Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2018, 18:44   #1

Radar Data Access

I’m looking to purchase marine radar that will allow me to access raw (doppler) radar data.

I’m planning on relaying this data via 3G to my servers for processing.

Any particular brand/model you would recommend that will allow me access to this data? I’m partial to Furuno but I doubt that their data format/protocols are open.

I’m an engineer and open to doing a bit of hardware and/or software hacking to make this work.
einstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2018, 19:38   #2

Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 49
Re: Radar Data Access

The Furuno DRS4DNXT and the Raymarine Quantum 2 both use doppler technology but the signals are processed before the output. You would likely have to do some serious hardware hacking to get the raw doppler data. Next time I have one in the shop I'll give it a better look to see what it's packing. That being said the data you need may be passed over the network. It wouldn't take much for someone with some programming skills to throw together some software to parse the network data of one or both of these radars. They both use ethernet.
KeelMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2018, 22:42   #3

Gotcha. If you’re selling the Furuno DRS4DNXT (or Raymarine, but particularly the Furuno), together with their corresponding displays, let me know!
Old 11-04-2018, 02:22   #4

Boat: Hood 38 - Wauquiez

Quote:
Originally Posted by einstein View Post
Gotcha. If you’re selling the Furuno DRS4DNXT (or Raymarine, but particularly the Furuno), together with their corresponding displays, let me know!
I don't think the Quantum 2's have quite shipped yet. Quantum 1 has been around for a while.
BigAl.NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 17:10   #5