Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-10-2021, 10:43   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3
Raymarine AIS 700 install

I am struggling to install an IAS 700. I have changed my MMSI number on my VHF and has ordered the IAS 700 with the same IAS number. What I have is E120 Chart Plotters. Master up and slave at the nav station. I know that I have to use the NMEA 0183 on the chart plotter, however that is already used to connect to my SIMRAD Autopilot. I have a hard wired connection on the NMEA cable between the cart plotter and the autopilot. The colors are green, white, brown and yellow. The AIS 700 has 8 wires. Hi in-, Hi in +, Hi out -,Hi out +, Lo in-. Lo in+, Lo out -, Lo out+. How do I connect these without damaging the communication between the Chart plotter and the SIMRAD auto pilot? Do I need NMEA Multiplexer. If I do what kind. Do I need to hook up both the low and the high.
Please help me with this.
ChristianS. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2021, 21:08   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
bstreep's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX/Port Aransas, TX
Boat: 1990 Macintosh 47, "Merlin"
Posts: 2,639
Re: Raymarine AIS 700 install

I'd email Raymarine. They have been VERY responsive for us.
__________________
Bill Streep
San Antonio/Port Aransas, TX
bstreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2021, 23:27   #3
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lefkas Marina ,Greece
Boat: Bavaria 36
Posts: 16,712
Images: 3
Raymarine AIS 700 install

The e120 supports Seatalkng. Why not use that otherwise you need a spare NMEA 0183 input on the E series. Failing that a NMEA 0183 multiplexor


Make sure the E is running the latest software
__________________
Interested in smart boat technology, networking and all things tech
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2021, 12:38   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
bstreep's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX/Port Aransas, TX
Boat: 1990 Macintosh 47, "Merlin"
Posts: 2,639
Re: Raymarine AIS 700 install

I don't think the E120 supports ng. It supports Seatalk 2. But you could get a Seatalk2 to Seatalkng cable from RM.
__________________
Bill Streep
San Antonio/Port Aransas, TX
bstreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2021, 13:32   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: SE USA
Boat: Hunter 38
Posts: 751
Re: Raymarine AIS 700 install

Quote:
Originally Posted by bstreep View Post
I don't think the E120 supports ng. It supports Seatalk 2. But you could get a Seatalk2 to Seatalkng cable from RM.
That's the way to go.

https://forum.raymarine.com/showthread.php?tid=356
flightlead404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2021, 13:43   #6
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lefkas Marina ,Greece
Boat: Bavaria 36
Posts: 16,712
Images: 3
Re: Raymarine AIS 700 install

Quote:
Originally Posted by bstreep View Post
I don't think the E120 supports ng. It supports Seatalk 2. But you could get a Seatalk2 to Seatalkng cable from RM.

SeaTalk2 is an enhanced replacement for SeaTalk and is a proprietary extension to NMEA 2000 and the proven CAN bus technology. It enables other Raymarine SeaTalk2
devices to talk to each other, whilst maintaining near transparent NMEA 2000 compatibility.

SeaTalk2 is in effect nmea2000
__________________
Interested in smart boat technology, networking and all things tech
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2021, 22:08   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,791
Re: Raymarine AIS 700 install

you can not connect both the ais and the pilot to the 120 at the same time. they are 2 different speeds. you would need a nmea 183 multiplexer which gets complicated.

actually only one plotter should be connected to the pilot. the 2nd one might be free for ais. I'm not sure if it would share ais to both over the network or both would need the 183 ais feeds

I don't know if the 120 can take ais via the seatalk2 port or not. if it can that will be much easier.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2021, 19:48   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3
Re: Raymarine AIS 700 install

Thank you all for your input. I am pretty sure I need a NMEA 183 Multiplexer to make this work with the different baud speeds.
ChristianS. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2021, 04:34   #9
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lefkas Marina ,Greece
Boat: Bavaria 36
Posts: 16,712
Images: 3
Re: Raymarine AIS 700 install

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianS. View Post
Thank you all for your input. I am pretty sure I need a NMEA 183 Multiplexer to make this work with the different baud speeds.


You are far better to use seatalk2 ( seatalkng) then revert to 0183
__________________
Interested in smart boat technology, networking and all things tech
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS 700 software Shirvo Marine Electronics 3 29-11-2021 03:04
Opncpn AIS with Raymarine AIS 650 is bugging me monte OpenCPN 8 21-09-2014 03:50
Raymarine E80 + AIS 650 + McMurdo AIS PLB MOB rgleason Marine Electronics 1 24-04-2014 17:26
AIS install with Raymarine net problem s/vPainkiller Marine Electronics 11 04-11-2013 10:30
Need Raymarine 700+ LCD screen leehaefele Marine Electronics 0 27-11-2007 03:06

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:24.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.