Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2014, 23:51   #1

FLDIGI instead of Pactor modem

As a ham radio operator I use FLDIGI for a number of digital modes. I see cruising folks use Pactor modems for email. Couldn't one use only software and avoid having to use an external modem? Just curious. Thanks!

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
frgeorgeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 01:55   #2

Boat: HR 40
Send a message via Skype™ to Auspicious
Re: FLDIGI instead of Pactor modem

Quote:
Originally Posted by frgeorgeh View Post
As a ham radio operator I use FLDIGI for a number of digital modes. I see cruising folks use Pactor modems for email. Couldn't one use only software and avoid having to use an external modem?
Yes. There are two alternatives: WINMOR implemented in RMS Express for use with Winlink and PSKmail. WINMOR is a little faster than Pactor II. PSKmail is pretty slow.
Auspicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 02:35   #3

Boat: Westerly Sealord

I have a SignaLink USB on board and use it succesfully with PSK and have also tried it with Winmor and PSKmail but in the real offshore world its only Pactor/sailmail for me.
El Ping,
VK3JFH/VP8DNM
Old 11-08-2014, 03:55   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by El Pinguino View Post
I have a SignaLink USB on board and use it succesfully with PSK and have also tried it with Winmor and PSKmail but in the real offshore world its only Pactor/sailmail for me.
I agree with you on Pactor. One of its attractions to me is that I can use Pactor with Airmail on Sailmail, Winlink, Shipcom, CruiseEmail, and Bushmail.