Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-05-2008, 14:51   #1

Boat: Conser 47 Shearwater
ssb and 100 sq feet of copper

Hello
I would love to have opinions on the apparent debate between installing 100 sq ft of copper on the inside of the hull versus installing dynaplates and using much less copper plating.

Im new to SSB installation and am facing doing my first. This question has come up.

many thanks
david

I
dpollitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2008, 15:01   #2
Eternal Member

David,

Yes, the question is often debated and there are tons of posts on this subject...here, on the SSCA board, and on SailNet.

The now infamous "100 square feet of copper" has been rather thoroughly discredited by RF-savvy sailors, amateur radio operators, and some professional SSB installers (including me). After carrying out some real-world testing, Gordon West has written that the 100 sq ft isn't required; he suggests just connecting a wide copper strip from the tuner ground lug to the nearest bronze thru-hull. I agree that this is good practice -- and you ought to do this -- but I think you can further improve the RF ground system by adding radials, toerails, pushpit/pulpit/lifeline complex, radar arches, etc. to the radio ground system.

As it turns out, the 100 sq ft recommendation has just been repeated over and over in many texts and in manufacturer's literature, with little to support it, with no empirical testing, and with almost no discussion of alternative RF ground strategies.