Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-05-2014, 05:36   #31
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: On board
Boat: Rival 41C
Posts: 74
Send a message via Skype™ to RobbieW
Re: Debugging OCPN Connections

Ummm, I dont know if this is helpful or not....

I have some IP knowledge (the sort thats dangerous ) but certainly dont understand the ins and outs of UDP, broadcast and multicast. I really work on known IP addresses, DHCP to some extent and dont really get subnet addressing etc (mostly laziness I expect). So....

empirically heres what I found worked when configuring kplex/OCPN to do what RythmnDoctor describes:

<!-- This one does the inputs -->
/jffs/kplex -o mode=background serial:name=NMEA_IN,direction=in,filename=/dev/ttyUSB0,baud=38400 serial:direction=in,filename=/dev/ttyUSB1 tcp:mode=server,port=10110

<!-- This one does the output -->
/jffs/kplex -o mode=background serial:name=AUTOPILOT,direction=out,filename=/dev/ttyUSB1 tcp:mode=client,persist=yes,address=192.168.20.118 ,port=10111

Note that there are 2 connections in OCPN (3.2.2) defined, trying to do this with 1 connection hung OCPNs data capability iirc. In my case kplex is being run on a router and can access the laptop running OCPN both wired and wireless. The GPS & autopilot connections are wired through the router, not the laptop, using a single USB/Serial converter into an Actisense Opto 1 serial connection into USB1, USB0 is AIS. Inputs and outputs at the Opto 1 go to different places.
RobbieW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2014, 05:45   #32
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 33
Re: Debugging OCPN Connections

Thanks. That looks much better. The setup I described yesterday wouldn't work easily this morning and suffered crashes of OCPN.

I have NO IP knowledge but some small command line experience in linux and on the end of a soldering iron.
How, in single syllable language, do I set up your configuration i.e. is it all from the command line or do you write something?
I use Ubuntu 12.04 32-bit with OpenCPN
KenNorris49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2014, 06:12   #33
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: On board
Boat: Rival 41C
Posts: 74
Send a message via Skype™ to RobbieW
Re: Debugging OCPN Connections

In theory I have a script to start kplex on the router, in practice I cut and paste lines from the script onto the *IX command line. I tried to cut and paste the OCPN connection definitions in here but the editor bit back - if you want to see them let me know & I'll try harder
RobbieW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2014, 10:50   #34
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Westerly Oceanlord
Posts: 513
Re: Debugging OCPN Connections

FWIW this week I've been looking at modifying OpenCPN's tcp DataStreams to do bi-directional and remove some of the client vs. server confusion. Pavel, Dave and crew: let me know if someone's already addressing this.
muttnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2014, 11:20   #35
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,207
Re: Debugging OCPN Connections

muttnik...
Not me. And I think Dave and Sean are more than happy polishing the performance improvements.

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2014, 15:10   #36
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,394
Re: Debugging OCPN Connections

Muttnik....

Happy does not even begin to describe my thoughts....

Anyway, carry on with bi-di TCP implementation. I'll be very glad to have this off my list.

Thanks
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2014, 01:28   #37
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: On board
Boat: Rival 41C
Posts: 74
Send a message via Skype™ to RobbieW
Re: Debugging OCPN Connections

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbieW View Post
In theory I have a script to start kplex on the router, in practice I cut and paste lines from the script onto the *IX command line. I tried to cut and paste the OCPN connection definitions in here but the editor bit back - if you want to see them let me know & I'll try harder
Rick, I stumbled over your thanks and request so my connections are shown in the attached doc....OCPN ConnectionsV2.pdf

Cheers ... Robbie
RobbieW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2014, 13:11   #38
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Westerly Oceanlord
Posts: 513
Re: Debugging OCPN connections

Quote:
Originally Posted by muttnik View Post
After the original part of this thread last year the wiki/beta manual was updated:
Data Connections | Official OpenCPN Homepage
I notice that as you say it's not clear in the "stable" manual: I'll see if I can find out how to resolve that.
The good news is that the manual you see if you click on the most obvious link in the top left of the opencpn.org has this update. The manual you get if you choose "OpenCPN user manual" from the "Book" tab along the top, however, doesn't.

I don't seem to be able to edit anything any more. Am I just being stupid (which would be my first guess) or has something changed since I last did it?

