Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-03-2023, 12:36   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cornwall, UK
Boat: Bowman 57 - 17.4mtrs
Posts: 9
Raymarine Ethernet Cables - What to buy

Hi All

I have a (new to me; we are upgrading from RL70c's) E120 Classic & E80 that I'm trying to connect via the ethernet switch.

I have one ethernet cable that seems to work when I plug it in on each device to the switch; both lights light up. And I bought another ethernet cable and connected that.

However, the 'master' E120 with the first cable (Patch Cord Cat5 E87647 written on it) goes to the switch, and the second ethernet cable then goes to the E80. The second cable provides no lights, and the E80 can't 'see' anything.

Do any of you know what type of ethernet cable I need to purchase?

I'm assuming I need a Cat5e Patch Cable? I'm hoping this cable will work?
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...04JH1VQI&psc=1
Sailormatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2023, 13:45   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Long Island, NY
Boat: 2014 Leopard 39
Posts: 37
Re: Raymarine Ethernet Cables - What to buy

Logically, it would appear that Cat5e cables and switches could be used to connect devices, but, Raymarine has tweaked their devices such that you need to use Raymarine branded cables and switches. There is a long history of users online complaining about this.

From Raymarine support site

- SeaTalkhs cables, NOT generic Cat5e or custom constructed Cat5e, must be used to interface SeaTalkhs devices

More info here on resolving connectivity issues between E series MFDs

https://forum.raymarine.com/showthread.php?tid=218

Good luck with your install.
Hobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2023, 14:55   #3
Registered User
 
AKA-None's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Lake City MN
Boat: C&C 27 Mk III
Posts: 2,455
Re: Raymarine Ethernet Cables - What to buy

I wonder if they use simple cross over wiring?
__________________
Special knowledge can be a terrible disadvantage if it leads you too far along a path that you cannot explain anymore.
Frank Herbert 'Dune'
AKA-None is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2023, 15:33   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sozopol
Boat: Riva 48
Posts: 1,346
Re: Raymarine Ethernet Cables - What to buy

The older E-Series need a Cat5 cable with a grounded metal shield/connector that touches something inside the MFD and confirms the connection. The switch side does not need to be metal as most switches are plastic anyway but it is still a good idea to connect the shields of different cables. You can cut and cross over the cables, you do not need a coupler. A good/cheap installation would be one Raymarine cable, cut it in half, connect one half with the metal connector to the E120, the other half to the E80, then use any Cat5 cable to splice and cross over, going to the switch. You can use any switch or a wifi router but a switch is simpler. Most newer switches are auto sensing, so you do not need to do the cross over.

The E90 Wide and later are auto sensing but you still need the Raymarine cable with the round connector to establish a secure connection. By the way, it is the same for radar and sonar cables. Ethernet cables are easy to splice but you have to use the Raymarine cables on the device side.
Pizzazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2023, 00:29   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cornwall, UK
Boat: Bowman 57 - 17.4mtrs
Posts: 9
Re: Raymarine Ethernet Cables - What to buy

Thanks all,

Super helpful!

I've just ordered a 12v switch to replace the Raymarine switch and this new unit has auto-sensing.

With regard to the grounded metal shield Cat5 cables, do you know what these are called to easily identify them when searching the internet? Or is it ultimately cheaper to buy the Raymarine cables?
Sailormatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2023, 09:58   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Victoria BC
Boat: Rafiki 37
Posts: 1,349
Re: Raymarine Ethernet Cables - What to buy

Thanks for this thread, I am about to do something similar (connect my RM radar and MFD to a wireless switch)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailormatt View Post
Thanks all,

Super helpful!

I've just ordered a 12v switch to replace the Raymarine switch and this new unit has auto-sensing.

With regard to the grounded metal shield Cat5 cables, do you know what these are called to easily identify them when searching the internet? Or is it ultimately cheaper to buy the Raymarine cables?
Not sure what it's called but it's rarely cheaper to buy RM stuff, hah
__________________
www.saildivefish.ca
alctel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cables, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want To Buy: WTB (want to buy) Furuno FAX-30 Ethernet cable keelsidedown Classifieds Archive 0 12-02-2016 22:41
For Sale: Raymarine SR6 Sirius Marine Weather Radio and Ethernet Switch Bill S Classifieds Archive 4 20-10-2014 00:56
How to get GPS data from Delormo LT-20 GPS and Raymarine (ethernet) on my desktop? velero OpenCPN 1 29-03-2011 13:36

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.