Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-05-2018, 21:57   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2018
Location: New Zealand
Boat: Athol Burns Offshore Motor Yacht
Posts: 11
Import GPX duplicate problem

If the same Import GPX file is run more than once, then duplicate routes and tracks are created but waypoints are not duplicated. This appears to cause some problems. Best if duplicate routes and tracks are either overwritten or skipped and not duplicated.
thanks
stinkpots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 00:51   #2
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 869
Re: Import GPX duplicate problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by stinkpots View Post
If the same Import GPX file is run more than once, then duplicate routes and tracks are created but waypoints are not duplicated. This appears to cause some problems. Best if duplicate routes and tracks are either overwritten or skipped and not duplicated.
thanks

What do you mean by 'run more than once'? Do you mean imported to the Mark & Route Manager more than once?


If so, why would you do that?





Terry
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 01:09   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2018
Location: New Zealand
Boat: Athol Burns Offshore Motor Yacht
Posts: 11
Re: Import GPX duplicate problem

This is because I have a lot of .gpx files with many routes and waypoints covering multiple areas.
It is quite possible to accidentally load the same file twice when loading multiple routes via .gpx files for different areas or countries.

The system can already recognise if a waypoint is loaded with the same name (as is normal with any computer system, if a duplicate name is detected then the user is usually offered the option to overwrite or skip).

It would be correct for the route manager to also recognise duplicate names.

If you are only working with one or two .gpx files then this error may not happen of course.
stinkpots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2018, 15:13   #4
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 14,435
Re: Import GPX duplicate problem

stinkpots,

Please read and consider this, provided by Pavel:


https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...s_gpx_and_guid
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2018, 00:16   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 103
Re: Import GPX duplicate problem

I've ran into the problem as well. It would be nice if the program did not import duplicate routes and tracks.
J805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
import

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open CPN - Import GPX files Grim Reefer OpenCPN 1 15-05-2015 16:14
GPX Route won't import AnchorageGuy OpenCPN 9 10-02-2015 12:55
.gpx import data error?? onehalfmoon OpenCPN 3 03-04-2013 06:24
Import GPX Tracks Crash Bluesipp OpenCPN 25 29-10-2011 00:20
How to Import gpx Tracks into MaxSea George64 Navigation 0 10-09-2010 15:56

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:04.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.