Another question would be whether the "beta manual" should reflect the current beta or the latest git source and if the former, where should new functionality changes not yet in any beta be documented?
muttnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2014, 13:21   #39
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,207
Re: Debugging OCPN connections

Quote:
Originally Posted by muttnik View Post
I don't seem to be able to edit anything any more. Am I just being stupid (which would be my first guess) or has something changed since I last did it?
The wiki editing works for me as it always did as long as I'm logged in.
Quote:
Another question would be whether the "beta manual" should reflect the current beta or the latest git source and if the former, where should new functionality changes not yet in any beta be documented?
IMO there's no problem if it follows the current master when someone is fast enough to describe his commits , better than being delayed...

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2014, 15:43   #40
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Westerly Oceanlord
Posts: 513
Re: Debugging OCPN Connections

You're right: I was at least partially being stupid: I can edit the beta manual / wiki but not the stable manual. May I propose that the TCP data connections section is copied from beta to stable (as it applies to the current stable version) before I update the wiki for the code change I submitted yesterday?
muttnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2014, 15:16   #41
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 387
Re: Debugging OCPN Connections

muttnik

Many thanks for the in/out TCP datastream. I was able to connect to the autopilot over a wifi router using a TCP to RS422 converter Amazon.com : TCP/IP Ethernet to Serial RS232 RS485 RS422 Converter : Computer Data Switches : Camera & Photo.

$ECRMC and $ECRMB to the autopilot and $APHDG and $APRSA from.

The GRadar was transmitting over the same router. There were no interference problems. Both connections worked perfectly at the same time.

The next step is to buy 2 more converters, one for AIS and one for converted NMEA2000. At that point the only wired connection to the laptop is for power.

Thanks again

Chuck
ChuckSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 02:12   #42
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Westerly Oceanlord
Posts: 513
Re: Debugging OCPN Connections

As Chuck has noted, bi-directional TCP connections should be possible as of the recently released beta. I hope nothing got broken in the process :-)
muttnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2015, 10:38   #43
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gaspe Quebec Canada
Boat: Island Trader 1981, 37 feet
Posts: 27
Re: Debugging OCPN Connections

More confused then ever. I have successfully installed gradar on windows xp with my new 18 inches digital garmin radom. Now guess what i would ike to have some back up BUT my other laptop is a windows 8 :-( so i start all over again.

gradar_pi message says: The radar overlay plugin is unable to control the radar scanner.

scanner is located at 172.16.2.0
interface available on this computer is
169.254.153.206/16
127.0.0.1/8

To me, that is chinese... Where should i go what should i do? I feel soooo handicaped.

Thanks for any help
CapSud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2015, 00:05   #44
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: On board
Boat: Rival 41C
Posts: 74
Send a message via Skype™ to RobbieW
Re: Debugging OCPN Connections

CapSud, this thread is essentially dead as the behaviour reported was fixed a while ago. I think your question is more likely to get an answer over in.. http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...gin-79081.html
RobbieW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2015, 03:19   #45
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gaspe Quebec Canada
Boat: Island Trader 1981, 37 feet
Posts: 27
Re: Debugging OCPN Connections

On Open CPN opening i get the log window showing

0: Found network interface: 169.254.153.205/16
1: Found network interface: 127.0.0.1/8
2: Found network interface: 192.168.2.31/24
3: Scanner at 172.16.2.0 is <<NOT>> accessible for master control.
4: Successfully added to multicast group 239.254.2.0
5: ->gradar_pi: First Packet Rx 6: True Heading: -1.#IND Mag Heading: -1.#IND Variation: -1.#IND thpri: 99 mhpri: 99 vpri: 99
7: True Heading: 0 Mag Heading: -1.#IND Variation: -1.#IND thpri: 99 mhpri: 99 vpri: 99

I feel like a new born in a engeneer's discussion, so is there a full step by step document i could read, understand and apply to make my Garmin 18 hd to work on windows 8.1 ?
CapSud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
paracelle

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New plugin releases nohal OpenCPN 48 21-05-2014 12:20
Engine Connections to Hot Water Tank Reteves Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 17 25-09-2013 07:26
Corsair 1 terabyte wifi drive for OCPN?? sinbad7 OpenCPN 14 07-09-2013 11:04
'Options' Dialog Stops Connections Output RobbieW OpenCPN 3 19-08-2013 18:25
Leaking Hose Connections islander20 Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 19 19-11-2012 11:37

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:49.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.