Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-01-2019, 13:16   #1

Fouling prevention

Newbie here,
I have a question and an idea I want to ask your opinions on.
First the question: Does fouling occur while sailing or mostly while docked.

Second my idea: Specifically for a catamaran, because of little no keel, if when I moored or docked it (stopped moving), I pulled a sheet of heavy polyethylene or other film under her to create a barrier, would that prevent fouling to a great extent. I don't gave my boat yet but I'm considering one like a 32' Iriquois.
Thank you for your help.
mfoh69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2019, 13:39   #2

Boat: Hunter Marine 38
Re: Fouling prevention

While not moving, docked or anchor. Creating a local batch of water around your boat is done. You will still have to kill off the critters in your local water batch.
sailormed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 16:15   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Wheeler Shipyard 83' ex USCG

In the 1960s I got a ride in a racing sailboat about 35', no cabin, just an open cockpit in its place. No engine. The boat and others like it were kept in slips lined with heavy plastic sheeting that dropped down on the end for entering and exiting. When re-entering, about a gallon of bleach was poured into the enclosed area and the bottoms stayed slick.
This was in the Oakland, CA inner harbor. I'd like to see someone try that now in California.

And it was a great ride. Fastest I ever went sailing. Most sailboats can give an illusion of speed, this one made speed. I don't remember the knotmeter ever being under 8 knots until we docked.
Lepke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 17:21   #4

Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar

Quote: