Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-02-2020, 14:56   #1
Registered User
 
mrybas's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Coast USA or out cruising
Boat: Lock Crowther 150
Posts: 594
Connecting to B&G H5000?

Hi,
I am able to connect to the B&G wireless network to display heading, speed, AIS info.

I am not able to get radar data over wifi connection though.

I connect my MacBook Air to the H5000 CPU via web socket using an Ethernet cable to configure the instruments.

Am I able to configure a new connection in OpenCPN that will allow me to use the Ethernet cable to the H5000?

I tried creating a new ‘network’ connection with the same IP address(192.168.0.2) I use to connect to the B&G web server, but no luck.
__________________

mrybas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2020, 16:34   #2
Moo
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 611
Re: Connecting to B&G H5000?

Which H5000 components do you have in your system? Tell me that and I'll see what can be done.
__________________

Moo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2020, 16:46   #3
Registered User
 
mrybas's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Coast USA or out cruising
Boat: Lock Crowther 150
Posts: 594
Re: Connecting to B&G H5000?

Does this help?
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1582674355.785328.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	94.7 KB
ID:	209455
mrybas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2020, 16:47   #4
Moo
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 611
Re: Connecting to B&G H5000?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moo View Post
Which H5000 components do you have in your system? Tell me that and I'll see what can be done.
In addition.. You have NMEA2000 and NMEA0183 options. Any reason why you want to use Ethernet?
Moo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2020, 16:49   #5
Moo
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 611
Re: Connecting to B&G H5000?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrybas View Post
Does this help?
Attachment 209455
Yes. I'll have a look
Moo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2020, 16:53   #6
Registered User
 
mrybas's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Coast USA or out cruising
Boat: Lock Crowther 150
Posts: 594
Re: Connecting to B&G H5000?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moo View Post
In addition.. You have NMEA2000 and NMEA0183 options. Any reason why you want to use Ethernet?


I am a total newb when it comes to networking/computers/etc.

I was hoping to get the radar info over the B&G WiFi, but apparently that type of data doesn’t broadcast well on WiFi.

I have a usb/Ethernet cable for my Mac air, that’s the only reason I was asking. Is there a better way to get radar to OpenCPN?
mrybas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2020, 17:09   #7
Registered User
 
mrybas's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Coast USA or out cruising
Boat: Lock Crowther 150
Posts: 594
Re: Connecting to B&G H5000?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moo View Post
Yes. I'll have a look


Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1582675674.280213.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	75.7 KB
ID:	209456

I don’t know if it matters, but the radar goes to ‘RI10’ junction box.
mrybas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2020, 17:26   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2019 Seawind 1160 Lite
Posts: 1,540
Re: Connecting to B&G H5000?

Apparent wind should be coming from a wind wand instrument. Boat speed should be coming from a paddlewheel. If not tied to either of these, the true wind calculation will be erroneous.
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2020, 17:33   #9
Registered User
 
mrybas's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Coast USA or out cruising
Boat: Lock Crowther 150
Posts: 594
Re: Connecting to B&G H5000?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailjumanji View Post
Apparent wind should be coming from a wind wand instrument. Boat speed should be coming from a paddlewheel. If not tied to either of these, the true wind calculation will be erroneous.


No expert here, but the wind sensor is analog due to the too great of a distance to the top of the mast to send NEMA 2000? There isn’t any option to switch source data.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1582677106.523636.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	93.4 KB
ID:	209457

Boat speed, I’ll switch to DST200 paddle wheel?
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1582677171.422757.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	91.7 KB
ID:	209458
mrybas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2020, 19:00   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2019 Seawind 1160 Lite
Posts: 1,540
Re: Connecting to B&G H5000?

Do you have a wind instrument that measures apparent wind speed and direction?

Not sure how tall your mast is, but mine is 61 ft above water, and we are using a B&G 608 wind transducer that is NMEA 2000 on one end, and Simnet on instrument ene.

Wherever the instrument is located, you need the wind data. It appears youve chosen to get that from the chartplotter?
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2020, 19:02   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2019 Seawind 1160 Lite
Posts: 1,540
Re: Connecting to B&G H5000?

Id also changed distance log to the paddlewheel. Im not sure that your chartplotter can provide distance?
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2020, 19:25   #12
Registered User
 
mrybas's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Coast USA or out cruising
Boat: Lock Crowther 150
Posts: 594
Re: Connecting to B&G H5000?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailjumanji View Post
Do you have a wind instrument that measures apparent wind speed and direction?

Not sure how tall your mast is, but mine is 61 ft above water, and we are using a B&G 608 wind transducer that is NMEA 2000 on one end, and Simnet on instrument ene.

Wherever the instrument is located, you need the wind data. It appears youve chosen to get that from the chartplotter?


Yes, I have a B&G 213 wind sensor. The mast is 65’/71’ off the water.

https://www.bandg.com/bg/type/instru...masthead-unit/
mrybas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2020, 19:27   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2019 Seawind 1160 Lite
Posts: 1,540
Re: Connecting to B&G H5000?

So you should be getting apparent wind angle and speed from that sensor. Can you select it from your device list?
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2020, 19:31   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2019 Seawind 1160 Lite
Posts: 1,540
Re: Connecting to B&G H5000?

So maybe the 213 wind instrument goes to the H5000? If so, then maybe all ok. Are you getting apparent wind info?
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2020, 19:40   #15
Registered User
 
mrybas's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Coast USA or out cruising
Boat: Lock Crowther 150
Posts: 594
Re: Connecting to B&G H5000?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailjumanji View Post
So you should be getting apparent wind angle and speed from that sensor. Can you select it from your device list?


The only option for apparent wind is the H5000 CPU. Like I said the data from this sensor is analog, so maybe that’s why it doesn’t show up as an option.
The wind instrument works well, so it must be working.
__________________

mrybas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H5000 pilot controllers not working Joemase General Sailing Forum 3 15-10-2019 19:13
H5000 "indicator" use? Black Diamond Marine Electronics 2 04-04-2019 09:03
For Sale: Simrad H5000 Auto pilot islandsquirrel Classifieds Archive 0 12-11-2015 17:12
Want To Buy: Simrad/Navico H5000 handprogrammer Anomaly Classifieds Archive 1 16-12-2014 09:57
Want To Buy: Simrad/Navico H5000 Hand Programmer Tailwheel Classifieds Archive 4 03-10-2013 08:42

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:39.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.