Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2020, 12:50   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cruising ICW - Hopefully soon
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 45
No detail on chartplotter

Hello all


Got a Raymarine E120 chartplotter issue. Worked fine then one recent morning I only see basic map, no detail like markers or depth etc. Saw some corrosion on original NAV sd card. Got new NAV sd card loaded it and no change. Makes me think the sd reader itself gone bad. Anybody got any ideas? Is there a way to test sd reader? Looks like there is a screw at the top of the reader anyone know if you can just pull sd reader and replace just it? Ok open to any input before I am forced to find an electronics person or replace entire MFD?
pondering65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 13:14   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,042
Re: No detail on chartplotter

Quote:
Originally Posted by pondering65 View Post
Hello all


Got a Raymarine E120 chartplotter issue. Worked fine then one recent morning I only see basic map, no detail like markers or depth etc. Saw some corrosion on original NAV sd card. Got new NAV sd card loaded it and no change. Makes me think the sd reader itself gone bad. Anybody got any ideas? Is there a way to test sd reader? Looks like there is a screw at the top of the reader anyone know if you can just pull sd reader and replace just it? Ok open to any input before I am forced to find an electronics person or replace entire MFD?

Our E120 was playing up and we sent the whole unit in to Raymarine repair facility, they fixed it for $250 and it worked fine after that. This was in 2017 in USA. https://www.raymarine.com/service-an...y-repairs.html
Bean Counter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 13:19   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: currently Titusville
Boat: Catalina 350
Posts: 117
Re: No detail on chartplotter

What GB on card? Some older ones can only read 2GB SDs.
There were firmware upgrades also.
__________________
Catalina 350,Bayliner 2855,SeaRay 180
The truth has coordinates!
Fiftybucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 13:22   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 4,705
Re: No detail on chartplotter

what "new " card? I doubt an old 120 can read a new card. an e120 is compact flash not sd.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 13:30   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: currently Titusville
Boat: Catalina 350
Posts: 117
Re: No detail on chartplotter

Correct on compact flash. Thats what I meant. However youcan buy an adapter that allows to insert SD. But still 2GB.
__________________
Catalina 350,Bayliner 2855,SeaRay 180
The truth has coordinates!
Fiftybucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 13:51   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: La Honda, California
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 50
Posts: 364
Re: No detail on chartplotter

My E120 would do that. Multiple reseating of the card and cleaning of the card contacts always got it to work. I suspect corrosion starts innthe reader and reseating the card many times would wear it away.
Pitchondesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 08:34   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Isla Saboga, Las Perlas, Panama
Boat: 1988 48' Offshore
Posts: 255
Re: No detail on chartplotter

Get a can of contact cleaner and spray some down in the slot. Inserting/removing the card multiple times will help remove the corrosion from the contacts. If you get it working again, a tiny shot of silicon spray in the slot wouldn't hurt to keep the moisture at bay.
oldjags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 08:43   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Currently in Spain
Boat: Island Packet 420
Posts: 419
Re: No detail on chartplotter

That can happen if one of the pins inside the chartplotter is bent and the card is not seating properly. You can send it in to Raymarine, as has been stated, and they will fix it and send it back.
sailing_gal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 08:47   #9
Registered User
 
SV Bacchus's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Back on dirt in Florida
Boat: Currently in between
Posts: 1,338
Re: No detail on chartplotter

Here is a thought from out in left field: Are you moving and did you sail beyond the boundaries of your card?

You don't have to ask me how I know, I think you can figure it out!
__________________
SV Bacchus - Living the good life!
SV Bacchus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 10:51   #10
Registered User
 
sowwaninii's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Boat: sabre 456 and leopard 42
Posts: 145
Re: No detail on chartplotter

Agree with all above. Two other simple things to check. Make sure declutter is off and in the menu look at chart set-up and see if detailed is on.
sowwaninii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 13:07   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK, Croatia
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Athena 11.6m Rapa Nui II
Posts: 739
Re: No detail on chartplotter

Had the same problem this year on C120, cleaned card contacts and re-inserted card several times and worked.
Also, copying maps from manufacturers card to new card will not work.
Rapanui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 13:24   #12
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 10,208
Re: No detail on chartplotter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitchondesign View Post
My E120 would do that. Multiple reseating of the card and cleaning of the card contacts always got it to work. I suspect corrosion starts innthe reader and reseating the card many times would wear it away.
That makes sense if the corrosion you found was on the contacts between the card and where it seats.
Some contact cleaner on the card before seating it might be the ticket?
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chartplotter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simrad nsc8 chartplotter, charts to use and how to add them to chartplotter chrismin Marine Electronics 1 10-11-2013 11:21
Max Detail Here and BSB 4 jackdale OpenCPN 3 01-06-2011 19:02
To Chartplotter or not to Chartplotter, that is the question. tardog Navigation 44 20-03-2011 16:56
Simrad Insight Chart Coverage and Detail ? Donner74 Navigation 0 08-12-2010 09:06
C-map charts - level of detail Weyalan Navigation 1 12-02-2009 20:27

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:20.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.