Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-09-2021, 08:20   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Boat in Preveza Greece, awaiting our next trip, we are based Sunshine Coast Australia
Boat: Jeanneau SunFast 43
Posts: 66
Send a message via Skype™ to OzDean
Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 adapter

I have aging raymarine instruments ST290 wind, ST6001+ Autohelm and ST290 display for depth and speed. The display unit LCD has died. I can live without speed but I need depth. I can't find a replacement unit for the ST290 (part # E22057) and I am not ready to buy all new instruments yet. A friend has gifted me an ST60+ Tridata display which we thought would work but the plug for it is a 3 pin Seatalk whereas the plug for my ST290 display is 5 pin Seatalk 2. The adapters available seem to be all for Seatalk 2 to Seatalkng. Is there a simple adapter that will enable me to connect the ST60+
OzDean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2021, 10:53   #2
Registered User
 
AndyEss's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Sea of Cortez/northern Utah/ Wisconsin/ La Paz, BCS
Boat: Hans Christian 38 Mk II
Posts: 868
Images: 2
Re: Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 adapter

Click image for larger version

Name:	7D30E1BE-5436-44A4-AB89-8A5B64DB1D6A.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	388.5 KB
ID:	245928
AndyEss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2021, 11:01   #3
Registered User
 
AndyEss's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Sea of Cortez/northern Utah/ Wisconsin/ La Paz, BCS
Boat: Hans Christian 38 Mk II
Posts: 868
Images: 2
Re: Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 adapter

It looks to me that the only way to network your system is to get an appropriate RM MFD, a SeatalkNG to Seatalk1 adaptor and a Seatalk2-SeatalkNG adapter.
If you are handy with soldering, you can probably make your own Seatalk2-SeaTalkNG adspter.
Seatalk1 (NMEA0183) is incompatible with a direct connection to SeaTalk2 (NMEA2000, CANBus) without some sort of bus converter
AndyEss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2021, 02:59   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Boat in Preveza Greece, awaiting our next trip, we are based Sunshine Coast Australia
Boat: Jeanneau SunFast 43
Posts: 66
Send a message via Skype™ to OzDean
Re: Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 adapter

thanks Andy, I see why there is no easy adapter, different protocol, but maybe they can connect via a seatalkng
OzDean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2021, 03:41   #5
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lefkas Marina ,Greece
Boat: Bavaria 36
Posts: 16,044
Images: 3
Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 adapter

Couple of things here

Seatalk 2 was raymarines ď intermediate ď can bus solution , itís not fully nmea 2000 compatible and hence doesnít integrate well into SeatalkNG. Many PGNs are missing

Most St290 analog instruments , ie wind etc were actually 3 pin Seatalk (1)

The data processing unit on the ST290 system can convert to Seatalk nG

To be honest you are getting into a pig and poke place here. There is the E22158 ray marine Seatalk to Seatalk ng converter

Personally I wouldnít use anything with Seatalk 2 , itís a dead end.

Hence to connect Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 you go via Seatalk nG you need https://hudsonmarine.co.uk/products/...n-400mm-a06048 an adaptor cable and then the protocol converter E22158 plus a Seatalk 3 pin to ng adaptor cable ( A06073)

Basically all this wasted cost to make something that actually might not work

I wouldnít start from here

Basically Seatalk1 and then to Seatalk Ng directly is the way to go ( a ST70+ can also do this )
__________________
Interested in smart boat technology, networking and all things tech
goboatingnow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2021, 04:13   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Boat: Morgan 382
Posts: 465
Re: Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 adapter

Something like this *might* work:
https://www.yachtd.com/products/wifi_router.html
It will multiplex Seatalk1, NMEA2000, and NMEA0183. Bonus, you can then get it all on wifi to use a tablet or laptop.
The question is if Seatalk2 will work correctly connected to the NMEA2000 port.
__________________
-Warren
wholybee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2021, 04:47   #7
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 15,704
Images: 14
Re: Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 adapter

I would buy a second hand ST60 depth plus transducer to replace the ST290. Then you can have the tridata below if you want. More, it will talk to SeatalkNG as ours does showing wind, speed and depth on the latest RM chartplotter.

