Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-12-2021, 19:29   #1
Registered User
 
Ziggy's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S., Northeast
Boat: Currently boatless
Posts: 1,643
Images: 2
Add an existing waypoint to a route?

Is there a way to insert an existing waypoint into an existing route?
__________________
... He knows the chart is not the sea.
-- Philip Booth, Chart 1203
Ziggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2021, 00:43   #2
Registered User
 
StuM's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Port Moresby,Papua New Guinea
Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43 and OPBs
Posts: 12,891
Re: Add an existing waypoint to a route?

Create a new waypoint in the route close to the one you want to include.
Drag the new waypoint over the existing one.
You should see a box that says
"Replace this Routepoint by the nearby Waypoint?"
"Yes No Cancel"
StuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2021, 06:38   #3
Registered User
 
Ziggy's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S., Northeast
Boat: Currently boatless
Posts: 1,643
Images: 2
Re: Add an existing waypoint to a route?

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuM View Post
Create a new waypoint in the route close to the one you want to include.
Drag the new waypoint over the existing one.
You should see a box that says
"Replace this Routepoint by the nearby Waypoint?"
"Yes No Cancel"
That works when I'm creating a new route. However, when I insert a new waypoint into an existing route and drag it over another existing waypoint, I don't get the dialog box. Instead, I just end up with two waypoints on top of each other.

By the way, I'm still using 5.2.4--is it fixed in 5.2.6?
__________________
... He knows the chart is not the sea.
-- Philip Booth, Chart 1203
Ziggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2021, 08:15   #4
Registered User
 
sv_pelagia's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: British Columbia
Boat: Sceptre 41
Posts: 1,961
Re: Add an existing waypoint to a route?

On registered Android OpenCPN, inserting a new waypoint into existing route is simple.

Long Press on area of existing route you want to add waypoint, add it and edit, then move new wpt to where you want it to be.
sv_pelagia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2021, 10:32   #5
Registered User
 
Ziggy's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S., Northeast
Boat: Currently boatless
Posts: 1,643
Images: 2
Re: Add an existing waypoint to a route?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sv_pelagia View Post
On registered Android OpenCPN, inserting a new waypoint into existing route is simple.

Long Press on area of existing route you want to add waypoint, add it and edit, then move new wpt to where you want it to be.

It's just as simple on Windows to add a new waypoint, but I'm looking for a way to add an existing waypoint to an existing route.
__________________
... He knows the chart is not the sea.
-- Philip Booth, Chart 1203
Ziggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2021, 11:21   #6
Registered User
 
sv_pelagia's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: British Columbia
Boat: Sceptre 41
Posts: 1,961
Re: Add an existing waypoint to a route?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy View Post
It's just as simple on Windows to add a new waypoint, but I'm looking for a way to add an existing waypoint to an existing route.
Sorry about that mis-read.

I just tried and also couldn't figure it out (Windows or Android). Seems like a reasonable/useful function to add.

(FYI, I am able to do this reasonably easy on PC using GPSUtility.)
sv_pelagia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2021, 12:53   #7
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 4,796
Re: Add an existing waypoint to a route?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy View Post
It's just as simple on Windows to add a new waypoint, but I'm looking for a way to add an existing waypoint to an existing route.

Just try it:


in your existing route insert a way point in the leg near to the existing WP.
Drag that inserted new one to the reference WP. You will be prompted if the "nearby WP" shall be used....
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2021, 13:01   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 589
Re: Add an existing waypoint to a route?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcn View Post
Just try it:


in your existing route insert a way point in the leg near to the existing WP.
Drag that inserted new one to the reference WP. You will be prompted if the "nearby WP" shall be used....
Seems like been there, done that....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy View Post
That works when I'm creating a new route. However, when I insert a new waypoint into an existing route and drag it over another existing waypoint, I don't get the dialog box. Instead, I just end up with two waypoints on top of each other.

By the way, I'm still using 5.2.4--is it fixed in 5.2.6?
HeywoodJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2021, 13:09   #9
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 4,796
Re: Add an existing waypoint to a route?

Ours is 5.6.0 - the screenshots are from a Spanish macOS but shall be self explaining.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Captura de pantalla 2021-12-21 a las 22.03.18.png
Views:	45
Size:	35.1 KB
ID:	250093   Click image for larger version

Name:	Captura de pantalla 2021-12-21 a las 22.03.36.png
Views:	41
Size:	43.2 KB
ID:	250094  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Captura de pantalla 2021-12-21 a las 22.03.56.png
Views:	49
Size:	78.6 KB
ID:	250095   Click image for larger version

Name:	Captura de pantalla 2021-12-21 a las 22.04.15.png
Views:	41
Size:	136.4 KB
ID:	250096  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Captura de pantalla 2021-12-21 a las 22.04.27.png
Views:	44
Size:	55.9 KB
ID:	250097  
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2021, 13:58   #10
Registered User
 
Ziggy's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S., Northeast
Boat: Currently boatless
Posts: 1,643
Images: 2
Re: Add an existing waypoint to a route?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeywoodJ View Post
Seems like been there, done that....

Correct.


I'll update to 5.2.6 and try again. It certainly does not work in 5.2.4 on Windows.
__________________
... He knows the chart is not the sea.
-- Philip Booth, Chart 1203
Ziggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2021, 14:58   #11
Registered User
 
Ziggy's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S., Northeast
Boat: Currently boatless
Posts: 1,643
Images: 2
Re: Add an existing waypoint to a route?

I tried it in 5.6.0 and was able to add an existing waypoint withut a problem.


Thank you to all who responded and to the OpenCPN team!
__________________
... He knows the chart is not the sea.
-- Philip Booth, Chart 1203
Ziggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2021, 15:08   #12
Registered User
 
StuM's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Port Moresby,Papua New Guinea
Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43 and OPBs
Posts: 12,891
Re: Add an existing waypoint to a route?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy View Post
That works when I'm creating a new route. However, when I insert a new waypoint into an existing route and drag it over another existing waypoint, I don't get the dialog box. Instead, I just end up with two waypoints on top of each other.

By the way, I'm still using 5.2.4--is it fixed in 5.2.6?

It works for me in 5.6.0
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RoutePoint.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	52.1 KB
ID:	250104  
StuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
route

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
including existing WP into existing Route captainjim47 OpenCPN 1 10-05-2021 01:03
Existing Waypoint tolerance in Routing sailingjazz OpenCPN 0 29-11-2016 01:22
Insert existing waypoint into existing route? Beausoleil OpenCPN 16 17-06-2012 06:49
Route Planning Using Existing Waypoints edsailing OpenCPN 5 24-08-2011 02:38
Fugawi Route/Waypoint Question ssullivan Navigation 7 03-01-2007 12:27

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:34.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.