Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-07-2021, 18:44   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 183
Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

My 8 year old RM e7D has lost its GPS and the touch screen is becoming more unresponsive. And having replaced the whole unit 3 times over its life I don’t want to trust RM service to fix it.

So I will buy an Axiom+ or Axiom Pro to replace it.

Anybody have either of these Axiom units in service?

It seems the Axiom+ is a newer design advertising a brighter screen but I am concerned about being wholly dependent on its touchscreen-only design, unlike the Axiom Pro that is hybrid touch like the old e7.

Many times the hybrid touch rotary wheel has been the only way to use the e7 when the touch screen became unresponsive.

Any thoughts or direct experience with either models?

thanks.
Journeyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 18:53   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Clear Lake Shores, TX
Boat: 2000 Catalina 470 #058
Posts: 490
Re: Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

Get the hybrid
__________________
Sailing a Catalina 470; Working hard
GreenWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 19:20   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Boat: Columbia 50
Posts: 512
Re: Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

The pro is substantially more expensive than the regular axiom. The screen is supposedly much better at angles (forget the name of the technology right now...optically bonded ornsomething like that)

Anyway, RM makes a separate keypad with all the trimming that come on the pro and e7, mounts independantly, for a few hundred. I think the axiom plus and one of them will do me just fine when my e7 goes.

https://www.hodgesmarine.com/raya804...AaAlVPEALw_wcB

Matt
mlydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 19:28   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 74
Re: Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

I swapped out my e128's for the Pro's 2 years ago. They've been great and the rotary wheel hasn't been used helm or nav station. I may swap the Helm unit for the Axiom+ just for the better display. What I do not like about either unit is no HDMI input.
ixnax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 19:35   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,677
Re: Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by ixnax View Post
I swapped out my e128's for the Pro's 2 years ago. They've been great and the rotary wheel hasn't been used helm or nav station. I may swap the Helm unit for the Axiom+ just for the better display. What I do not like about either unit is no HDMI input.
I have never seen an MFD with an HDMI input. they only have HDMI outputs.

the pro has nmea 183 which if you are replacing an older already intragrated screen may help. though I'm not sure about the pluses. the reg axiom does not.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 19:57   #6
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 74
Re: Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
I have never seen an MFD with an HDMI input. they only have HDMI outputs.

the pro has nmea 183 which if you are replacing an older already intragrated screen may help. though I'm not sure about the pluses. the reg axiom does not.
Could be. However I seem to remember the e128's had HDMI in.
ixnax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 20:15   #7
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 74
Re: Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
I have never seen an MFD with an HDMI input. they only have HDMI outputs.

the pro has nmea 183 which if you are replacing an older already intragrated screen may help. though I'm not sure about the pluses. the reg axiom does not.
So..... and conceding in advance I know less than Sergeant Schulz, if you had an HDMI output you wanted to get into the current Raymarine stuff without signal degradation how would you do it? I'm asking for a friend.
ixnax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 22:25   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 183
Re: Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlydon View Post
The pro is substantially more expensive than the regular axiom. The screen is supposedly much better at angles (forget the name of the technology right now...optically bonded ornsomething like that)

Anyway, RM makes a separate keypad with all the trimming that come on the pro and e7, mounts independantly, for a few hundred. I think the axiom plus and one of them will do me just fine when my e7 goes.

https://www.hodgesmarine.com/raya804...AaAlVPEALw_wcB

Matt
Thanks, I’ll get the Axiom+ and that remote.

BTW I was disappointed by the poor resolution on an iPad Pro when using RayControl to repeat the e7 image. It actually looks worst on the large iPad Pro screen than my much smaller and older iPad. I guess thats because the Wi-Fi repeated image is no better than the pixel res of the small e7 screen?

I wonder if any RM MFD can take advantage of the high res iPad Pro screen over Wi-Fi?
Journeyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2021, 03:34   #9
Registered User
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 9,053
Re: Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
I have never seen an MFD with an HDMI input. they only have HDMI outputs.



the pro has nmea 183 which if you are replacing an older already intragrated screen may help. though I'm not sure about the pluses. the reg axiom does not.


Lots of the Garmin units have hdmi input for cameras, Vessel monitoring systems, etc.
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2021, 08:19   #10
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 15,114
Images: 3
Re: Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

These days you’d use IP cameras anyway
__________________
Interested in smart boat technology, networking and all things tech
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2021, 10:19   #11
Registered User
 
MartinR's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Boat: 73´ULDB custom ketch
Posts: 1,040
Re: Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

I bought an Axiom earlier this year to have at the helm as we are in the Swedish archipelago this year. . While it is working OK, I am not impressed by it. The screen is not overly bright, but just about easily sunlight readable. Brighter would be better.

What I really do not like is the non-intuitive operating system, Lighthouse 3. All the function are there - somewhere, without much logic to it. Settings menus, data fields, overlays, everything is non-coherent. Garmin is miles ahead here. OK, you learn it after a while. N2K integration works fine.

Anyhow, the unit was fairly cheap and it does what it is supposed to do., And I have a Rpi with a 15" display and OpenCpn in the Nav station.
MartinR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2021, 11:29   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Southport, NC
Boat: Pearson 367 cutter, 36'
Posts: 571
Re: Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

I have the Axiom 9 touchscreen only. I've had no issues with operating it in the rain. But I also have a back-up chart plotter (cheap Garmin) at the nav station below, and Navionics on an iPad. So I have choices, which is an approach I recommend.
AJ_n_Audrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2021, 14:39   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: LI, NY,USA
Boat: 2010 Jeanneau SO 44i
Posts: 222
Re: Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

I swapped out my old unit with a very glitchy touch screen for an Axiom Pro 9s though the RM service/repair center in Mass, they gave me a discount of about 700$ because it was a mechanical/infrastructure failure in the RM product.
Like to use the “wheel” off shore when the sea state and wind are making finger manipulation of the touch screen challenging.
As stated by others The Raymarine lighthouse 3 operating programs and screens are definitely not intuitive like what you would expect but all the RM products on my vessel would cost a lot to replace and then what to shift to?

Good luck with the choice you make, cheers.
Kd9truck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2021, 15:53   #14
Registered User
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 9,053
Re: Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kd9truck View Post
As stated by others The Raymarine lighthouse 3 operating programs and screens are definitely not intuitive like what you would expect but all the RM products on my vessel would cost a lot to replace and then what to shift to?
.

See, I find it just the opposite. For me the RM Lighthouse three menu system is very intuitive
The Garmin system gives me fits.
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2021, 16:22   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 18
Re: Raymarine Axiom vs Axiom Pro

I have a pair of the Raymarine Axiom 9 RV's and wish I had spent more for the Pro. Most importantly, the RV has a single Navionics card slot on the back of the unit (which for most of us, is in a pod type mount). The Pro has 2 card slots on the front.
Terry and Melissa
sv Privateer III
TNRivers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RayMarine Axiom Pro LightHouse v. 3.10 B4A Marine Electronics 6 23-07-2019 02:39
Raymarine Axiom Pro tracks export issue B4A Marine Electronics 3 31-05-2019 15:12
Axiom UAV (Drone) Integration for Raymarine Axiom IslandHopper Marine Electronics 1 24-04-2019 21:58
For Sale: RAYMARINE AXIOM PRO 12 RVX oldbld General Classifieds (no boats) 7 09-03-2019 19:03
Raymarine Axiom Pro 9" GPS signal sometimes lost BigAl.NZ Marine Electronics 2 07-06-2018 02:44

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:36.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.