Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-02-2021, 20:03   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Toledo
Boat: Pearson 30
Posts: 159
Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

Can anyone recommend a compatible in-hull transducer and cable for the NSS8?

I am replacing old Garman fishfinder and chart plotter. Doubtful that the old transducer I will be compatible.

Your suggestions are appreciated!
Sailon1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2021, 20:53   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: www.sweetruca.com
Boat: J Boats J/46
Posts: 48
Re: Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

I could be way off here, but seems any N2k transducer would work. Airmar is an industry standard.

Would it be best to call Simrad and ask what they recommend though?
SV_Sweet_Ruca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2021, 21:02   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Toledo
Boat: Pearson 30
Posts: 159
Re: Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

Thanks for the information. I did send the question to Simrad tech-support, and am also fishing around for any user information while waiting for a reply.
Sailon1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2021, 21:02   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: www.sweetruca.com
Boat: J Boats J/46
Posts: 48
Re: Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

Cool! Shout it to Lake Erie!!!

We did the round and round with their tech support on some autopilot stuff, it was frustrating as the lower level guys were just manual readers, but once escalated they started to “get it.”

Do you plan on replacing a thru hull? If so you can probably choose anything you wish.
SV_Sweet_Ruca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2021, 21:12   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Toledo
Boat: Pearson 30
Posts: 159
Re: Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

at this point I prefer an in-hull transducer because there Is no existing thru-hull for transducer.

As far as connectors, the Navico blue seven pin connector is compatible with NSS8.

There are several options for types of transducers, including some very pricey ones.
Sailon1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2021, 21:20   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: www.sweetruca.com
Boat: J Boats J/46
Posts: 48
Re: Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

What about this one:

https://www.bandg.com/bg/type/instru...edtemp-sensor/

If you just need depth and aren’t trying to track walleye and perch, that may be the ticket, plus you get speed and temp as a bonus.
SV_Sweet_Ruca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2021, 21:24   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Toledo
Boat: Pearson 30
Posts: 159
Re: Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

Thanks for the info. I do plan on using the fishfinder to find walleye and perch!
Sailon1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2021, 11:37   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Portland, OR
Boat: Meridian 38
Posts: 5
Re: Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

Transducers are universal, may need adapter but the nss8 is n2k. Or simnet n2k.
mvmorningstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2021, 18:55   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Boat: Nordic 44
Posts: 177
Re: Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

The Airmar DT 800 works fine with my NSS8. I just replaced my old Simrad branded Airmar.
pitlaw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 02:28   #10
Registered User
 
Jamme's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: New York
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 31
Posts: 164
Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

I have an Airmar DST-200 installed with my NSS8.
__________________
"I always arrive late at the office, but I make up for it by leaving early.” – Charles Lamb
Jamme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 07:20   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Boat: Nordic 44
Posts: 177
Re: Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

Yes it’s the DST 800 that I meant to spec. It’s depth,speed and temp. The DT is just Depth and temp. Thanks. You want the DST.
pitlaw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 07:58   #12
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29° 49.16’ N 82° 25.82’ W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 15,358
Re: Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

Quote:
Originally Posted by SV_Sweet_Ruca View Post
We did the round and round with their tech support on some autopilot stuff, it was frustrating as the lower level guys were just manual readers, but once escalated they started to “get it.”
Interesting. My experience was the exact opposite. Before buying a Simrad AP and then a couple of times in the installation I called Navico/Simrad tech support.

Every time (except once when they called back in 10-15 minutes) my call went straight to a high level tech, from the level of expertise I think actual engineers, who were able to answer some fairly detailed and technical questions off the cuff. A couple of times I even had to ask for explanation as the answer was a bit technical for me to immediately grasp and I have a degree in EE.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.
Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 09:23   #13
Registered User

Join Date: May 2018
Location: Nevada, USA
Boat: boatless currently
Posts: 56
Re: Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

Quote:
Originally Posted by SV_Sweet_Ruca View Post
I could be way off here, but seems any N2k transducer would work. Airmar is an industry standard.

Would it be best to call Simrad and ask what they recommend though?
Transducers don't connect to the NMEA 2000 network. I don't think it has enough bandwidth. Navico MFDs have a dedicated transducer connector. It is not compatible with non-Navico brands. The OP might be able to reuse the existing transducer by splicing a Navico connector.
Kamen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 12:21   #14
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29° 49.16’ N 82° 25.82’ W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 15,358
Re: Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamen View Post
Transducers don't connect to the NMEA 2000 network. I don't think it has enough bandwidth. Navico MFDs have a dedicated transducer connector. It is not compatible with non-Navico brands. The OP might be able to reuse the existing transducer by splicing a Navico connector.
Actually, some transducers do connect directly to the NMEA network. I have one that came with my B&G package that is a straight Devicenet connection to Tee on the N2K network. I haven't installed it yet since the old Raymarine transducers are still working.

By the way, those transducers, depth and speed are both connected through a Seatalk Tridata to a SealtalkNG adapter to my NMEA2000 backbone and display the depth and speed on my Garmin plotter and two B&G data displays.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.
Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 13:07   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Toledo
Boat: Pearson 30
Posts: 159
Re: Help with sourcing transducer for Simrad NSS8 FF Plotter

Thanks, all, for the input. After reading your responses and speaking with tech support at Garmin, Simrad, and a few dealers, I found the answers that I needed.

Basically, matching one manufacturer's transducer (or adapter) with a different manufacturer's fishfinder, might work, and it might not. So for $80 I can purchase a new in-hull transducer with 25' cable directly from Simrad.
Their tech rep was knowledgeable and her recommendations were accurate and useful. All things considered, their price for this item was lower or about the same than many other retailers and eBay,

Going deeper into this, the older system that I purchased ($375, Simrad NSS8, introduced around 2008) requires an add-on (Sonarhub) for some of the more sophisticated transducers such as Structure Scan and Side Scan. In any case, the basic echofinder/fishfinder that Simrad recommended will suit my needs.

So, thanks again. No doubt, I'll be back here soon looking for info on my upcoming AP installation!
Sailon1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
simrad, transducer

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Simrad 12’ plotter, sonar black box and new transducer Knot Fast General Classifieds (no boats) 7 03-11-2019 16:44
Simrad NSS8 plotter not displaying time johnny666 Marine Electronics 13 23-04-2019 23:25
Simrad nss8 help Lissoni Our Community 1 02-04-2017 11:54
Need recommendations to add digital instruments to my Simrad NSS8 pitlaw Marine Electronics 13 17-09-2015 07:34
Trouble getting opencpm to see any NMEA183 messages from Simrad NSS8 alctel OpenCPN 8 08-05-2015 21:33

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:19.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.