Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-09-2020, 11:42   #1711
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 804
Re: Help / FAQ

Sorry, it does work for relatively short route but not for longer route , such as 600 miles for example. If anyone can take a look at it, thanks.
P_Dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2020, 19:54   #1712
Registered User
 
StoneCrab's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 320
Images: 2
Re: Help / FAQ

If this isn't the spot for problems, just how-to's, then my first question is where to post bugs or problems. I see the already reported bugs but not the spot to report them.

Running the latest OpenPlotter / OpenCPN 5.2.0 on a Pi4 with 4Gb memory using a 32 or 64GB card...happens on both.

Click the gear for the settings/Options menu in OpenCPN, then going to the Charts menu/Update Control at the bottom and checking "Scan Charts and Update Database" then the "Apply" button, OpenCPN runs the task but then kills itself.

Left on the Desktop is an OpenCPN error box stating: "Failed to set permissions on the lock file '/home/pi/opencpn/_OpenCPN_SiLock' (Error 2 no such Fi...21:14:01
This is followed by a second error: Failed to remove lock file '/home/pi/opencpn/_OpenCPN_SiLock' (Error 2 no such Fi...21:14:01

There is a second error box under this one that says: "Sorry an existing instance of OpenCPN may be too busy to respond. Please retry. OK.

I am able to restart OpenCPN but if I navigate to the Download Charts tab, the text box is empty, and the OpenCPN too busy error persists.

I read in the bug reports that the LockFile error can happen where there already is an OpenCPN directory. This is a NOOBS install with no modifications, so there is a bug here, but the bug report doesn't advise as to a solution. I'd like to upload some charts but it looks like this is no longer possible.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OpenCPN error after Chart Update.JPG
Views:	20
Size:	73.9 KB
ID:	224438   Click image for larger version

Name:	Scan Charts and Update Database OpenCPN error.JPG
Views:	27
Size:	166.8 KB
ID:	224439  

Click image for larger version

Name:	OpenCPN Chart Downloader and 2 instances.JPG
Views:	20
Size:	132.8 KB
ID:	224440  
StoneCrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 13:05   #1713
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,490
Re: Help / FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by StoneCrab View Post
If this isn't the spot for problems, just how-to's, then my first question is where to post bugs or problems. I see the already reported bugs but not the spot to report them.

Running the latest OpenPlotter / OpenCPN 5.2.0 on a Pi4 with 4Gb memory using a 32 or 64GB card...happens on both.

Click the gear for the settings/Options menu in OpenCPN, then going to the Charts menu/Update Control at the bottom and checking "Scan Charts and Update Database" then the "Apply" button, OpenCPN runs the task but then kills itself.

Left on the Desktop is an OpenCPN error box stating: "Failed to set permissions on the lock file '/home/pi/opencpn/_OpenCPN_SiLock' (Error 2 no such Fi...21:14:01
This is followed by a second error: Failed to remove lock file '/home/pi/opencpn/_OpenCPN_SiLock' (Error 2 no such Fi...21:14:01

There is a second error box under this one that says: "Sorry an existing instance of OpenCPN may be too busy to respond. Please retry. OK.

I am able to restart OpenCPN but if I navigate to the Download Charts tab, the text box is empty, and the OpenCPN too busy error persists.

I read in the bug reports that the LockFile error can happen where there already is an OpenCPN directory. This is a NOOBS install with no modifications, so there is a bug here, but the bug report doesn't advise as to a solution. I'd like to upload some charts but it looks like this is no longer possible.

The first step in this process is to open the log file and see what happened at that exact time. The log file is found using the help button. There is a link on the help dialog for opening the log file. All entries in the log file have a date time record. So look for what is logged at that time or just before/after.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2020, 15:15   #1714
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Pacific Mexico
Boat: Fuji 45
Posts: 2
Re: Help / FAQ

I just downloaded OPENCPN latest version on my Mac IOS 11 Big Sur. I've read the manuals. When I try to download charts and go to catalogs, it is greyed out and I am unable to select anything. I had the program sort of figured out a few years ago, then went away from it. Now trying to learn again and can't find this issue addressed in the manual.
SVBrighterDays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 13:54   #1715
Registered User
 
wefleenor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Boat: 49ft custom power catamaran
Posts: 58
Re: Help / FAQ - cameras

Has anyone found a low latency solution for an exterior camera through a Raspberry Pi? Thanks.
wefleenor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 15:08   #1716
Registered User
 
StoneCrab's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 320
Images: 2
Re: Help / FAQ - cameras

Quote:
Originally Posted by wefleenor View Post
Has anyone found a low latency solution for an exterior camera through a Raspberry Pi? Thanks.
VLC Media Player can stream and does a good job. Much less latency than Motion.
StoneCrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 07:53   #1717
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 14,819
MacOS 11 Big Sur chartdownloader greyed out

Carcode do you have any thoughts about this to help SVBrighterDays?
SVBrighterDays I know there is an upgrade to the MacOS version for OpenCPN in process, so perhaps you can wait a bit and download that when it arrives?



