Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2020, 07:23   #1
OJ0
Registered User

Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 1
Cockpit repeater

I'm trying to set up a replacement for the Raymarine plotter with failing screen on our yacht in Germany which we may not see this year because we're stuck in England. If I run OpenCPN on a laptop in the cabin will it be possible to use an Android device as a cockpit repeater giving basic WP data, SOG, COG etc? Grateful for any help, Simon
__________________

OJ0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 21:49   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Austria
Posts: 259
Re: Cockpit repeater

Install vnc viewer on your android device and see your PC screen. You can work opencpn this way.
__________________

skipperearly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 05:22   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 502
Re: Cockpit repeater

iDisplay, TwoMon and Air Display are all outright purchase options to turn tablet into a second monitor without control.
Tupaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 05:26   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 502
Re: Cockpit repeater

Alternatively you can use what is called a field monitor designed for professional video cameras. Runs from the HDMI port. Excellent in sunlight. Google Eyoyo for one brand.
Tupaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 06:20   #5
Registered User
 
Bill O's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2015
Boat: Bruce Bingham Christina 49
Posts: 1,301
Re: Cockpit repeater

We installed the vnc viewer on a W10 tablet and have full/independent viewing of charts, depth, GPS, etc. in the cockpit as well as full autopilot control from either station.

We have articles on our blog site how we set up the rpi for the main nav. computer and utilized openplotter/pypilot for the AP control.
__________________
Bill O.
KB3YMH
https://phoenixketch.blogspot.com/
Bill O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 07:51   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 18,499
Re: Cockpit repeater

Yes. It is easy to repeat the display via wifi.



But it is just as simple to use an OpenCPN running directly on the tablet in the cockpit.


If you use a repeater, when the station below deck stops, the repeater stops.


If you use a nav App run on the cockpit toy, when the open below deck stop, you still have the one in the cockpit, and vice versa.


Plus, you do not need wifi network when you go the 'independent App' way.


b.
__________________

barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cockpit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Raymarine cockpit repeater Phoenician Marine Electronics 8 04-07-2014 18:15
WTB: Standard Horizon RP 100 Repeater Flatsflyer Classifieds Archive 3 13-10-2009 15:27
Standard Horizon RP 100 Repeater Flatsflyer Navigation 0 31-08-2009 17:23
Connecting a GPS to a cockpit repeater John White Marine Electronics 2 25-04-2008 15:03
Repeater & laptop from 1 gps, no? Weyalan Marine Electronics 7 26-03-2006 14:00

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.