Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Challenges
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2014, 17:12   #1

Is this an unrealistic dream?

Hi everyone. Been part of the forum for a half a year. Been doing a lot of reading. My question is this.

I have zero sailing experience. However very smart and lots of wood working, engineering, and outdoor experience. I am 27 years old, healthy, no ties downs (house payment, car payment). Would it be reachable to learn to sail, get experience, build my own blue water cruiser, and sail to possibly Hawaii, South Pacific, maybe Alaska ?

I know it will take money and hard work, but reading everything. I feel like I won't get enough experience and such. My goal is to try and do this before I turn 40.

I have been a law enforcement officer for over 7 years. Be brutally honest please. Thanks everyone.

Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
AdamNSheana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 17:24   #2

Boat: yorktown custom 40' cutter
Re: Is this an unrealistic dream?

not unrealistic at all, get to work.

plenty of good boats out there already built though, youd save a bunch of money and probably time buying one of them and fixing it up. get into racing even if you don't care about racing. its a fast track sailing education and youll get an idea of what you want in your boat.
robwilk37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 17:30   #3

yes.

on the other hand, would it be possible to reply to a thread by just typing "yes."?

no. messages apparently need to be at least 5 characters.
elias1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 19:05   #4

Boat: 15 foot Canoe

Aloha and welcome aboard!
Your question has been asked by a gazillion people since I've joined in 2006. There are a lot of answers to your question but let me offer just a couple.