Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2020, 13:09   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Detroit, Motor City, USA
Posts: 36
Do I need a screensaver?

I'm just starting to install my system in my boat. Iím using a Rpi 3 mounted to the official 7Ē screen, Open CPN and Open Plotter, with the hardware mounted below in the cabin. I plan to use a phone or tablet via VNC while in the cockpit. The 7Ē screen is on all the time while the Pi is running.

Does it make sense to use a screensaver or somehow de-power the screen to conserve my limited battery power?

FYI, Iím not versed in Linux or using the command line and so far do everything from installed programs. I havenít found any settings for the Pi to disable the screen and I donít really know if it would make any difference in power consumption. Thanks in advance.
__________________

jjccp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2020, 13:21   #2
Moo
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 644
Re: Do I need a screensaver?

You can just configure the screen saver on the pi. Minimise OP and you should see the desktop.

However with VNC you are essentially seeing the screen of the host so if that is 'saved' won't the VNC client be saved too? Try it and see.

I run a pi headless i.e. No screen and access it via RDP.
__________________

Moo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2020, 12:56   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Detroit, Motor City, USA
Posts: 36
Re: Do I need a screensaver?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moo View Post
You can just configure the screen saver on the pi. Minimise OP and you should see the desktop.

However with VNC you are essentially seeing the screen of the host so if that is 'saved' won't the VNC client be saved too? Try it and see.

I run a pi headless i.e. No screen and access it via RDP.
Moo, thanks for the info. Since I'm new to VNC, I hadn't considered your point. That may be an issue, I haven't tried it yet.

I cant' see any items on any menus on my Pi that show a screensaver.

Maybe I'll go in a different direction. I'm not familiar with RDP, but I googled it. Is that a windows program? I'm not using windows, can I still make it work?
jjccp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2020, 18:22   #4
Moo
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 644
Re: Do I need a screensaver?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjccp View Post
Moo, thanks for the info. Since I'm new to VNC, I hadn't considered your point. That may be an issue, I haven't tried it yet.

I cant' see any items on any menus on my Pi that show a screensaver.

Maybe I'll go in a different direction. I'm not familiar with RDP, but I googled it. Is that a windows program? I'm not using windows, can I still make it work?
RDP is just a protocol. I use it on android. Haven't tried on an apple as I don't support Steve jobs' estate

The screen saver is there in display settings somewhere. I'll find it later and try to guide you.
Moo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2020, 09:31   #5
Registered User
 
skkeith's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: 1975 Isander 28
Posts: 82
Re: Do I need a screensaver?

you can get the rdp client for mac from the app store. It is called "Microsoft remote desktop connection". For the RDP server on the PI, use XRDP. You can find howto instructions for your OS. Here is a random one:


https://linuxize.com/post/how-to-ins...-raspberry-pi/
skkeith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2020, 09:41   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Detroit, Motor City, USA
Posts: 36
Re: Do I need a screensaver?

Quote:
Originally Posted by skkeith View Post
you can get the rdp client for mac from the app store. It is called "Microsoft remote desktop connection". For the RDP server on the PI, use XRDP. You can find howto instructions for your OS. Here is a random one:


https://linuxize.com/post/how-to-ins...-raspberry-pi/
Thanks skkeith. I don't have any Mac equipment, not sure how that got in the discussion. Just trying to find a practical way to view Open CPN from the cockpit with a tablet or phone without having the 7 inch screen running all the time. I'll take a look at your link. Thanks again.
jjccp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2020, 12:19   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Detroit, Motor City, USA
Posts: 36
Re: Do I need a screensaver?

I just upgraded to Openplotter 2.0 and it has a screensaver. Thanks for the help.
__________________

jjccp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
screen

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to learn, need a boat, let's get started bacougle Liveaboard's Forum 19 17-02-2016 09:14
HELP! - Thanks but we don't need any... Serious, need help... Sir Shagsalot Liveaboard's Forum 2 12-11-2015 20:44
Need Help - What Paper Charts Do I Need? CaptainBW Navigation 0 01-03-2012 12:32
I Need Help . . . But Don't Even Know what I Need Mr B Marine Electronics 9 27-09-2011 13:58
Need crew for Pacific passage? I need to escape! Sturgomatic Crew Archives 1 11-03-2009 10:28

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:28.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.