Quote:
Originally Posted by SVBrighterDays View Post
I just downloaded OPENCPN latest version on my Mac IOS 11 Big Sur. I've read the manuals. When I try to download charts and go to catalogs, it is greyed out and I am unable to select anything. I had the program sort of figured out a few years ago, then went away from it. Now trying to learn again and can't find this issue addressed in the manual.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 08:26   #1718
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kalamata, Greece
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 2,191
Re: MacOS 11 Big Sur chartdownloader greyed out

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Carcode do you have any thoughts about this to help SVBrighterDays?
SVBrighterDays I know there is an upgrade to the MacOS version for OpenCPN in process, so perhaps you can wait a bit and download that when it arrives?
Quote:
Originally Posted by SVBrighterDays
I just downloaded OPENCPN latest version on my Mac IOS 11 Big Sur. I've read the manuals. When I try to download charts and go to catalogs, it is greyed out and I am unable to select anything. I had the program sort of figured out a few years ago, then went away from it. Now trying to learn again and can't find this issue addressed in the manual.
Some more information might be helpful.
Apple maintains 2 operating systems: macOS for laptops and desktops and iOS for smartphones and tablets. So probabely "Mac IOS" is a typo. The best way to get the best informations is to publish the log file opencpn.log here.
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2020, 05:40   #1719
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 5
Question Re: Help / FAQ

Hey all,
I am totally new to CPN. It seems like a great system.

Question: I intend to upload a long list of waypoints in a pre-defined order. this functionality is running smoothly! However, I cannot find a way to automatically create a route following chronological list of waypoints. Is this setting available in OpenCPN? If yes, where can I find it?

Thanks guys!
/G
GSilvegren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2020, 10:28   #1720
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 14,819
Re: Help / FAQ

When you say "chronological" do you mean Garmin GPX format? Not sure if the GPX import supports that format, but others will advise.

Make the list in GPX compatible format with your text editor, then import it into the Waypoint and Route Manager.
See https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...on_data_backup


Also go to FAQ

Browser Search by using Control-F
Then search on GPX or navobj and read. Follow links



Quote:
Originally Posted by GSilvegren View Post
Hey all,
I am totally new to CPN. It seems like a great system.

Question: I intend to upload a long list of waypoints in a pre-defined order. this functionality is running smoothly! However, I cannot find a way to automatically create a route following chronological list of waypoints. Is this setting available in OpenCPN? If yes, where can I find it?

Thanks guys!
/G
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2020, 17:58   #1721
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 771
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Help / FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSilvegren View Post
Hey all, I am totally new to CPN. It seems like a great system. ...
And new to CF as well, it seems. Welcome on board!

If you can get your waypoints into GPX format (which is really just XML, so very human-readable) then you can import them as a route, as Rich mentioned above. Good luck!
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2020, 17:45   #1722
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Milford, CT
Boat: Hunter / 29.5
Posts: 6
please help with connection issue

Please Help...
NEMA Debug Window shows lots of red (errors), and my CPU usage is very high (like 45%).
I have a Panasonic Toughbook CF-33 i7 with dGPS u-blox (new-ish..)
Windows 10 ver. 1909
u-blox GNSS Location Sensor, driver: 2.40.0.0
u-blox Virtual COM Port (COM6), driver: 3.10.0.0
Panasonic has a utility to test GPS - seeme to work fine...
u-blox has a utility (u-center) - seems to work fine...
but when I make the connection in openCPN it goes nuts...
I have removed and reinstalled openCPN, sensor driver, and VCP driver several times...
I tried changing the baud rate up and down..
below is a sample from the NEMA Debug Window:

