Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-09-2017, 11:43   #1
cruiser

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pangaea
Posts: 10,856
Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

I'm having a problem with one of our Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator displays. Watch the video and see that the indicator on the left spins around continuously, while the one on the right seems OK. The issue began three weeks ago, at first I thought a bird had caused it by landing on the windvane. So I climbed up the mast the other day, straightened out the tail, and now the problem continues. So it seems to be more electrical because the display on the right seems fine.

Any ideas or possible solutions will be greatly appreciated. What to do next?

__________________

Kenomac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2017, 15:49   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
jefndeb's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Boat: Oday 28
Posts: 359
Images: 4
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

I can't get the video to play....
__________________

jefndeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2017, 16:09   #3
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 13,142
Images: 14
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Video working for me. Suggest you isolate one of the displays and test the other with the instructions in the manual. You measure the voltages to check they are in range. Then swop and test the other also see if one will work okay. Whilst in there check the wiring is good. the other weak link is the junction if you have one at the base of the mast, again check the voltages for each coloured wire. There are 5 or 6 from memory.

Pete
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2017, 17:01   #4
cruiser

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 6,879
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Are you SURE the vane isn't spinning? Mine got split and it spun in certain wind speeds.
The VMG gauge might have less damping than the apparent/true gauge.
The apparent/true is vibrating, although not spinning.
I think both are reading what's actually happening from above, just different damping dialed into them.

BTW, I replaced the tailpiece/vane after trying various glues which didn't work for long.
It's an easy replacement with a single allen wrench fastener, and you can recalibrate the angle from the instrument in the cockpit afterward.
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2017, 22:42   #5
cruiser

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pangaea
Posts: 10,856
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

The vane isn't spinning which is the strange thing. Where can I find a replacement tail for the vane if I need to change it?
Kenomac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 01:28   #6
registered user
 
HankOnthewater's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Australia
Boat: plastic production yacht, suitable for deep blue water ;)
Posts: 610
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

My first goto solution is always faulty connections, like Peted7 said, at the base of the mast. My similar problems were solved by soldering all these connections, I have the same instruments.

However the 'close hauled' display (on the righthand side) is not spinning. From what I remember, is it correct that the closed hauled display gets its reading from the main wind display? If that is the case the display itself might be faulty. Try to find some display/sensors to swap around. This type of gear is plentiful, hehehe, maybe it is time to find a spare top-of-the-mast unit anyway.

Edit: second hand parts on Ebay or similar lists on other websites?

Edit#2: yes there are on Ebay, and here is link with troubleshooting and voltages
http://raymarine.ning.com/forum/topi...d-vane-problem
__________________
Wishing you all sunny skies above, clear water below, gentle winds behind and a safe port ahead,
and when coming this way check https://www.cruiserswiki.org/wiki/Albany,_Australia
HankOnthewater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 01:33   #7
cruiser

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pangaea
Posts: 10,856
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Thanks, I'll look into both options.
Kenomac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 02:57   #8
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 6,106
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenomac View Post
I'm having a problem with one of our Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator displays. Watch the video and see that the indicator on the left spins around continuously, while the one on the right seems OK. The issue began three weeks ago, at first I thought a bird had caused it by landing on the windvane. So I climbed up the mast the other day, straightened out the tail, and now the problem continues. So it seems to be more electrical because the display on the right seems fine.

Any ideas or possible solutions will be greatly appreciated. What to do next?

Try the factory reset procedure first. Involves pressing about a million button combos, but it sorts out all sorts of things.

AND, as it turns out, you don't need to climb the #($%$#%#$%# mast twice! (Don't ask me how I know this.)
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 03:04   #9
cruiser

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pangaea
Posts: 10,856
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Got it, will try today. Thanks
Kenomac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 03:48   #10
cruiser

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pangaea
Posts: 10,856
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

I've been pushing buttons for 30 minutes trying to reset to factory settings without success. Will try again later.
Kenomac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 03:57   #11
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 6,106
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Yeah, it's tricky. You have the sequence from the manual right? Because there is no way you'll stumble on it by luck.
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 04:09   #12
cruiser

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pangaea
Posts: 10,856
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Yeah, I've read, and re-read the manual and still can't seem to get it. Driving everyone nuts with the beeping, decided to give the neighbors a break.
Kenomac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 04:16   #13
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 26,561
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

The ST60 gauges are electro-mechanical and fairly delicate and fairly complicated. It's not surprising that they were very expensive back in their day, and it's amazing that they last as long as they do. But 15 years or whatever might just be the end of their lives. It might just be time for you to bring your electronics into the 21st century.
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 04:22   #14
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 6,106
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Hey, steady on! Don't diss the ST60+. I love that thing.
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 04:25   #15
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 26,561
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by GILow View Post
Hey, steady on! Don't diss the ST60+. I love that thing.
Not dissing it. It's just OLD. I sold mine for surprisingly good money, to someone who was having exactly the same problem as Ken.

I had two of them -- master wind instrument, and slave close hauled wind. Got a couple hundred euros for each, when I sold them a few years ago.
__________________

__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raytheon, wind

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want To Buy: ST60 Wind Display/ST60 Close Haul Wind Display navyguy2837 Classifieds Archive 9 24-05-2016 04:18
Want To Buy: Raymarine ST60+ Suncover; and ST60+ Wind antoha Classifieds Archive 7 04-10-2015 18:46
Raymarine ST60 wind direction indicator GILow Marine Electronics 9 21-02-2015 20:00
[SOLD] Davis Wind Wizard Wind Speed Indicator SailorHarry Classifieds Archive 0 21-12-2013 11:24
For Sale: Raymarine ST60+ Rudder Angle Indicator Instrument NahanniV Classifieds Archive 1 24-03-2013 06:53

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.