Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2019, 20:33   #46
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: All Ocean, now Caribbean
Boat: Morgan 382
Posts: 3
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

Can anyone guide me how to reset the MMSI on a SIMRAD RS35?
I searched all over the web but didn't find any help yet.

Hope you have some guidance for me!

Fair winds.
pumukel3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 22:31   #47
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Hammond, IN
Boat: Columbia 8.7
Posts: 248
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

You got your answer in the other thread: bring it to a dealer. It was deliberately made impossible for users to reset their own MMSI. If your manual doesn't say how to do it, your only other option is to use your old MMSI.
CFS Klopas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 17:19   #48
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Long Beach, IN
Posts: 20
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

Navico VHF MMSI reset procedure

1) Turn radio off

2) Simultaneously press X (or Exit) and Scan buttons and hold

3) Turn radio on, release both keys

4) Enter code 7100

Follow instructions for desired change.

Should work with:
Lowrance LVR 880/Link8
Simrad RS35
B&G V50

I can confirm that this works on Lowrance LVR 880 VHF
PCFithian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 05:57   #49
Registered User
 
ScubaTyke's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Mediterranean.
Boat: Olympic Sea 42
Posts: 36
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

Just bought a new to me boat, can anybody tell me how to reset the MMSI on;

- ICOM IC-M506
- FURUNO FM-8500

Many Thanks!
ScubaTyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 11:03   #50
Moderator Emeritus
 
nigel1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Boat: Beneteau 473
Posts: 5,488
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaTyke View Post
Just bought a new to me boat, can anybody tell me how to reset the MMSI on;

- ICOM IC-M506
- FURUNO FM-8500

Many Thanks!

For the FM-8500 check this pdf
https://www.furunousa.com/-/media/si...ers_manual.pdf
__________________
Nigel
Beneteau 473
Manchester, UK
nigel1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 15:38   #51
registered user
 
HankOnthewater's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Australia
Boat: plastic production yacht, suitable for deep blue water ;)
Posts: 689
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

ScubaTyke
"Just bought a new to me boat, can anybody tell me how to reset the MMSI on;

- ICOM IC-M506
- FURUNO FM-8500"

Here is another thread on the Icom units.... with how to program the 504 and 602 models, and 505 model can only be programmed once, that is when they are new.
see here for info: http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...re-198772.html

eh, 506 model didn't get a mention
Now checking the net for a manual.....
here: file:///C:/Users/hanko/Downloads/M50...ion-Manual.pdf
file:On page #8 there, it says that it only can be programmed once when they are new, and then it becomes a Icom technician job. ...unless one knows how to to do that with non-Icom authorised software.... I don't know that
__________________
Wishing you all sunny skies above, clear water below, gentle winds behind and a safe port ahead,
and when coming this way check https://www.cruiserswiki.org/wiki/Albany,_Australia
HankOnthewater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2019, 10:01   #52
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Cruising
Boat: Leopard 40
Posts: 19
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

Hi All,

Raymarine AIS-650. I saw the post: Yacht Electronics: SRT proprietary AIS commands. While this was reported to work with the AIS-500 and some other similar devices using that board, it does not work with AIS-650. One person suggests that maybe it is a password difference. This may be true, but I am also seeing distinctly different commands on the USB (NMEA) bus, so possible that it is more than just the password.

Here are some of the commands I am seeing:

$U0VSD,36,,,,,,,,*0D
$U0AIQ,VSD*51
$PSMT,0,0,0,1,nmeabaud 38400^2C4800,48*3E
and
$U0SSD,XXXXX,YYYYY,7,5,1,5,,AI*ZZ (X = call sign, Y = vessel name, Z = checksum)

I have not seen it send anything that looks like a password but since ProAIS2 is not updating the MMSI or resetting, it is probably not sending one.

Iíve done a bit of googling but havenít seen documentation for the U0 or PSMT commands. Anyone have any ideas where I might find these NMEA/Raymarine commands?

Thanks
8Fish
8fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2019, 14:27   #53
Registered User
 
xslim's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Boat: One-off Alu 39' sloop
Posts: 144
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8fish View Post
Hi All,

Raymarine AIS-650. I saw the post: Yacht Electronics: SRT proprietary AIS commands. While this was reported to work with the AIS-500 and some other similar devices using that board, it does not work with AIS-650. One person suggests that maybe it is a password difference. This may be true, but I am also seeing distinctly different commands on the USB (NMEA) bus, so possible that it is more than just the password.

