Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-12-2019, 15:08   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Detroit, Motor City, USA
Posts: 36
I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

Iíve read tons of forum posts and lots of the documentation, but Iím stuck.

Hereís where Iím at so far:

Raspberry Pi 3, Open Plotter, Open CPN Ė everything installed, updated and working ok

GPS antenna via usb Ė installed working fine. Iím able to see the GPS readout on the Dashboard in OCPN.

Next Iím trying to connect my Raymarine ST60 wind to the Raspberry Pi and programs

I have the wind transducer and display hooked up and running in my house.

Hereís where I need help:

Will the adaptor in the attached picture work to take the SeaTalk data from the ST60 display to the Rasp PI?

Can anyone tell me how/which of the 3 SeaTalk wires coming out of the ST60 display (red, yellow, shield) connect to which terminals on the usb adaptor?

Will Open Plotter discover the new connections when I power it up?

If not, how do I assign the new wind usb connection in Open Plotter.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191221_163626646_HDR.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	186.6 KB
ID:	205458  
__________________

jjccp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2019, 15:37   #2
Registered User
 
Dsanduril's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Petersburg, AK
Boat: Outremer 50S
Posts: 2,950
Re: I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

Neither OpenCPN nor the Signal K in Openplotter directly supports the SeaTalk protocol used by old Raymarine instruments (unless there is something very, very new of which I am unaware). You have to convert to NMEA 0183 (in which case there is direct support in OpenCPN) or to SeaTalkng/NMEA 2000 (in which case there is support in Signal K with the right hardware).

Digital Yacht has a converter. Also most Raymarine autopilots can connect to the ST60 and output NMEA 0183. IIRC the ST60 Tridata repeater display also has an NMEA 0183 output (but I’d have to check that). Raymarine also used to sell a unit that you can sometimes find on eBay, but it is very long in the tooth. With the exception of the Digital Yacht unit you will also need the adapter you pictured to get the NMEA serial data into your computer.
__________________

Dsanduril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2019, 16:52   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Detroit, Motor City, USA
Posts: 36
Re: I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

Thanks for the info Dsanduril.

The Digital Yacht unit has a USB connector on one end, which I assume will plug into the Raspberry Pi. If I got that unit, what would I also use the connector/adapter in my picture for?

Any experience with the Yakbitz unit? $49 vs $199 for Digital Yacht

Yakker

Thanks again
jjccp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2019, 17:04   #4
Registered User
 
Dsanduril's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Petersburg, AK
Boat: Outremer 50S
Posts: 2,950
Re: I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

With either the Digital Yacht or the Yakker you don’t need the RS485 adapter you pictured, only need that if you go autopilot/Tridata route with some instrument that has NMEA 0183.

And I’ve never seen/heard of the Yakker unit, so thanks for mentioning it here, I’ll have to give it some consideration myself.
Dsanduril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2019, 20:13   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Detroit, Motor City, USA
Posts: 36
Re: I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

Thanks again for setting me straight. I read so much stuff and still got it wrong on how nmea signals work. I'll try the Yakker.

I have old depth and old paddle-wheel speed transducers that I'm going to try to hook up also. Maybe I'll be able to use that usb/rs adapter for one of them.
jjccp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2019, 06:04   #6
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,053
Re: I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

If you have a Raymarine multifunction display it is quite likely that it will convert the Sea Talk data into NMEA 0183 format and your RS 485 adapter will work. Baud rate should be 4800 but some Raymarine MFD units allow you to change that.

Some of the newer Raymarine units do not have conversion to NMEA 0183 but most of the older units do.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2019, 09:21   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Detroit, Motor City, USA
Posts: 36
Re: I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
If you have a Raymarine multifunction display it is quite likely that it will convert the Sea Talk data into NMEA 0183 format and your RS 485 adapter will work. Baud rate should be 4800 but some Raymarine MFD units allow you to change that.

Some of the newer Raymarine units do not have conversion to NMEA 0183 but most of the older units do.

Thanks for the info transmitterdan. I only have the Raymarine ST60 wind instrument and no other Raymarine units. I ordered the Yakker SeaTalk to NMEA 0183 converter. Since it comes from the UK, it will probably be a couple of weeks before I see it. I think I'm on the right track now.

When I start trying to connect the depth and speed transducers, I'm sure I'll be back for more help.
jjccp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 12:32   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Detroit, Motor City, USA
Posts: 36
Re: I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

I wanted to give an update and it's all good news. I received the Seayak converter and it works great and was only $49. A simple connection of 3 wires out from a Seatalk connection from the back of my wind instrument. Then the Seayak converts the Seatalk signal and the other end is a USB which plugs into my powered USB hub which goes to the Raspberry Pi.

My 40 year old depth and speed transducers were crap so I ended up buying a Airmar/Raymarine DST800 - combo depth, speed and temp transducer. It was an open package deal from Amazon and it only cost $160. The signals from this unit are also picked up by the Pi. I was also able to send the display via wi-fi to my phone.

Of course it's winter here in Michigan and my boat is on the hard, but everything works great in the house. I've also ordered a Pypilot and an auto tiller controller. I'll report back when I get those units hooked up.

Thanks to the people on this forum that have helped me get started with this project.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200122_141757691_HDR.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	403.8 KB
ID:	207395   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200108_171938791_HDR.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	425.6 KB
ID:	207396  

Click image for larger version

Name:	P1060103.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	441.5 KB
ID:	207403  
jjccp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 18:21   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: W Carib
Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Posts: 12,126
Re: I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjccp View Post
I wanted to give an update and it's all good news. I received the Seayak converter and it works great and was only $49. A simple connection of 3 wires out from a Seatalk connection from the back of my wind instrument. Then the Seayak converts the Seatalk signal and the other end is a USB which plugs into my powered USB hub which goes to the Raspberry Pi.

