Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-06-2024, 08:05   #1
Registered User
 
Connemara's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Boat: Mirage 27 in Toronto; Wright 10 in Auckland
Posts: 773
Images: 2
Raymarine i70 question.

Hello all: I have the Raymarine i70 multi instrument display, which I mainly use for wind info. But it also displays boat speed on manyof the screens. Trouble is that the speeds on most of the screens are about a knot lower than my Garmin handheld shows. BUT one of the screens agrees with the Garmin.

Why? I can only assume that one of the inputs is from a GPS (perhaps in my chartplotter) and the others are from a paddle wheel. How do i change inputs or are they fixed for each screen choice?


Connemara
Connemara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2024, 08:17   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Virginia, USA
Boat: Hunter 340
Posts: 1,260
Re: Raymarine i70 question.

Yes SOG and STW are two different things. They will never be identical because they are measuring different things. That being said if STW is a knot lower in no current then it likely needs to be calibrated. The process for doing that varies by model.
Statistical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2024, 09:15   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
JSSailem's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Salem, OR
Boat: CAL, 35 Cruiser, 35 ft
Posts: 123
Re: Raymarine i70 question.

The question of SOG and STW were clearly defined in message #2...

Regarding the different screen data, you do not need to change the inputs, like on a TV just dial the channel you want to see.

Both SOG and STW are helpful inputs to your sailing.
JSSailem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2024, 10:37   #4
Registered User
 
Connemara's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Boat: Mirage 27 in Toronto; Wright 10 in Auckland
Posts: 773
Images: 2
Re: Raymarine i70 question.

Thanks both. I am aware of the differences but I sail on Lake Ontario, which has almost no tide and few currents. So, in general, STW is not of great importance to me.

But the question was: can the input source be changed? For instance, on one of my screens, which I use a lot, I have a graphical view of apparent wind speed and angle, as well as boat speed (probably STW, since if differs from my handheld). I would prefer to have SOG on that screen.

The manual is little help.

Connemara
Connemara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2024, 13:34   #5
Registered User
 
Hartleyg's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Atlantic Ocean
Boat: Tayana 48DS 48'
Posts: 349
Images: 8
Re: Raymarine i70 question.

To change a screen, press "Menu" > "Quick Options" > "Edit Page". [move the selection down to "Edit Page by using the down arrow key]
Once you are there, you can select the quantity you want to change with the down/up arrow keys then his "Select". Now scroll through the selections to find what you want and then scroll to the green checkmark in the lower right. Hit "Save" and you will be looking at what you selected. Note that "Back" is available with the lower right button.
Note that you will get useful data ONLY for those things that are actually present on your N2K network!



Messed it up? -Just go back and try again - you won't damage anything


Hartley
S/V Atsa
Hartleyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2024, 23:27   #6
Registered User
 
fxykty's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Indonesia
Boat: Outremer 55L
Posts: 3,936
Re: Raymarine i70 question.

What Hartleyg wrote - very easy to swap in SOG anywhere the default pages have STW. If you donít want to mess with the default pages and the data they show, just copy a page and change that one.

Note, STW shows your speed in a straight line, while in the absence of current SOG shows your speed including leeway. That could be an interesting difference? Thereís even more benefit to viewing heading and COG to graphically see your leeway.
fxykty is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine i60 or i70 Apparent Wind Question ZDog Marine Electronics 4 20-02-2015 10:41
Anti-glare coating on Raymarine i70 coming off teneicm Marine Electronics 0 19-05-2014 10:40
Raymarine instrument configuration - i70 and transducers gloreg Marine Electronics 5 15-04-2014 16:21
Raymarine i70 and p70 Meriachee Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 4 27-10-2013 08:49
Raymarine i70 Display mikefossl Marine Electronics 0 20-03-2013 01:16

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:55.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.