Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2017, 04:25   #16
Registered User
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: On the boat, somewhere in Australia.
Boat: Swanson 42 & Kelly Peterson 44
Posts: 8,170
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenomac View Post
Yeah, I've read, and re-read the manual and still can't seem to get it. Driving everyone nuts with the beeping, decided to give the neighbors a break.


I remember it being tricky but worth persevering. I had a very similar fault with mine and the factory reset fixed it. The bad news is that the fault comes back on mine once or twice a year. I just reset it again but clearly something in the unit is kaput. I looked for, but could not find, an onboard battery of some sort because it feels like the head unit is losing its memory.
__________________
Refitting… again.
GILow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 04:27   #17
Registered User
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: On the boat, somewhere in Australia.
Boat: Swanson 42 & Kelly Peterson 44
Posts: 8,170
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
Not dissing it. It's just OLD. I sold mine for surprisingly good money, to someone who was having exactly the same problem as Ken.



I had two of them -- master wind instrument, and slave close hauled wind. Got a couple hundred euros for each, when I sold them a few years ago.


Yeah, they are getting old but I'll nurse mine to the bitter end because they ain't cheap to replace.
__________________
Refitting… again.
GILow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 04:28   #18
Registered User
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: On the boat, somewhere in Australia.
Boat: Swanson 42 & Kelly Peterson 44
Posts: 8,170
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Kenomac, I am going down to the boat tomorrow. I'll run the reset again to refresh my memory. I think there is an ambiguous bit in the manual. I think I made my own notes.
__________________
Refitting… again.
GILow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 09:32   #19
Registered User
 
senormechanico's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 6,955
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenomac View Post
The vane isn't spinning which is the strange thing. Where can I find a replacement tail for the vane if I need to change it?
About a year ago, I found a replacement tail and cups on eBay for about $40.
Nothing there now though.
__________________
There are now only two groups. Those who can’t unsee and those who won’t look. All it takes is a tiny peek and the latter becomes the former.
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 10:06   #20
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 16,280
Images: 14
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Ken, the the reset and the voltages all check out then this might be of interest.

Raymarine ST60+ Wind | eBay

Or

RAYMARINE WIND VANE AND CUPS | eBay

Raymarine Autohelm ST60,ST60+,ST70,ST290 Wind Vane Service Kit A28167 windvane | eBay
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 10:14   #21
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 16,280
Images: 14
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by GILow View Post
Yeah, they are getting old but I'll nurse mine to the bitter end because they ain't cheap to replace.
I have only just upgraded to ST60s
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 11:02   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: nyc/chesapeake
Boat: gozzard 44
Posts: 319
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

The same thing happened to me recently. Checked all of the above suggestions to no avail. The needle continually spins around and any calibration doesn’t last long.

I checked eBay where I found a couple for $300.
I found this fellow online who’ll send you a refurbished one for about $250.
It works fine now.
Dan said the chip in the display head was defective. Since your masthead unit drives the other display fine it’s likely the display.

C250@mydurango.net

Good luck,
Ronbo
ronbo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 19:38   #23
Registered User
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: On the boat, somewhere in Australia.
Boat: Swanson 42 & Kelly Peterson 44
Posts: 8,170
Re: Raytheon ST60 Wind Indicator Display Problem

Kenomac, it may be too late now, but here's a video of me resetting the ST60+ and a photo of the procedure I use.

FWIW, you'll notice that 12 seconds is a long time to wait for the DLR code to appear, particularly when there are a few seductive beeps before it appears that will temp you to let go.

You'll also notice that it takes me two tries to get to the UC1 screen using VMG + TACK. I seem to remember this being a consistent issue.

Please excuse the fingernails, I've been working below the waterline today, cleaning the log sender that I forgot to remove after the last sail.

https://youtu.be/s5GXuQ1_4XI
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ST60 Reset.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	417.2 KB
ID:	157136  
__________________
Refitting… again.
GILow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raytheon, wind

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want To Buy: ST60 Wind Display/ST60 Close Haul Wind Display navyguy2837 Classifieds Archive 9 24-05-2016 04:18
Want To Buy: Raymarine ST60+ Suncover; and ST60+ Wind antoha Classifieds Archive 7 04-10-2015 18:46
Raymarine ST60 wind direction indicator GILow Marine Electronics 9 21-02-2015 20:00
[SOLD] Davis Wind Wizard Wind Speed Indicator SailorHarry Classifieds Archive 0 21-12-2013 11:24
For Sale: Raymarine ST60+ Rudder Angle Indicator Instrument NahanniV Classifieds Archive 1 24-03-2013 06:53

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:49.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.