Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-04-2011, 07:52   #1

Boat: 2000 Navigator 4200 Classic-Skinny Dippin'
Is There an "Plug Ins for Dummies" Guide?

Maybe call it a beginners guide to plug ins :-) or Plug Ins 101

I am just getting started using CPN as a backup plotter (that may get moved up to primary in the future) and am not very clear about some things, especially plug-ins and how they are integrated into Open CPN. I get the simple operation of the software, but how to do double windows, add Google Earth, AIS and a lot of the features there are plug ins for is a bit baffling (to me). The help file seems to skim over plug-ins. Where do I start?

Thanks!
Tom-
Tom.B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2011, 09:48   #2

Boat: 29'
Re: Is there an "Plug Ins for Dummies" guide?

Gonzo,
...No,they're not really integrated.You have to "enable" them.It's like plugging a new usb device into your computer.You can unplug it too,without ill-effect.A whole different and better system than the usual model of fullbloat-full-time...
The point being,that anyone,anywhere can write a plugin....
I think you'll just have to read the threads ,put em in the plugins folder,restart OpenCPN,Enable them,and commence configuring,dragging the window corners,the windows themselves..Find a crash and report...all that...join the melee!try the latest version...ask the question if you get stumped and can't find the answer.
And just Unplug 'em if you don't use em or they seem to screw something up.

PS you need Google Earth installed to run the GE plugin.but read the thread.Last I heard,you need be wary of the newest GE version...because it relies on an outside source,the ground shifts when GE decides to update.
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2011, 20:10   #3