Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2021, 15:29   #1
Registered User
 
callistov42's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seabrook, Texas
Boat: Vagabond 42
Posts: 275
Why won't my Raymarine MFD connect to my marina internet!

I have a Raymarine C series MFD. one of the reasons I bought it was because I thought It could go to the internet and update charts. Every marina WiFi network I have ever tried results in a " cannot connect to the IGYXXX network". How do you get a Raymarine MFD to connect to a network?
callistov42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2021, 15:39   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 4,314
Re: Why won't my Raymarine MFD connect to my marina internet!

You can not update charts from any brand or model plotter. Only the plotter software itself
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2021, 15:44   #3
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 4,863
Re: Why won't my Raymarine MFD connect to my marina internet!

There are two possible reasons. Most likely the Wi-Fi has a guest portal logon page that the mfd cannot get past. Second, that unlikely possibility is that the mfd doesn't match the frequency of the marina Wi-Fi (2.4GHz vs 5GHz).
Reefmagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2021, 16:20   #4
Registered User
 
callistov42's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seabrook, Texas
Boat: Vagabond 42
Posts: 275
Re: Why won't my Raymarine MFD connect to my marina internet!

OK thanks. So I keep carrying these little cards with my chart updates between my home in Houston and my boat in Sint Maarten. Seems a little prehistoric. Might as well write them to a floppy disk!
callistov42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2021, 16:25   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 4,314
Re: Why won't my Raymarine MFD connect to my marina internet!

Quote:
Originally Posted by callistov42 View Post
OK thanks. So I keep carrying these little cards with my chart updates between my home in Houston and my boat in Sint Maarten. Seems a little prehistoric. Might as well write them to a floppy disk!
Bring a laptop to the boat... connect laptop to marina wifi.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2021, 16:35   #6
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 4,863
Re: Why won't my Raymarine MFD connect to my marina internet!

Quote:
Originally Posted by callistov42 View Post
OK thanks. So I keep carrying these little cards with my chart updates between my home in Houston and my boat in Sint Maarten. Seems a little prehistoric. Might as well write them to a floppy disk!

The usual solution is to hot spot your phone and connect via that if it is a case of not being able to get around a landing page.
Reefmagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2021, 16:59   #7
Registered User
 
capn_billl's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Naples, FL
Boat: Leopard Catamaran
Posts: 2,518
Re: Why won't my Raymarine MFD connect to my marina internet!

Or just download to an SD card, and plug into the MFD to update.

The easy way, that way you can verify download, download in parts, and the update is full proof.
capn_billl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2021, 10:13   #8
Registered User
 
OS2Dude's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Boat: Catalina 30
Posts: 560
Images: 5
Re: Why won't my Raymarine MFD connect to my marina internet!

Contact the marina's WiFi provider. Or marina's provider has a device that will attach to their network directly (No guest login page) and acts like a router for the boat. Our AppleTV, laptops and B&G Vulcan can all connect through this router to the internet.
OS2Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2021, 10:36   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Wherever we please, GOM
Boat: 46 ft cutter
Posts: 177
Re: Why won't my Raymarine MFD connect to my marina internet!

Quote:
Originally Posted by callistov42 View Post
OK thanks. So I keep carrying these little cards with my chart updates between my home in Houston and my boat in Sint Maarten. Seems a little prehistoric. Might as well write them to a floppy disk!
Yeah, those First World problems are a heavy cross to bear. Maybe hire a porter to carry the bag with the SD card.
PirateGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2021, 10:53   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Coast Florida
Boat: Chris Craft 38 Commander 1965
Posts: 478
Re: Why won't my Raymarine MFD connect to my marina internet!

My Garmin chartplotter updates software, routes, charts and community data all by Wi-Fi through its Active Captain App. but the MFDs Boat WI-FI is separate from the marinas or home dock Wi-Fi.
Internet connected Wi-Fi connects to phone or iPad to download the data to then be uploaded to the MFD via the boats Garmin Wi-Fi.

Data on the MFD can be shared over this boat WI-FI to other devices such as phones, iPads one marine devices that can log in to the Garmin Wi-Fi.

The MFD does not directly connect to the internet.
Squanderbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2021, 11:21   #11
Registered User
 
capn_billl's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Naples, FL
Boat: Leopard Catamaran
Posts: 2,518
Re: Why won't my Raymarine MFD connect to my marina internet!

I use the GLI router, it handles the marina login successfully with captive portal logon page, and echos internet to the rest of the boat.
capn_billl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2021, 13:22   #12
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Enkhuizen, NL
Boat: Pearson 36-1
Posts: 754
Send a message via Skype™ to George DuBose
Re: Why won't my Raymarine MFD connect to my marina internet!

I am not aware that Raymarine's "C" series of MFDs have WiFi capability. My C120 certainly didn't.

I could only update my charts by loading the new data onto a CF card connected to a computer and then transfer the data to the MFD with the updated card.

Also, I don't think it is possible to "copy" Navionics charts to anything but a dedicated CF card. Backing up Navionics charts is not possible.
George DuBose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 02:22   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Manly, Qld, Aust
Boat: Fusion 40
Posts: 174
Re: Why won't my Raymarine MFD connect to my marina internet!

There is a known issues with the WiFi format for the Raymarine plotters. You can google it but the technical detail is beyond me. Mine will connect sometimes and not others. Best result to copy updates to the MSD card.
jacktheflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 04:56   #14
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Enkhuizen, NL
Boat: Pearson 36-1
Posts: 754
Send a message via Skype™ to George DuBose
Re: Why won't my Raymarine MFD connect to my marina internet!

https://www.raymarine.com/view/index-id=6321.html#

Check that link for wifi possibility.

Evidently some Raymarine C series MFDs have wifi capability and some do not. My 2009 C120 does not have wifi capability, but my 2020 Element S 12 does.
George DuBose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
internet, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine MFD connect to the web callistov42 Marine Electronics 16 28-05-2019 05:19
GFI Shore Power - my boat wont connect!?!? malyea General Sailing Forum 10 17-04-2018 14:13
Interfacing existing RL70C MFD with c120 MFD Malco123 Marine Electronics 2 06-02-2018 10:07
Raymarine MFD and Raymarine AIS targets missing sf-robert Marine Electronics 6 24-10-2017 15:17
Raymarine C80 MFD Won't Read Cards Anymore Sailabel Navigation 0 27-11-2009 20:13

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:37.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.