Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2018, 08:16   #1

Boat: Pearson 28
VHF antenna

I have a Pearson 28 Sailboat. I need to replace the VHF antenna on the mast. Looking for some suggestions. Companies or actual models. I am a Ham radio operator and very familiar with the technical part so want to do it right. Also.. The cable will need to be replaced so was wondering if I should go with actual Marine Coax or can I get away with a good quality regular coax like I use with my home setup.
windcree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 08:23   #2

Re: VHF antenna

I have a Standard Horizon GX2360S radio that came with my Pearson 424. I just installed a new Shakespeare 5215 antenna on my main masthead. I'm happy with the performance.
Peregrine1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 11:02   #3

Boat: Trailerable cruising boat

Quote:
Originally Posted by windcree View Post
...should go with actual Marine Coax or can I get away with a good quality regular coax like I use with my home setup.
Since you provide no details about what sort of coaxial transmission line you use at your home for your amateur radio antenna, it is impossible to pass any sort of judgement on whether or not that transmission line will be suitable for use on your boat.

There really is no coaxial transmission line standard of "marine coax."

I recommend you use a non-contaminating outer jacket, a stranded center conductor, and a tinned braid shield.

Choose a cable size such that the total loss in the coaxial cable will not exceed 1-dB for the length of transmission line from antenna to transmitter. For a typical sailboat, that probably means an RG-213/U transmission line or something similar.