Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-08-2020, 15:46   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Islander 30
Posts: 23
Raytheon Marine ST2000+ not working

I just took a trip to Catalina and the ST2000+ autohelm suddenly stopped working. Every now and then it will function properly, but the majority of the time It just wonít catch and wonít push/pull. I took the casing off so I could see what was happening and it looks like the motor just isnít functioning. I get a grinding sound but the shaft isnít moving at all. I donít know much about electronic repair, but does this sound like a fix I can do myself? It is repairable? What would that repair look like?

Thanks for any help,
Brandt
brandtj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2020, 16:00   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Vancouver B.C.Canada
Boat: Century Raven 17'
Posts: 427
Images: 1
Send a message via MSN to BugzyCan
Re: Raytheon Marine ST2000+ not working

I bought a used one from a nice fellow on here, and it didn't work, although he said it worked fine for him years ago, when I opened it up, the motor was rusted solid, and the electronic panel had obvious water damage, that apparently sneaks in through the buttons on the top.
I bought a new motor for about $100, which allowed the piston to move out/in, but the electronic panel had no display, so I sent it to a repair place and they swapped out the display chip for $150, but that did not fix it. When I plugged it in after the "repair", the unit started smoking and a few of the chips melted. I ended up with an expensive box with a new motor inside. The original seller did give me my money back, but I was still out of pocket about $250.

I bought a new ST2000+, and this one I keep inside a plastic bag all the time, especially when out at sea.
The parts inside are super easy to swap out, don't be afraid to try swapping out your motor if you think that is it, but I would pull out the circuit board and have a close look, it may be similar to mine. You may also want to confirm it is not an electrical issue, the connector can build up rust inside and affect it, or you may have a loose wire someplace.

The board can be purchased separately, but it costs about 3/4 the cost of a new unit, so not worth it IMO.
I actually have a second new ST2000+ sitting across the border that I cannot retrieve until they open the border again, but that may not be for a long time the way things are going so far in USA.
If you think you need a motor, I could sell you the new one I bought for $50.
BugzyCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2020, 08:38   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Islander 30
Posts: 23
Re: Raytheon Marine ST2000+ not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by BugzyCan View Post
I bought a used one from a nice fellow on here, and it didn't work, although he said it worked fine for him years ago, when I opened it up, the motor was rusted solid, and the electronic panel had obvious water damage, that apparently sneaks in through the buttons on the top.
I bought a new motor for about $100, which allowed the piston to move out/in, but the electronic panel had no display, so I sent it to a repair place and they swapped out the display chip for $150, but that did not fix it. When I plugged it in after the "repair", the unit started smoking and a few of the chips melted. I ended up with an expensive box with a new motor inside. The original seller did give me my money back, but I was still out of pocket about $250.

I bought a new ST2000+, and this one I keep inside a plastic bag all the time, especially when out at sea.
The parts inside are super easy to swap out, don't be afraid to try swapping out your motor if you think that is it, but I would pull out the circuit board and have a close look, it may be similar to mine. You may also want to confirm it is not an electrical issue, the connector can build up rust inside and affect it, or you may have a loose wire someplace.

The board can be purchased separately, but it costs about 3/4 the cost of a new unit, so not worth it IMO.
I actually have a second new ST2000+ sitting across the border that I cannot retrieve until they open the border again, but that may not be for a long time the way things are going so far in USA.
If you think you need a motor, I could sell you the new one I bought for $50.
thank you for the info.

Is there any way I could send a video of the problem? If you have replacement parts Iíd like to buy them off you, just want to try to make sure I buy the correct parts.
brandtj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2020, 11:03   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Vancouver B.C.Canada
Boat: Century Raven 17'
Posts: 427
Images: 1
Send a message via MSN to BugzyCan
Re: Raytheon Marine ST2000+ not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandtj View Post
thank you for the info.

Is there any way I could send a video of the problem? If you have replacement parts Iíd like to buy them off you, just want to try to make sure I buy the correct parts.

You could post it on youtube and send me a link if that would work for you. Or someplace else that is free. If the video is short you could email it to me too. I think email has a max 5mb limit. Another option would be to put it on OneDrive and then share it with me.
BugzyCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2020, 20:42   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Islander 30
Posts: 23
Re: Raytheon Marine ST2000+ not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by BugzyCan View Post
You could post it on youtube and send me a link if that would work for you. Or someplace else that is free. If the video is short you could email it to me too. I think email has a max 5mb limit. Another option would be to put it on OneDrive and then share it with me.
Ok I just uploaded it to YouTube. LCD works, buttons work, sound works, but it just won’t crank which leads me to believe it’s the motor. Let me know what you think: https://youtu.be/uEdWGsQ9DtA

Thanks
brandtj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2020, 06:16   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Vancouver B.C.Canada
Boat: Century Raven 17'
Posts: 427
Images: 1
Send a message via MSN to BugzyCan
Re: Raytheon Marine ST2000+ not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandtj View Post
Ok I just uploaded it to YouTube. LCD works, buttons work, sound works, but it just wonít crank which leads me to believe itís the motor. Let me know what you think: https://youtu.be/uEdWGsQ9DtA

Thanks

On the end of the motor is a small gear that mates with the gear inside. I think there is a small pin holding that gear on. From your video, it sounds as though that gear may have come loose. Try taking the motor out and see if that gear is attached securely to the motor shaft. Maybe it just needs a new pin. It does sound like the motor is working, it just isn't always turning the assembly.
While you have it apart, take the gears out and lubricate everything in there, and check the belts, maybe one of them is stretched. You can replace all of the belts, they are not too expensive.
The good news is, this doesn't look to me like an issue with the main board.
BugzyCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raytheon, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Raytheon Autopilot Tiller ST2000+ Bluegill88 General Classifieds (no boats) 4 08-08-2017 15:00
For Sale: Ray Marine ST2000+ Auto pilot dofthesea Classifieds Archive 6 24-04-2013 16:20
Free: Huge Old (Working) R20 Rasterscan Radar (Raytheon) pressuredrop Classifieds Archive 1 13-04-2011 05:51
Raymarine ST2000+ Tiller Pilot Question Opie91 Marine Electronics 9 30-04-2010 02:40
Raymarine ST2000 Plus Tiller Pilot Triton318 Classifieds Archive 0 13-01-2008 10:27

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:07.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.