My 40 year old depth and speed transducers were crap so I ended up buying a Airmar/Raymarine DST800 - combo depth, speed and temp transducer. It was an open package deal from Amazon and it only cost $160. The signals from this unit are also picked up by the Pi. I was also able to send the display via wi-fi to my phone.

Of course it's winter here in Michigan and my boat is on the hard, but everything works great in the house. I've also ordered a Pypilot and an auto tiller controller. I'll report back when I get those units hooked up.

Thanks to the people on this forum that have helped me get started with this project.
Great products by YakBitz at a very reasonable cost...dont find that in the boating market place often!
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 20:25   #10
Registered User
 
carlosproa's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami
Boat: EDELCAT33
Posts: 279
Images: 2
Re: I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

I am looking at doing something similar with the wind St60, a depthsounder i40, and autopilot tiller Raymarine st1000 or 2000. Will use a Motissie hat that comes with ais read and gps.
Question. Do I need a converter for each of the Raymarine hardware? Or does each sea talk pin may include nmea01830 and be identifiable?
carlosproa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 21:17   #11
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,053
Re: I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlosproa View Post
I am looking at doing something similar with the wind St60, a depthsounder i40, and autopilot tiller Raymarine st1000 or 2000. Will use a Motissie hat that comes with ais read and gps.
Question. Do I need a converter for each of the Raymarine hardware? Or does each sea talk pin may include nmea01830 and be identifiable?
Seatalk is not NMEA at all. Seatalk is a propietary hardware and software network for sharing data between Raymarine instruments. Seatalk is a very simple hardware implementation. There are three wires, +12V, Ground and data (yellow wire). All data flows back and forth on this one wire. When a device wants to send data to another device it waits until no other device is talking and then makes a request by pulsing the yellow wire in a certain way. When data is received by the other device it will respond back with a message saying received ok or not. This process continues all the time.

The yellow wire can be shorted to ground or +12V and it will not damage any of the devices on the network. So Seatalk is pretty much indestructible.

The main problem with Seatalk is that it is too slow for a lot of data like AIS and video.

The Yakbitz (YakBitz) Seatalk converter can convert Seatalk type 1 described above into NMEA-0183 format data. You need one Yakbitz device for each Seatalk network. Most boats have only one Seatalk network and all devices are connected to that. So most boats only need one Yakbitz device.

There are three basic types of Yakbitz depending on how you want to receive the data. Their options are USB, NMEA-0183 or WiFi. The most popular are probably USB and WiFi. OpenCPN can use either of these without further conversion. To use NMEA-0183 you need another converter to convert NMEA-0183 to USB or WFi. An NMEA-0183 to USB converter is very inexpensive.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 22:41   #12
Registered User
 
Mr B's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Boat: Paper Tiger 14 foot, Gemini 105MC 34 foot Catamaran Hull no 825
Posts: 2,458
Re: I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

I have an ST 60+ wind instrument that wont work, It cost me $600-00 for a new gauge, Still didnt work,
It had been hit by lightning and I changed all the wiring for that, Still didnt work,
Had technicians look at it, Still didnt work,
So I bought a hand held anemometre for $12-00 online, It works great,
Mr B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2020, 23:36   #13
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: charleston
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 3,608
Re: I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

which handheld wind instrument? Is it suitable to be mounted? Does it give wind speed and direction with data output?

I made my own 3d printed wind instruments that are very sensitive and work well steering the boat to wind.
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2020, 00:22   #14
Registered User
 
Mr B's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Boat: Paper Tiger 14 foot, Gemini 105MC 34 foot Catamaran Hull no 825
Posts: 2,458
Re: I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

Quote:
Originally Posted by boat_alexandra View Post
which handheld wind instrument? Is it suitable to be mounted? Does it give wind speed and direction with data output?

I made my own 3d printed wind instruments that are very sensitive and work well steering the boat to wind.
This one, Its hand held and hangs off the end of my dash panel on a cord,
It has Knots, KPH and M per Sec, Feet per Sec, $12-00 USD Delivered,

Wind direction, I look up at the flag flying from my mast, 2 feet by 3 feet,
Its always pointing in the direction the wind is going too, Its very accurate,

Im a cruiser, So wind speed to me is just a curiosity, Some thing to write about, The wind speed was so and so today,
Its sounds better than the wind was howling or screaming or very strong,
If I can write it was 30 knots steady and gusting to 35 knots,
People can understand that, Easily,
Since I bought it, My very strong wind is about 25 knots steady and gusting to 30 Knots,
Still have to test my howling and screaming wind speeds yet,
I have only had the gauge a week or so,

I just got sick of paying big money out for some thing that didnt work and I didnt really use any way
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wind gauge, $12-00.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	101.7 KB
ID:	207419  
Mr B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2020, 07:24   #15
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,936
Re: I'm stuck trying to connect wind instrument

See Sean's clever solution here
https://pypilot.org/store/index.php?...product_id=126
__________________

rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
men, rum, wind

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RayMarine Wind Instrument Stuck at 45 Degrees E165 iTC-5 solecollector Marine Electronics 0 11-10-2017 09:58
Tacktick mn30 Wireless Wind Instrument - Wind transmtter details jono63812 Marine Electronics 0 06-07-2016 13:10
Want To Buy: Raymarine ST60 Wind & Close Hauled Wind instrument jphillips48 Classifieds Archive 4 20-09-2013 03:07

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.