Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-08-2021, 17:55   #1
Registered User
 
capn_billl's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Naples, FL
Boat: Leopard Catamaran
Posts: 2,474
Using IP Camera with Raymarine Axium

I just bought an "ONVIF compatible" camera, I'm trying to interface with Axium 9 MFD.

I found one with 12 volt, POE, and it powers up, I can see it on a windows browser, but it won't connect to MFD.

The IP address assigned was 10.22.0.32 using the MFD's DHCP. I had to modify my computer IP to see it, but camera, and config shows up.

I turned off ONVIF authentication, and RTSP authentication, and set res to 720P.

I'm trying to download the latest lighthouse as Raymarine stated they fixed some camera bugs in ver 3.15, ( I have 3.11 from 5 months ago).

Has anyone used a 3rd party camera with Raymarine?
capn_billl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2021, 19:24   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 228
Re: Using IP Camera with Raymarine Axium

Quote:
Originally Posted by capn_billl View Post
I just bought an "ONVIF compatible" camera, I'm trying to interface with Axium 9 MFD.

I found one with 12 volt, POE, and it powers up, I can see it on a windows browser, but it won't connect to MFD.

The IP address assigned was 10.22.0.32 using the MFD's DHCP. I had to modify my computer IP to see it, but camera, and config shows up.

I turned off ONVIF authentication, and RTSP authentication, and set res to 720P.

I'm trying to download the latest lighthouse as Raymarine stated they fixed some camera bugs in ver 3.15, ( I have 3.11 from 5 months ago).

Has anyone used a 3rd party camera with Raymarine?



I have NOT done this specifically... But



ONVIF compatible does not mean ONVIF compliant. You may need RTSP on and use a full path / password but... you say its working as it should without it on a windows computer. Or are you saying you can access the camera's menu, not get the stream. Uncertain of what you are saying here.


Can you, with the MFD, set a static ip address instead of dynamic? I've found lots of IP cameras do not like dynamic IP address'. Finally, do you need to assign a listening port in the MFD? Most ip cameras require it.


Hope some of this helps. Makes you long for the days when a Bigger Hammer solved almost all issues.
EngineerRetired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2021, 20:48   #3
Registered User
 
capn_billl's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Naples, FL
Boat: Leopard Catamaran
Posts: 2,474
Re: Using IP Camera with Raymarine Axium

If I set the windows browser (chrome) to the camera ip, i see the stream. I can also access it's menu from windows. I don't know how to change the video settings in Raymarine MFD. I'm gonna have to call them.
capn_billl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2021, 05:27   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 228
Re: Using IP Camera with Raymarine Axium

Quote:
Originally Posted by capn_billl View Post
If I set the windows browser (chrome) to the camera ip, i see the stream. I can also access it's menu from windows. I don't know how to change the video settings in Raymarine MFD. I'm gonna have to call them.



If everything works for the PC then the issue pretty much has to be the MFD. Yeah, make that call.
EngineerRetired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2021, 15:18   #5
Registered User
 
capn_billl's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Naples, FL
Boat: Leopard Catamaran
Posts: 2,474
Re: Using IP Camera with Raymarine Axium

Raymarine was ZERO help. their suggestion was to buy a $1,500 Raymarine camera.
capn_billl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2022, 03:21   #6
Registered User
 
earthbm's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Corona Del Mar
Boat: Trimarans!
Posts: 243
Re: Using IP Camera with Raymarine Axium

Quote:
Originally Posted by capn_billl View Post
Raymarine was ZERO help. their suggestion was to buy a $1,500 Raymarine camera.


May I ask if you managed to resolve the issue?

What cable connection did you use to connect camera’s Ethernet port to your Axiom 9?
earthbm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2022, 08:58   #7
Registered User
 
capn_billl's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Naples, FL
Boat: Leopard Catamaran
Posts: 2,474
Re: Using IP Camera with Raymarine Axium

Raymarine makes an ethernet (rj-45) to Raymarine Canbus adapter.

I wasn't able to get a third party camera to work. The ONVIS standard has apparently changed, and Raymarine doesn't support the new standard.

I bricked a $150 security camera trying to hack the firmware to bypass the ONVIF password required. Can't get an answer from Chinese camera company on how to factory reset. No visible jumpers on circuit board.


So right now I'm stuck.

Raymarine sent me several software updates the latest has a bug where it randomly reboots on chart radar combo screen.
capn_billl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2022, 14:51   #8
Registered User
 
earthbm's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Corona Del Mar
Boat: Trimarans!
Posts: 243
Re: Using IP Camera with Raymarine Axium

Copy. This saves me a ton of time, thank you!

May go with a tablet/phone and something like this

https://montavue.com/products/4k-8mp...sion-mtt8113-v
earthbm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2022, 17:56   #9
Registered User
 
capn_billl's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Naples, FL
Boat: Leopard Catamaran
Posts: 2,474
Re: Using IP Camera with Raymarine Axium

Yeah, an ethernet to usb to a tablet, or a wifi camera will work.

As soon as I get the nerve to order another replacement for the one that now has non functioning firmware, that's the route I'm taking.
capn_billl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2022, 05:25   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Re: Using IP Camera with Raymarine Axium

It can absolutely be done. Here is a write up I did on the Meridian forum.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Boat Cam Project 3.pdf (1.07 MB, 57 views)
mjoplin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2022, 06:19   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 137
Re: Using IP Camera with Raymarine Axium

I just wanted to say thanks for that write up.
It takes time and effort to make something like that and share it.
two-rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
camera, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backup camera on Raymarine Axium 9 capn_billl Marine Electronics 6 24-03-2021 10:07

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:51.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.