Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-01-2019, 10:11   #1

Flamingo of rye

Hi there, does any of you know how to tackle this one: I am planning to go for sailing courses and hopefully sail from Uk to France cross the channel twice this year (for now), problem is my wife doesn’t know how to swim, any of you know if non swimming people can enjoy sailing and what should I keep in mind before doing it?
Flamingo of rye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2019, 11:05   #2

Re: Flamingo of rye

In case you haven't noticed, the entire objective of good seamanship and good sailing is to NOT go swimming!

I have been sailing keelboats for 30 years. Never once have I, or anyone on any boat I was in charge of, ever gone swimming except by choice.

If she wears a lifejacket, she will be safer than anybody who CAN swim and eschews the safety gear.
billknny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2019, 11:12   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by billknny View Post
In case you haven't noticed, the entire objective of good seamanship and good sailing is to NOT go swimming!

I have been sailing keelboats for 30 years. Never once have I, or anyone on any boat I was in charge of, ever gone swimming except by choice.

If she wears a lifejacket, she will be safer than anybody who CAN swim and eschews the safety gear.

Fair point, never looked at it that way, always looked at it through my wife’s eyes: “I can’t even swim, how am I gonna sail, as nice as it is?” glad I asked this today. Thank you, hope all this can give her some confidence.
Old 21-01-2019, 11:56   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422

Have you thought about swimming lessons? My 2 1/2 year old granddaughter is taking lessons so I'll bet your wife could do it.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2019, 12:19   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipmac View Post