Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-07-2016, 06:00   #1

Boat: Catalina 470
Lightning strike! Now what?

My new (to me) boat got struck by lightning at the dock this past week. When I went down to the boat on Friday I found pieces of the VHF antenna on the deck, and then started finding various systems were damaged. Radar/chart plotter won't power up, same with backup plotter, A/C is working erratically, masthead lights are dead, starboard nav light is out, ElectroScan head is not working, etc. Other things seems OK - depth sounder, wind speed/direction, both VHFs (even the one connected to the blown away antenna!), battery charger (I think).

Since I'm new to the boat I don't know the systems yet, so properly evaluating them is going to them is going to be a challenge. Any suggestions on how to go through everything to figure out what is ok, what can be repaired, and what just needs to be tossed and replaced? And how best to deal with the insurance company to get a fair shake from them?

I'm thinking of hiring a professional marine electrics/electronics guy to help step me through evaluating the systems, rather than just have them do it for me, then at least I'll learn something in the process. Any suggestions on someone in either the Fort Lauderdale or Fort Myers areas that you would recommend?

Shitty way to start out with a new boat that I've owned for one week, but it's hard to control Mother Nature

-David
Davidhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 06:38   #2
Long Range Cruiser

Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Re: Lightning strike! Now what?

Yes, bad way to start...

But

Could be a great way to start! You get to learn about boat electrics!