Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2021, 06:23   #1
Registered User
 
Schnapsy's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Dunkirk, France
Boat: Fisher 34
Posts: 181
Images: 3
Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

In the logbookKonni plugin, in the "Motor / Sails" tab, it is possible to display the instantaneous fuel consumption (fuel) which is subtracted from the column of the initial total (fuelT).

The problem is that these numbers only appear as rounded integers in the French (or Dutch) version of OpenCPN.

If I change the language in "Options / User Interface" of OpenCPN and I choose the English language, I get numbers in the Logbook with the comma. (see illustrations).

I cannot find how to fix this error in the plugin so I am wondering if it is not an openCPN error, a problem of confusion between comma (used in Europe) and decimal point (used in US ) ?

If this is not an OpenCPN error, which direction should I look in the plugin to fix this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LGBK_FR.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	243.4 KB
ID:	237670   Click image for larger version

Name:	LGBK_UK.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	246.0 KB
ID:	237671  

Schnapsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 11:20   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kalamata, Greece
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 2,328
Re: Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

I'm afraid there is no developer anymore for the plugin LogbookKonni who will fix this. After all it is a matter of this plugin and not of OpenCPN.
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 10:08   #3
Registered User
 
Schnapsy's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Dunkirk, France
Boat: Fisher 34
Posts: 181
Images: 3
Re: Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

As I continue my investigations, I notice that changing the language (changing to US / UK) also solves another problem.

Thus the problem of the background which is not displayed for the statusbar plugin is also solved when we change the language, ie by switching to the English language!

At least two plugins have display issues which are resolved only if English language is chosen.
Whether it is Dutch, German, French, etc., the bug is present

There is therefore a problem - a BUG - with OpenCPN and not with the plugin (s)!
Schnapsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 11:03   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kalamata, Greece
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 2,328
Re: Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

If it is a problem with OpenCPN and not with this plugin so there will be the same problems with other plugins. But this is not the case and therefore it is only a problem with this plugin called LogbookKonni_pi. Do you understand it?
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 13:11   #5
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 15,186
Re: Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

This looks like issues related to the ui selection in the OS level. I've forgotten what it is called. Has to do with use of commas and periods and other conventions. Please try setting this OS setting on american/English to see what happens. Plugins are not smart about these settings generally.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 13:13   #6
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 15,186
Re: Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

Also there is no api info about this coming from opencpn. Plugins just do what they do.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 13:13   #7
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 15,186
Re: Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

In short no it is not.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 13:15   #8
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 15,186
Re: Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

BTW Peter T. Is still around, just not doing anything right now.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 13:17   #9
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 15,186
Re: Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

Additionally, the user used to have to install the language po files himself, no longer. I wonder if we missed something konni had coded.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 14:16   #10
Registered User
 
Schnapsy's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Dunkirk, France
Boat: Fisher 34
Posts: 181
Images: 3
Re: Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarCode View Post
If it is a problem with OpenCPN and not with this plugin so there will be the same problems with other plugins. But this is not the case and therefore it is only a problem with this plugin called LogbookKonni_pi. Do you understand it?
You tire me ...
Read what I wrote!
There is also a problem with the statusbar plugin, and this problem only disappears if you choose the English language.
If you have no solution to suggest, please do not unnecessarily pollute this thread.
Do you understand it?[
Schnapsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 14:24   #11
Registered User
 
Schnapsy's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Dunkirk, France
Boat: Fisher 34
Posts: 181
Images: 3
Re: Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
This looks like issues related to the ui selection in the OS level. I've forgotten what it is called. Has to do with use of commas and periods and other conventions. Please try setting this OS setting on american/English to see what happens. Plugins are not smart about these settings generally.
Rick, that's exactly what I did.
Remember the exchanges we had about the statusbar plugin in the dedicated thread, whose background is not displayed.
To verify this is simple.
Activate the statusbar plugin, and choose a European language (French, Dutch, etc.). The background that appeared with the English language no longer appears.
This does mean that there is a bug that does not only concern the logbook plugin ...
Schnapsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 15:11   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK/France
Boat: Gib'Sea 402
Posts: 462
Re: Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

I have tried the statusbar plugin with French selected as the language (in place of my usual English) and the background does indeed disappear as Schnapsy has been emphatically pointing out!

Absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with the W10 OS, but probably due to routines shared by these affected plugins.
hoolie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 02:04   #13
Registered User
 
Schnapsy's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Dunkirk, France
Boat: Fisher 34
Posts: 181
Images: 3
Re: Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

Thank you Hoolie for confirming this observation.

In fact, I have so far noticed this problem with two plugins.
But I haven't installed all the OpenCPN plugins and anyway, I don't know how they work at all.

If I allow myself to insist, it is that this problem is reproduced perhaps for other plugins or in other cases and this could perhaps cause more risky and / or more serious situations than the simple display of a background.

Thus, for example, for the Logbook plugin, the choice of language affects the display AND the calculation of the data which are received as integers in the French version, while in the UK / US version these data are received and calculated with the comma.

We can therefore legitimately assume that there are other risks on other plugins and therefore not only cosmetic display concerns, but also data calculation concerns.
Schnapsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 05:27   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 5,317
Re: Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

We can not legitimately assume anything without data backing that assumption.
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 06:45   #15
Registered User
 
Schnapsy's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Dunkirk, France
Boat: Fisher 34
Posts: 181
Images: 3
Re: Is this an OpenCPN bug ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
We can not legitimately assume anything without data backing that assumption.
Just check it out.
I have given enough evidence about two plugins and apparently this is shared by other users.
At my (very low) level of computer knowledge, I cannot do more.
Schnapsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn, enc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Bug--or other? --a Re-Post Caribdis OpenCPN 14 26-10-2016 02:40
Bug? OpenCPN ignoring lots of NMEA sentences - help! chris14679 OpenCPN 9 29-04-2014 18:37
OpenCPN.ini bug in 3.3.719 fgd3 OpenCPN 4 09-08-2013 11:15
OpenCPN 2.6.1215 bug HotRod OpenCPN 3 16-12-2011 06:16
OpenCPN Bug Report / Feature Request Tracker bdbcat OpenCPN 37 09-10-2011 02:15

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:51.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.