Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2021, 22:50   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 106
Canít see aircrafts

Can OpenCPN show aircrafts?
I can see them in dump1090-fa web page on a map. I can see stream of data
NMEA like prefixed MSG on tcp port 30003 with position data. I tried to register connection to in OpenCPN but it didnít show any aircrafts.

Thanks
mgrouch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 02:12   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 5,317
Re: Canít see aircrafts

No, OpenCPN does not understand ADS-B (which is the AIS equivalent for planes you talk about) and does not display any aircraft data.
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 11:39   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 360
Re: Canít see aircrafts

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
No, OpenCPN does not understand ADS-B (which is the AIS equivalent for planes you talk about) and does not display any aircraft data.


Note that OpenCpn does display SAR aircraft which at least here in Ireland also have AIS transponders.
AedanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 12:38   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 140
Re: Canít see aircrafts

You can buy a Stratus or build a Stratux for ADS-B data. Not sure how it would interface with what you have now, though.
C420sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 14:18   #5
Moderator
 
JPA Cate's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: aboard, cruising in Australia
Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop
Posts: 21,562
Re: Canít see aircrafts

We've seen the SAR and the Border Control aircraft with AIS displayed on Open CPN, too. They sure move fast!!!

Ann
__________________
Who scorns the calm has forgotten the storm.
JPA Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 14:44   #6
Registered User
 
44'cruisingcat's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,397
Images: 69
Re: Canít see aircrafts

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPA Cate View Post
We've seen the SAR and the Border Control aircraft with AIS displayed on Open CPN, too. They sure move fast!!!

Ann
Pilot helicopters too. Freaked me out first time I saw one coming out of Newcastle at 90 kts!
__________________
"You CANNOT be serious!"


John McEnroe
44'cruisingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 01:58   #7
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 4,056
Re: Canít see aircrafts

From the AIS message OCPN will even show a different icon for helicopters or fixed wing SARs.
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 02:01   #8
Registered User
 
Uncle Bob's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney Australia
Boat: Fisher pilothouse sloop 32'
Posts: 2,380
Re: Canít see aircrafts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgrouch View Post
Can OpenCPN show aircrafts?
I can see them in dump1090-fa web page on a map. I can see stream of data
NMEA like prefixed MSG on tcp port 30003 with position data. I tried to register connection to in OpenCPN but it didnít show any aircrafts.

Thanks
Have to ask, why on earth would you need to see aircrafts.
__________________
Rob aka Uncle Bob Sydney Australia.

Life is 10% the cards you are dealt, 90% how you play em
Uncle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 02:31   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kalamata, Greece
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 2,328
Re: Canít see aircrafts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Bob View Post
Have to ask, why on earth would you need to see aircrafts.
Maybe he want to avoid a collision with a landing seaplan?
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 09:18   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2020
Boat: Coast 34 Sail
Posts: 167
Re: Canít see aircrafts

Was sailing in East Sound San Juan Islands and heard motor and radar target heading for us, turned out a float plane took off and flew over at 100 feet
Tomodore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 17:46   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: oriental
Boat: crowther trimaran 33
Posts: 3,790
Re: Canít see aircrafts

The rtl sdr plugin does support adsb and does plot the planes on the chart!

Implemented using flight aware (basically standard rtlsdr usb with filters)


As well as their predicted trajectory ( since they move so fast and updates may be infrequent) similar to the ais prediction
seandepagnier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 20:13   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 106
Re: Canít see aircrafts

Quote:
Originally Posted by seandepagnier View Post
The rtl sdr plugin does support adsb and does plot the planes on the chart!

Implemented using flight aware (basically standard rtlsdr usb with filters)


As well as their predicted trajectory ( since they move so fast and updates may be infrequent) similar to the ais prediction


Thanks. Thatís what I would need.
Unfortunately SDR RTL plugin is not showing up in the latest plugins catalog
mgrouch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 20:17   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 106
Re: Canít see aircrafts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Bob View Post
Have to ask, why on earth would you need to see aircrafts.


I want to watch out for Flying Dutchman
mgrouch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 21:48   #14
Moderator
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 18,140
Re: Canít see aircrafts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Bob View Post
Have to ask, why on earth would you need to see aircrafts.
Need time to get the covers off the AA guns and fill the ready ammo boxes... and wake up the off watch crew to man them.

Jim
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II, back in Port Cygnet once again
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2021, 04:37   #15
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 15,164
Re: Canít see aircrafts

Here is sean's source compiled for OpenCPN v4.8.8 The manual has been added.
https://github.com/rgleason/rtlsdr_pi


Sean's git repos https://github.com/seandepagnier/rtlsdr_pi


Perhaps it should be revived at some point.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hour meter discolored -can't see through it bob_deb Construction, Maintenance & Refit 7 10-12-2008 15:06
Hey, is there somewhere you can see boat builders close to you? Llamster Construction, Maintenance & Refit 4 09-06-2008 21:47
Defender "can't see the forest for all the trees" rleslie Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 21 24-06-2007 21:50
Help please! I can't see thumbnail pics Knottygirlz Forum Tech Support & Site Help 3 05-07-2006 22:58

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:04.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.