Pete
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2021, 04:56   #8
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lefkas Marina ,Greece
Boat: Bavaria 36
Posts: 16,044
Images: 3
Re: Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 adapter

Quote:
Originally Posted by wholybee View Post
Something like this *might* work:
https://www.yachtd.com/products/wifi_router.html
It will multiplex Seatalk1, NMEA2000, and NMEA0183. Bonus, you can then get it all on wifi to use a tablet or laptop.
The question is if Seatalk2 will work correctly connected to the NMEA2000 port.


With raymarine best results are obtained by not going outside ď the walled garden ď
__________________
Interested in smart boat technology, networking and all things tech
goboatingnow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2021, 04:57   #9
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lefkas Marina ,Greece
Boat: Bavaria 36
Posts: 16,044
Images: 3
Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 adapter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7 View Post
I would buy a second hand ST60 depth plus transducer to replace the ST290. Then you can have the tridata below if you want. More, it will talk to SeatalkNG as ours does showing wind, speed and depth on the latest RM chartplotter.

Pete


St60 is Seatalk(1) only

The best bet is a ST70 which will convert Seatalk (1) Seatalk 2 and Ng and display stuff to boot
__________________
Interested in smart boat technology, networking and all things tech
goboatingnow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2021, 05:09   #10
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 15,704
Images: 14
Re: Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 adapter

Quote:
Originally Posted by goboatingnow View Post
St60 is Seatalk(1) only

The best bet is a ST70 which will convert Seatalk (1) Seatalk 2 and Ng and display stuff to boot
I know ST60 is ST1, but it will talk to SeatalkNG with a simple adapter.

Note: he did say he wasn't ready for a full upgrade, hence staying away from ST70 and keeping both simple and cheap.

Pete
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2021, 06:01   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Boat in Preveza Greece, awaiting our next trip, we are based Sunshine Coast Australia
Boat: Jeanneau SunFast 43
Posts: 66
Send a message via Skype™ to OzDean
Re: Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 adapter

Thanks all for your comments and suggestions, yes I see the "pig and poke" is probably self defeating. I have discovered I can purchase a stand alone depth sounder from nasa marine with an in hull kit for a pretty reasonable price. That will do as a stop gap for me. It has been an interesting introduction to data protocols and systems for me. I am not a fan of any system that takes the "walled garden" approach. Cheers All, thanks again for your advice.
OzDean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2021, 06:57   #12
Marine Service Provider
 
Snore's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Boat: Tartan 33 and OPB
Posts: 3,218
Send a message via Skype™ to Snore
Re: Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 adapter

Raymarine makes a connection to bridge SeaTalk-1 to SeaTalkNG- it is an e22158.

Can be purchased new or used
__________________
"Whenever...it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from deliberately stepping into the street, and methodically knocking people's hats off- then, I account it high time to get to sea..." Ismael -a link to my delivery website is in my profileó
Snore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2021, 14:04   #13
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lefkas Marina ,Greece
Boat: Bavaria 36
Posts: 16,044
Images: 3
Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 adapter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7 View Post
I know ST60 is ST1, but it will talk to SeatalkNG with a simple adapter.

Note: he did say he wasn't ready for a full upgrade, hence staying away from ST70 and keeping both simple and cheap.

Pete


Itís a protocol adapter itís not ď simpleĒ, I know cause I have ST60 instruments bridged to my Seatalkng
__________________
Interested in smart boat technology, networking and all things tech
goboatingnow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2021, 14:16   #14
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 15,704
Images: 14
Re: Seatalk 1 to Seatalk 2 adapter

Quote:
Originally Posted by goboatingnow View Post
Itís a protocol adapter itís not ď simpleĒ, I know cause I have ST60 instruments bridged to my Seatalkng
Me too, so I can display my ST60 on RM Chart plotter. The simple is because it's pretty much plug and play, providing the power requirements are taken care of so that there is only one supply.
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
seatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine Seatalk-NG --> Seatalk --> QK-A027 yeahmag OpenCPN 3 09-02-2021 14:31
[SOLD] Raymarine ST600R Seatalk Autopilot Remote Control & SeaTalk Data Repeater jefndeb General Classifieds (no boats) 1 15-01-2020 07:49
SeaTalk NG, SeaTalk 1 -- No Date/Time Capt.Don Marine Electronics 13 04-10-2018 19:47
[SOLD] Seatalk 1 To Seatalk Ng Converter Kit E22158 Wench'sCaptain Classifieds Archive 1 27-10-2015 19:09
For Sale: Raymarine Seatalk to Seatalk_ng adapter Paul L Classifieds Archive 2 17-11-2012 08:14

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:04.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.