Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-03-2019, 06:19   #1

Boat: McCurdy & Rhodes 56
Drone Use While Underway

Wondering about the realistic feasibility of carrying and using a drone while underway. I have no experience with them but the footage I've seen is amazing. Anyone have experience?

Seems like the hard parts would be 1) keeping it out of the water, and 2) retrieving it as I think you would have to physically grab it, not try to land it on the moving boat?

Maybe this is just a drone suicide mission...
Mal Reynolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2019, 07:16   #2

Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Re: Drone Use While Underway

You need to be able to grab it. Modern drones are very precise, but a moving boat take off and landing platform doesn't seem to have been in the mind of consumer drone designers! I've got a mavic air and it would be near impossible to grab on a moving boat because it's a) got nothing to grab onto and B) it has collision avoidance sensors that make it shy away from your hand. Besides that, it's a great drone. The mavic pro would have similar issues.

Dji 3 and 4's are supposedly easier to grab because they're bigger and have a convenient grab handle in the landing skids. The Dji spark is designed to land in the hand, so may work if it can handle a pitching deck. And it's the pitching deck that's the issue in regard to piloting. In calm waters it may prove easier!
Reefmagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2019, 07:33   #3

Search “waterproof drones”. There are quite a few now.
SDChristian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2019, 07:43   #4