<GREEN>18:31:11 (Serial:COM6) $GPGRS,233112.00,1,-4.4,-2.5,0.2,-1.3,1.3,-7.4,2.0,5.7,-7.7,-55.5,,*7D<0x0D><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:11 (Serial:COM6) $GPGRS,233112.00,1,3.6,-8.1,2.7,2.7,-3.4,-21.7,,,,,,*5C<0x0D><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:11 (Serial:COM6) $GPGST,233112.00,37,,,,1.2,1.3,3.6*57<0x0D><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:11 (Serial:COM6) $GPZDA,233112.00,28,12,2020,00,00*6F<0x0D><0x0A>
<RED>18:31:11 (Serial:COM6) <0x0E>
<RED>18:31:11 (Serial:COM6) <0x02>
<GREEN>18:31:11 (Serial:COM6) <0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:11 (Serial:COM6) <0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:11 (Serial:COM6) <0x0A>
<RED>18:31:11 (Serial:COM6) <0x0C><0x0C>--WW<0x07><0x07>ssnnxxnn;;**<0x11><0x11><0x04><0x04> <0x03><0x03>
<GREEN>18:31:11 (Serial:COM6) <0x0A>
<RED>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) L<0x0D><0x07><0x1B><0x1F>a
<RED>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) <0x15>"1
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) ?
<RED>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) <0x05>
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) .76,84.8,-34.1,,0000*71<0x0D><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) $GPGGA,233113.00,4116.88653,N,07300.31528,W,2,12,0 .76,84.8,M,-34.1,M,,0000*5A<0x0D><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) $GPGSA,A,3,08,21,27,09,51,07,30,14,16,04,,,1.41,0. 76,1.18*0E<0x0D><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) $GPGSA,A,3,67,68,87,78,76,,,,,,,,1.41,0.76,1.18*01 <0x0D><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) 68,17,04,14,193,21,07,61,306,26,08,85,150,36*7B<0x 0D><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) ,339,,76,31,097,27*66<0x0D><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) $GLGSV,3,2,09,77,66,023,,78,28,312,35,86,31,035,,8 7,60,144,41*68<0x0D><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) ,88,28,180,09*56<0x0D><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) $GPGLL,4116.88653,N,07300.31528,W,233113.00,A,D*74 <0x0D><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) $GPGRS,233113.00,1,-4.7,-2.4,0.4,-1.4,1.4,-8.2,1.7,5.9,-7.7,-53.4,,*7C<0x0D><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) $GPGRS,233113.00,1,5.0,-7.7,2.4,2.5,-21.0,,,,,,,*56<0x0D><0x0A>
<RED>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) <0x10>
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) "
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) io
<RED>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) <0x01><0x01><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) <0x0A>
<RED>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) %%<0x07><0x07><0x02><0x02>
<RED>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) <0x06><0x06><0x0A>
<GREEN>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) <0x0A>
<RED>18:31:12 (Serial:COM6) tvvhh@@<0x16><0x16><0x0C><0x0C><0x04><0x04>
johnkordiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2020, 05:14   #1723
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 771
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Help / FAQ

John, Welcome to CF!

The red lines are certainly not valid sentences. You'll notice that valid sentences all begin with $GPxxx & end with <0x0D><0x0A> (essentially CR/LF).

I don't know the equipment you're using, & maybe others can chime in on that. But in several years of trying to install GPSs & AIS on boats, one of the biggest problems I have is poor quality serial to USB converters.

The problem is that proper RS232 Serial uses a +/-9v signaling scheme, while NMEA0182/3 uses 0-5v signaling. Getting a converter designed to switch on +/-9v to switch on 0-5v requires a better than average converter.

When we got our first AIS in 2006, we asked our dealer what converter he recommended, & he suggested KeySpan, so we got a 4-port KeySpan (we have several serial & NMEA devices), even though it was twice the cost of others. In 14 years it hasn't skipped a beat.

Don't know if this is your problem, but I also don't know why your GPS is spitting out so many bogus sentences.
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2020, 06:16   #1724
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 3,068
Re: Help / FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Hacking View Post
The problem is that proper RS232 Serial uses a +/-9v signaling scheme, while NMEA0182/3 uses 0-5v signaling.

Jon
I may have got this wrong but what I know is NMEA0183 still using RS232/RS422.
A 0-5V (3.3V) signal is not RSxxx but TTL. Or?



From one spec:

"The NMEA specification requires a physical-level protocol compatible
with RS422 at 4800bps, 8N1 or 7N2. It is RS422 rather than RS232
because NMEA expects many navigational devices to feed a common serial
bus."
Hakan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2020, 08:04   #1725
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 771
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Help / FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakan View Post
Jon
I may have got this wrong but what I know is NMEA0183 still using RS232/RS422.
A 0-5V (3.3V) signal is not RSxxx but TTL. Or?

From one spec:

"The NMEA specification requires a physical-level protocol compatible with RS422 at 4800bps, 8N1 or 7N2. It is RS422 rather than RS232 because NMEA expects many navigational devices to feed a common serial bus."
Hakan, What I wrote above is what I've been told by folks who should know, but I must admit that I've never actually put it on a scope to check it for myself. But I do know that I've spent many hours trying to get poor quality USB-to-serial converters to work correctly with 0183 signals from GPSs & AISs.

Having said that, most of the time the signals were completely scrambled, not what the OP posted above, where some sentences are coming through correctly while others are obviously not valid sentences at all.

And none of this is explaining why the CPU utilization should be so high when trying to decode a simple serial stream.
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:52.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.