Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-05-2015, 01:26   #1
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 938
Nmea 2000 transducer(s).....

Can you run two, port & starboard (tack) xducers on the backbone & give them separate instances & enable/disable one at a time? Say using an MFD or Triton.

Googled & came up with nuttin'
__________________

lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2015, 03:41   #2
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 938
Re: Nmea 2000 transducer(s).....

I have two SS compass & two GPS but haven't had to differentiate as the tritons seem to
auto prioritize.(Done on the bench)
Due to do a "dockside" shortly. Wondering if I should install a 4 pole solenoid switch in cockpit for switching between Xducer's?
__________________

lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2015, 05:00   #3
Registered User
 
colemj's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,097
Images: 12
Re: Nmea 2000 transducer(s).....

There will be no problem with what you suggest, and you won't need a switch. To change between the two transducers, just go into the sources menu and choose the one you want.

You can also set each one to display on separate MFD's, if you have multiple MFD's.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2015, 13:31   #4
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 938
Re: Nmea 2000 transducer(s).....

Thanks Mark. I had a feeling it was something like that but, use it or lose it, and my head is full of other pre-launch necessities.
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea, nmea 2000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Transducer is a Transducer, Correct? Herbseesmoore Marine Electronics 3 22-06-2013 05:23
OpenCPN Nmea Transducer ergunakgun OpenCPN 6 05-07-2011 06:59
Want To Buy: Raymarine Rotary Rudder Transducer and Fluxgate Transducer Kristian Classifieds Archive 0 22-02-2010 04:09
Want To Buy: Link 2000 with Shunt - 84-2000-06 yacht_planb Classifieds Archive 2 21-02-2010 13:44

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.