Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-03-2017, 07:50   #1
Registered User
 
Aart K.'s Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 121
Network connection

I made another extra network TCP connection. In the list with dataconnections I can see every dataconnection with a number.

Can I give network connections a name instead of a number? That would be easier to recognize.

Aart
from the Netherlands
Aart K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2017, 10:45   #2
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 700
Re: Network connection

at least, you can do that if you are using raspberry PI with openplotter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aart K. View Post
I made another extra network TCP connection. In the list with dataconnections I can see every dataconnection with a number.

Can I give network connections a name instead of a number? That would be easier to recognize.

Aart
from the Netherlands
petter5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2017, 10:47   #3
Registered User
 
Aart K.'s Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 121
Re: Network connection

I use W10 with O 4.6
Aart K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2017, 10:57   #4
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 700
Re: Network connection

It might be possible if you add the desired network connections to your /etc/host file something like shown :
Code:
 192.168.1.10  autopilot
I have not tested, but the system should then resolve 192.168.1.10 to autopilot if you write autopilot in the connections menu. All computers on the network must have the same hosts listed in the /etc/hosts file, if not they will not be able to understand "autopilot"
It might be a chance that this will work, but absolutely, no guarantee, especially if you have host with port numbers like 192.168.1.10:10110

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aart K. View Post
I use W10 with O 4.6
petter5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2017, 12:18   #5
Registered User
 
Aart K.'s Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 121
Re: Network connection

I think it is not gonna work in W10 with O 4.6.
Attached Images
 
Aart K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2017, 12:49   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 268
Re: Network connection

Aart and all,

There is a feature request in the Tracker, Flyspray # 1460 on OpenCPN.org, requesting a comment field for each connection line.

https://opencpn.org/flyspray/index.p...460&project=75

It has 8 votes, counting the vote I added.


Paul
.Paul. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine HS Network Connection cp100 sonar roetter Marine Electronics 0 05-02-2017 09:37
Garmin GMS 10 network port expander vs network hub gettinthere Marine Electronics 0 04-06-2013 16:42
Social Network for Sailing Enthusiasts allsailors Meets & Greets 19 14-10-2009 12:55

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.