Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2017, 10:22   #1

Boat: 1979 Chrysler 26'
Easy Depth Finder System

I am still pretty new to sailing and the built-in depth finder on my 26' Chrysler does not work. The boat is on an inland lake, and for the most part knowing the depth is not necessary for pleasure sailing around. However, the other day while choosing a spot to drop anchor I was wishing I had a depth finder.

What is the easiest way to know the depth of the water you are in?

Is there an "app" available for my phone that would tell me "you are right here on this lake and it is x' amount deep with current water levels"?

How difficult is it to install a new depth finder/fish finder system?

Are there any convenient/inexpensive portable depth finder systems you know of or have experience with? I saw some that you toss a little floating sonar device overboard and get data through your phone or a receiver, called "wireless fish finders".

Any advice is appreciated!
Livinchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 11:09   #2

Boat: Newport 28
Re: Easy Depth Finder System