Here are some of the commands I am seeing:

$U0VSD,36,,,,,,,,*0D
$U0AIQ,VSD*51
$PSMT,0,0,0,1,nmeabaud 38400^2C4800,48*3E
and
$U0SSD,XXXXX,YYYYY,7,5,1,5,,AI*ZZ (X = call sign, Y = vessel name, Z = checksum)

I have not seen it send anything that looks like a password but since ProAIS2 is not updating the MMSI or resetting, it is probably not sending one.

Iíve done a bit of googling but havenít seen documentation for the U0 or PSMT commands. Anyone have any ideas where I might find these NMEA/Raymarine commands?

Thanks
8Fish
I heard this should work

$PSRT,012,,,(--QuaRk--)*4B
$PSRT,RDP*6F
xslim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2019, 02:00   #54
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 7
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

Dearest Sailors,

thanks for starting this thread - I like it a lot!

I want to change the MMSI on a Raymarine 54E device. I know there is the factory reset in the menu, will that reset allow me to enter the MMSI again or do I need to tweak the 54E to change the MMSI?

Would love to hear from you if you have information this specific device. Thanks a lot and All the best to you!
Uwe
SailingUwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2019, 13:49   #55
running down a dream

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: somewhere in the deep south
Boat: CD30 MKII
Posts: 2,175
Images: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to gonesail
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

Standard horizon matrix VHF owner weighing options on changing the MMSI. Anyone know of a way around sending the radio to the factory in CA? Thanks.
__________________
some of the best times of my life were spent on a boat. it just took a long time to realize it

gonesail is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2019, 14:01   #56
Marine Service Provider
 
Snore's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Boat: Tartan 33 and OPB
Posts: 2,850
Send a message via Skype™ to Snore
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

If there is a local authorized repair or installer, they would no the super secret key sequence.
__________________
"Whenever...it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from deliberately stepping into the street, and methodically knocking people's hats off- then, I account it high time to get to sea..." Ismael -a link to my delivery website is in my profileó
Snore is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2019, 15:06   #57
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Cruising
Boat: Leopard 40
Posts: 19
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

Some of the newer versions of Standard Horizon's firmware allow you to reset your own MMSI. Contact them, and they will give you the procedure if your radio can do it. It's basically a public-key/private-key token that will unlock your specific radio. I think this is a fairly reasonable solution and follows within the nanny-state guidelines required by the FCC (with the "advice" of the manufacturer).

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonesail View Post
Standard horizon matrix VHF owner weighing options on changing the MMSI. Anyone know of a way around sending the radio to the factory in CA? Thanks.
8fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2019, 15:07   #58
Registered User
 
Auspicious's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: HR 40
Posts: 3,216
Send a message via Skype™ to Auspicious
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snore View Post
If there is a local authorized repair or installer, they would no the super secret key sequence.

It's really quite simple. The problem is the cable set is pricey. Mine cost about $120. If OP is near Annapolis I can do it. If you have to ship you're better off shipping to the factory. Cheaper and faster.
__________________
S/V Auspicious
AuspiciousWorks
Beware cut and paste sailors
Auspicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2019, 08:36   #59
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Canada
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 103
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

Team

The new to me boat comes with a Raymarine 55E. I have a new Canadian MMSI number. Is there an easy way to make the change on the unit, or must it be taken to a Raymarine dealer?
Knot Safety is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2019, 17:22   #60
Registered User
 
Badsanta's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: virginia
Boat: islandpacket
Posts: 1,956
Re: DIY MMSI (re)programming

Follow the directions for programming it. If it dosnt work you have to have raymarine do it.
On Mine you can program it twice before factory reset.
__________________
That derelict boat was another dream for somebody else, don't let it be your nightmare and a waste of your life.
Badsanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
grass

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Icom 710RT Cloning / Programming Software jlw Marine Electronics 51 01-06-2014 17:01
Programming the IC-M700Pro nv5l Marine Electronics 7 04-01-2011 10:11
SEA225 Programming donf Marine Electronics 3 20-08-2010 23:04
Programming Max Charge stuffinbox Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 1 22-06-2009 16:32

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:24.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.