings->Location->(make sure location is on) then ->App location permissions->OpenCPN->Use Precise Location On
__________________
-Warren
wholybee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forum Mobile Apps for iPhone, iPad and Android Devices! Janet H Forum News & Announcements 42 23-12-2018 04:12

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:59.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.