Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-05-2020, 13:07   #1
Registered User
 
Tsuru's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Hood River Ore
Boat: Catalina 36 MK2
Posts: 37
Garmin P79S NMEA 2000 > Raymarine Seatalk

Hello,
Wed like to connect a Garmin/Airmar P79 NMEA 2000 in hull smart transducer to the Raymarine Seatalk network in our current boat? If possible how is it done?
Note that I searched through the forum and gained a little incite but not an actual answer.
Thanks
Ray
__________________

Tsuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2020, 13:19   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,008
Re: Garmin P79S NMEA 2000 > Raymarine Seatalk

Seatalk or seatalkng?

Seatalkng just buy a converter cable.

Seatalk you can buy a seatalk to seatalkng adapter kit. And then a seatalkng to nmea 2000 converter cable. As above.
__________________

smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2020, 13:34   #3
Registered User
 
Tsuru's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Hood River Ore
Boat: Catalina 36 MK2
Posts: 37
Re: Garmin P79S NMEA 2000 > Raymarine Seatalk

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
Seatalk or seatalkng?

Seatalkng just buy a converter cable.

Seatalk you can buy a seatalk to seatalkng adapter kit. And then a seatalkng to nmea 2000 converter cable. As above.
Sadly I don’t know which one it is. Visual comparison is that it is probably Seatalk-ng.
Is the procedure as simple as:
1- Determine the network type
2- Purchase the right converter cable (or adapter kit & converter cable)
3- Plug it together.
4 - Power up the system
5 - Done?????
Tsuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2020, 14:22   #4
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 13,674
Images: 14
Re: Garmin P79S NMEA 2000 > Raymarine Seatalk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsuru View Post
Hello,
We’d like to connect a Garmin/Airmar P79 NMEA 2000 in hull smart transducer to the Raymarine Seatalk network in our current boat? If possible how is it done?
Note that I searched through the forum and gained a little incite but not an actual answer. Thanks Ray
Sadly I don't think you can. The P79 normally connects directly to a chartplotter or ST60 rather than to a network.

I wouldn't call the P79 "smart" it has been around for years and used by a lot of manufacturers, but it isn't smart, just an ordinary transducer.

Pete
Pete7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2020, 15:16   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,008
Re: Garmin P79S NMEA 2000 > Raymarine Seatalk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7 View Post
Sadly I don't think you can. The P79 normally connects directly to a chartplotter or ST60 rather than to a network.

I wouldn't call the P79 "smart" it has been around for years and used by a lot of manufacturers, but it isn't smart, just an ordinary transducer.

Pete
they make both an analog and nmea 2000 p79
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2020, 15:19   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,008
Re: Garmin P79S NMEA 2000 > Raymarine Seatalk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsuru View Post
Sadly I don’t know which one it is. Visual comparison is that it is probably Seatalk-ng.
Is the procedure as simple as:
1- Determine the network type
2- Purchase the right converter cable (or adapter kit & converter cable)
3- Plug it together.
4 - Power up the system
5 - Done?????

if you have a seatalkng backbone, ( blue / black and white /black cables pluged into black / blue tees) and have a spare empty white port, then yes buy the stng to nmea 2000 adatper cable and plug it in. they make a mail and female cable I think so make sure it's the correct one. if you don't have any free white ports you'll need to add another tee (and backbone cable) or converter an existing tee to a 5 way block (no extra backbone cable needed)

if all the cables are black with flat 3 pin ends then you have seatalk.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2020, 09:45   #7
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 13,674
Images: 14
Re: Garmin P79S NMEA 2000 > Raymarine Seatalk

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
they make both an analog and nmea 2000 p79
Well spotted and an interesting option I may take up.

http://www.airmar.com/uploads/brochures/P79S.pdf

Pete
Pete7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2020, 06:07   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: On Barnegat Bay in NJ
Boat: Hunter 40.5 and C+C36
Posts: 74
Re: Garmin P79S NMEA 2000 > Raymarine Seatalk

Seatalk-ng and NEMA 2000 can be interconnected by splicing cables. I have both Garmin NEMA 2000 devices and Raymarine Seatalk-ng working on one network. I used spare cables to get the right ends and spliced up cables. The internal wires use the same color code so the splicing is easy.
If you have the older Seatalk then you need a converter box.
j.g.evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2020, 19:01   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BC
Boat: O'Day 40
Posts: 608
Re: Garmin P79S NMEA 2000 > Raymarine Seatalk

I need to connect Seatalkng to NMEA 2000 so I bought an Ancor "NMEA 2000 Male Field Serviceable Connector".
It has the tiny connectors recessed where you can hardly get to them and they expect you to solder the wires to them.
I think you'd need to be pretty competent at circuit board soldering to get that sucker connected.
I took it back and ordered the Maretron version. It looks like it uses screws and is more in keeping with my technical skills.
__________________

__________________
Trying to make new mistakes.
bcboomer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin, marine, nmea, nmea 2000, raymarine, seatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLD] Raymarine ST600R Seatalk Autopilot Remote Control & SeaTalk Data Repeater jefndeb General Classifieds (no boats) 1 15-01-2020 07:49
Getting seatalk 1 to talk to nmea 2000 ElGapitan Marine Electronics 16 18-05-2016 02:24
Seatalk to Seatalkng to NMEA 2000 Power sailjumanji Marine Electronics 11 23-04-2015 06:14
Seatalk Ng and NMEA 2000 connecting X5 and E7 TheOffice Marine Electronics 0 21-10-2012 18:40
Seatalk NG Autopilot to NMEA 2000 Helimech Marine Electronics 4 03-10-2011 12:49

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.