Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2018, 05:39   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poole, UK
Boat: Bavaria 34 Yacht
Posts: 4
Barometer History Dashboard Display

There seems to be a glitch in the time coordinate for this display - see attached.

I am running OpenCPN v 4.8.4 in Windows 10

Any chance of a quick fix?

Thank you
Click image for larger version

Name:	nanobaro.png
Views:	169
Size:	143.3 KB
ID:	169157
__________________

caleroific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 05:57   #2
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,093
Re: Barometer History Dashboard Display

It looks like the glitch is in the sensor data. The time axis for dashboard graphs contains one point for each sensor reading. It appears that every so often the number of sensor readings are reduced for some reason. For this graph to work the sensor readings need to be regularly spaced in time.
__________________

transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 10:15   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poole, UK
Boat: Bavaria 34 Yacht
Posts: 4
Re: Barometer History Dashboard Display

Hi Dan

I don't understand! My sensor is sending a reading approximately every 10 seconds. The reading contains no time stamp just a temperature and pressure. The plot on the the timeline looks good. It's the background graphics which are confused.

Surely the coordinates and associated graphics are generated by OpenCPN according to the clock even if no data is received. Is this the PC clock or the GPS clock? Either way it is independent of the data being collected and in my opinion a display issue.
caleroific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 12:43   #4
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,093
Re: Barometer History Dashboard Display

Quote:
Originally Posted by caleroific View Post
Hi Dan

I don't understand! My sensor is sending a reading approximately every 10 seconds. The reading contains no time stamp just a temperature and pressure. The plot on the the timeline looks good. It's the background graphics which are confused.

Surely the coordinates and associated graphics are generated by OpenCPN according to the clock even if no data is received. Is this the PC clock or the GPS clock? Either way it is independent of the data being collected and in my opinion a display issue.
Please don't be mad at anyone. We are just trying to help. Most dashboard instruments get updated from 1 to 10 times per second. So getting an update once very 10 seconds may be the issue.

The data is plotted as a line drawn as a series of equal length segments. I believe there are 3,000 sensor readings on the graph. I have to check the source code to be sure. So if the sensor sends 1 reading every 10 seconds and it takes 3,000 readings to complete the graph it means 30,000 seconds of data or about 8 hours. If no pressure data is received the chart does not get updated.

The chart object tries to draw a vertical bar every 5 or 15 minutes of the CPU clock. Again, I have to check the source code to be sure about that because it is hard coded. So it's trying to draw lots of vertical bars and they overlap and get mangled. Sometimes they look right and sometimes they look stupid.

I think you could ask via the feature tracker at opencpn.org if the history plot could be made user selectable for the time between vertical bars. For you it should probably be something like 2 hours not 15 minutes.

An alternative would be to make the barometer history plot a fixed number of samples (say 1,000) between the vertical time bars. That might be more in tune with what the majority of users expect.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 15:44   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poole, UK
Boat: Bavaria 34 Yacht
Posts: 4
Re: Barometer History Dashboard Display

Sorry if you think I am mad about this. I love OpenCPN and use it primarily for passage planning and management of AIS targets. I have donated to the project.

I am playing with the Nanobaro NMEA Barometer to evaluate it for use on my boat. Ref:

https://sdfjkl.org/blog/2017-08-09-nanobaro/

Thank you for your explanation. I don't wish to speed up my source data because it will reduce the 8 hour display. Ideally I was looking for at least 24 hours.

For now I am happy to live with the constraints and will raise a change request if/when I wish to take this further.

Thank you
caleroific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 10:28   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Baikal
Posts: 453
Re: Barometer History Dashboard Display

Is there any movement in the direction of setting the time interval for reading the history of the barometer?

I would like to be able to customize the display of the history of the barometer with a given value per minute, hour, days
Baikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 16:14   #7
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: charleston
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 3,612
Re: Barometer History Dashboard Display

Quote:
Originally Posted by caleroific View Post
Sorr
Thank you for your explanation. I don't wish to speed up my source data because it will reduce the 8 hour display. Ideally I was looking for at least 24 hours.

For now I am happy to live with the constraints and will raise a change request if/when I wish to take this further.

Thank you
Did you try the plots plugin? It can plot barometer too, and it's possible to change the time scale to many values from 5 minutes to 60 days. My barometer is 1 reading per second, but the rate does not matter.
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 04:31   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Baikal
Posts: 453
Re: Barometer History Dashboard Display

Quote:
Originally Posted by boat_alexandra View Post
Did you try the plots plugin? It can plot barometer too, and it's possible to change the time scale to many values from 5 minutes to 60 days. My barometer is 1 reading per second, but the rate does not matter.
Sean, everything works well in your plugin! I would like the same thing in setting the display in time but for the dashboard. At least the basic functionality!
__________________

Baikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
history

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display Altitude in Dashboard or else nicotec OpenCPN 8 06-11-2016 11:46
Want To Buy: ST60 Wind Display/ST60 Close Haul Wind Display navyguy2837 Classifieds Archive 9 24-05-2016 04:18
Barometer display important? grjfield Monohull Sailboats 9 15-02-2016 15:53
Calibrating a Barometer ? bmiller General Sailing Forum 6 11-09-2009 21:30
barometer ratings patio Marine Electronics 2 25-05-2004 05:41

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:53.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.